We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simply awesome service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We dropped in for a quick light meal and found the place to be quite exciting. Since at the entrance there was noreception, we almost walked in the wrong direction when someone quite rudely pointed out that we were going towards the residential area. We wondered whether the rest of the experience would be the same
But no it wasn't . The restaurant was lovely, the staff even greater. Rajitha who served us was very competent, explained items on the menu and helped us decide what to order. It is a place to just relax and enjoy an evening and the ambiance supports your need..
It is worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusitha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for some lovely comments in your review of CASA Colombo, and we are very happy to note that your experience with us has been a good one. We are really glad that you have enjoyed the ambience and service at CASA Colombo.

Our service is something that we take a lot of pride in, and it is very encouraging to read your comments. However, we will ensure to check on your initial comments, as we like our guests to have a fabulous experience from the moment they step in to CASA Colombo.

We would love to see you again very soon at CASA Colombo, for another memorable evening, or better yet, a memorable stay with us.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    232
    59
    23
    29
See reviews for
99
557
48
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We ended our honeymoon by staying here. We only wish we had more than one night! The quirkiness of this place is what made it for us. The rooms are absolutely stunning - we had a suite and I suggest anyone should get one as you can swing many-a cat in there - they're huge. The attention to detail was fantastic. The doma, or butler, really made our room look romantic with rose petals and a bunch of flowers when they turned our room down. This was the best hotel we stayed in in Sri Lnaka by a long way. The food is also excellent, both the tapas and dinner menu. Plus the best cocktails in Sri Lanka and not a bad wine list - the first rose I encountered there. GO GO GO!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad_Madam_Nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Simply fantastic! Thank You is all we can say, because you have left us absolutely speechless with the wonderful comments in your review of CASA Colombo.

To be called the “best hotel you stayed in in Sri Lanka” is really something to make us proud, and it was certainly a pleasure to ensure that your honeymoon was as memorable, luxurious and unique as possible. How fantastic to know that we have achieved just that!

We would love to see you again at CASA Colombo, so please come back….. to relive those wonderful moments of your honeymoon at your “home away from home”….

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Dropped by for drinks and dinner when in Colombo during the season....
Place was sparsely patronized, menu etc was extensive.. the food quality decent....

Service was atrocious and totally indifferent. We had to continually remind the waiters of our orders etc.. everytime order was bought wither one drink or dish was incorrect or missing...

Don't waste your time... Colombo has much better options both in terms of service and quality.

Room Tip: not applicable - did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eraj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing your experience at CASA Colombo, and we are pleased to note that you have been happy with the menu we have on offer and have enjoyed your meal with us.

Service is something we pride ourselves on and something that we do not compromise nor take lightly, therefore your comments have been well noted, and changes will be made wherever necessary and possible.

We do look forward to another visit from you sometime soon, and ensure that next time around your experience with us will be unique and memorable in every aspect.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Just Great. The colonial house with its magnificient interior design its a real master work. The staff is very efficient and friendly. The room just splendid.The meals served in the restaurant delicious...and to finish the pink swimmingpool.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisca2012T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
WOW! WOW! WOW! What a fantastic review of CASA Colombo!

We loved reading every single word of your review and have shared it with our entire Team. It is so encouraging to note that you have had an absolutely “Wow!” experience whilst with us. Thank you for the lovely comments.

We look forward to a day in the near future when we can welcome you to CASA Colombo once more, for another fantastic and out of this world experience.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Avoid this hotel if you want a good night's sleep - there is a nightclub next door with music blaring until 5 a.m. (on weekends, at least) - we didn't sleep a wink. What's more, the location is inconvenient (nothing much within walking distance) and the interior design is appalling - a beautiful colonial mansion turned into some sort of Beirut brothel (with the WC wedged into the corner of the living room of our suite in an unenclosed stall). The bar in the front garden is pleasant, though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTMParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at CASA Colombo.

We have noted your comments, and will take necessary steps to change wherever necessary and possible. We do understand that the design of CASA Colombo is unique and totally “out of the box”, which is why we have been the recipient of many awards over the years for its design and décor.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed the Zaza Bar, and wish you the very best on your travels.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
249 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for just one night upon arrival to Sri Lanka, before moving on to Hilton... Upon arrival, check in very smooth and quick, hotel is very different than usual hotels, much more unique, a mix of modern architecture and avant-garde. Also, each of 12 suites has its personal domo, butler, so all wishes are met. Also, breakfast was served and very tasty. I will not give all 5 points because of the noise level at the hotel, that is above accepted levels, especially during the night. As doors are historic, noise insulation is very poor and all happening from the hall can very clearly be heard... Very nice pool and bar area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are so happy that you have considered your stay with us at CASA Colombo, to be one that was unique and different from the more establishment hotels. This is what we endeavor to achieve most of all, and it is a great pleasure to note that we have been successful in the same.

We have also taken note of your more constructive comments, which will certainly be addressed.

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at CASA Colombo, and we look forward to the day when we will see you again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Casa Colombo was a wonderful luxury after coming in from the rainforest in Africa. A small house tucked back off the big traffic with everything I needed, including a small spa. Each suite has it's own, charming apperance. As a single, elder white woman, the staff and personal domo went out of their way to make me feel comfortable, welcome and actually appreciated. Easy going, with highest, discrete attention to any wish, honest concern about safety and health without making me feel scared or overprotected, everything handled with that warm, Sri Lanka smile. Lovely experience.

Room Tip: Tip: Pool rooms, have more light, and you won't hear the sometimes offending bass from one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Our greatest pleasure is taking care of you whilst you are with us at CASA Colombo, and for this, we will go to the ends of the Earth, to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing, luxurious and above all, unique and memorable.

Thank you for some beautiful comments in your review of CASA Colombo, and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you again to your “Home Away from Home”…. CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing