We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend - honeymoon”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“weekend - honeymoon”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Such an unforgettable place!!
Very quite and beautiful hotel in the heart of the busy-noisy Colombo!
The room had an amazing design! The food was very tasty and cheap (compared to price of the room).
Definitely we would stay here again, if we'll ever visit Colombo again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground floor and we could hear the music of the lounge in the morning. Ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We know that your honeymoon is a very special time for you, which is why we like going out of our way to make it even more special and memorable. Thank you for some wonderful comments about your stay at CASA Colombo.

We hope that you have made some beautiful memories here at CASA Colombo, and look forward to seeing you year after year, when we can recreate the wonderful memories you had within CASA Colombo.

We wish you luck as you step out into the future together, and see you soon at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    237
    61
    24
    30
See reviews for
102
560
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Casa Colombo on our first day arriving in Sri Lanka on 22/10/13, and also on our last night before we flew out on 31/10/13, and found this hotel via Trip Advisor.
When we initially turned up and drove down the small, narrow alleyway of a driveway, we were a bit apprehensive, but then your eyes were drawn to the lovely building, and the lovely décor inside the hotel as you walked in.
Check in was effortless, and our domo 'Guyan' was brilliant, and very welcoming.
Our room was on the first floor, and was the 'Peppin Road' Suite (or similar sounding to this anyhow). It was HUGE! Lovely and air conditioned, and very funky in design with lots of different mood lighting, and the glass shower was a novelty - might not be everyone's thing, as if you were in the bed, or sitting on the sofa, you can see your partner having a shower! We were fine with it though.
Lots of clean towels to use, as some hotels only allocate 2 to a room! The rooms dedicated laptop worked, and so did the room's dedicated printer! Brilliant idea - and came in use on our last night's stay to do our online check in and print off our boarding tickets.
The food was great - no complaints from us - the Tapas menu was the best, and the cocktails in Zaza Bar were lovely, & strong!
I would highly recommend this hotel - its in the heart of Colombo, and as anyone will tell you with any city, especially that of Colombo, its always awake and busy, so there can be occasional background noise, but nothing that hindered our stay or our sleep quality.
Its a hotel with the 'wow' factor, and we loved it!
I would highly recommend any massage in their spa - incredibly high standard and the best I've ever had!!

Room Tip: Peppin Road Suite on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padders3825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are so pleased to have “WOW”ed you at CASA Colombo! There is nothing more encouraging to us than knowing that we have been able to give you a sensational stay whilst with us. We loved reading each and every comment you have made, and have shared them with our entire team.

It is so nice to know that you have had a great overall experience at CASA Colombo, and we would love to see you again very very soon back at your “home away from home”…. CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed one night at Casa Colombo on our way back home. It's great hotel - very special decorated and very cool rooms.
It's def a must to stay there at least for one night! We could have stayed much longer, was so relaxing. We had a massage which was one of the best massages I ever had!
We also had dinner there and it was ok. We did expect a bit more if I am honest. But we had the most lovely food on our holiday so reckon our expectations were quite high.
Only downside was, that someone was up very early in the morning and kept chatting with someone else very loudly. And the high ceilings and hallway makes it even worse so everything echoes through the building. That was not nice at 6am....
Rest was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for a lovely review of your stay at CASA Colombo, and for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with other travelers.

It is wonderful that you have had a very relaxing stay with us, and we would have loved it if you only could have stayed with us a bit longer, so that we could pamper you and look after you. You are our most important asset, and there is nothing we love more than taking care of your every need whilst with us.

We have also taken note of your other concerns, and will address the same and make changes where necessary.

See you soon at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

from the moment you arrive and your private "doma" (butler) greets you to the suite that is the size of most apartments you are spoilt . Need a restaurant , need some-one to talk to your "tut-tut" driver phone the Doma's mobile and they will solve your problems . Fantastic building and surrounds go on spoil yourself because they will !!!

Room Tip: get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
You are absolutely right! There is nothing we love more than spoiling you and pampering you in the luxury that is CASA Colombo, and most of all we endeavor to make your stay with us a memorable and very personalized one.

Thank you for some very encouraging words in your review, which we have read with great pleasure.

More than anything else, we would love to see you once again at CASA Colombo very very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

It's hard to believe when you are sitting in Casa Colombo that you are in fact in the middle of the city of Colombo. It is so peaceful and elegant and miles away front the loud beeping of the buses and tuc tuc which are in fact in the street next door.
The colonial building is stunningly renovated and unique in style. very tasteful and welcoming. tip is to go and check out the bathroom as the sink is something else! I won't spoil the surprise by saying more.
The glass building which makes up the bar is funky and inviting with a good selection of drinks.
There is also a lovely outside area for seating. Food is good and I look forward going back as its a great place to unwind. Only disappointment is that service is very slow and staff a little preoccupied but the location makes up for it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We really enjoyed reading your wonderful comments about CASA Colombo and a warm thank you from our entire team.

We loved having you with us, and there is nothing more motivating than knowing that we have been successful in giving you an exceptional stay at CASA Colombo. We have noted your other comments as well, and will make every effort to improve wherever possible and necessary.

We would really love to see you again at CASA Colombo, so come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was my second visit to casa colombo and whenever I stepped in to casa I feel like stepping in to a beautiful island. Interior was amazing and well trained staff gave us a warm welcome. Prices are reasonable with compared to the facilities given and the atmosphere. Every single minute which I spent at casa I enjoyed a lot. Though the food was fresh and good there was no any "wow" feeling in it. I have mentioned the same fact in my first review of HVN too. Anyway thank you casa colombo for giving me this classy and awesome experience. Will come again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachithra89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Wow, it is wonderful to see you returning to CASA Colombo, and we loved reading your review of your experience with us. We are truly encouraged by your lovely comments.

We are very happy that you have had a great experience at CASA Colombo, and we love it that CASA Colombo has become one of your favourite places to spend time in Colombo.

We look forward to seeing you many more times at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very stylish and beautiful hotel, service was excellent. We had a very warm welcome and loved everything there! Many thanks to Arrun for looking after us . We would highly recommend a stay at casa colombo and always return there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kovacsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It was a real pleasure reading your review and the wonderful comments you have made about CASA Colombo. We are ecstatic that we have been able to give you such a memorable stay that you intend to keep on returning to us.

Giving you a personalized service and an experience like no other is our forte, and something we look forward to with each visit you make with us at CASA Colombo. We are waiting for your promised return…. and hope it will be very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing