We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip.”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family trip.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It was a great vacation in Casa Colombo with my family for 3 days and 2 nights. The room was nicely furnished and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Our trip to Sri Lanka was awesome as the staffs were friendly and helpful. They helped us in directing us to our destinations as we were not familiarized with the routes. This hotel is highly recommended. In our next future trip to Sri Lanka, we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachycalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are thrilled to have been able to contribute towards making your Sri Lankan holiday both memorable and enjoyable. Sri Lanka is the land of smiles, and so are we at CASA Colombo.

No sooner you enter through the gates of CASA Colombo that you become a part of this big family, and here in Sri Lanka family is very important to us, which is why we endeavor to take the very best care of you whilst you are with us.

Please do visit again soon. Your family in Sri Lanka is awaiting your next visit at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Chose the stay in Casa Colombo based on super high rating on review sites but big mistake. Prepaid for two nights. After the 1st night, I simply forfeited the 2nd and chose to stay in another international hotel chain hotel in downtown Colombo. The room looks nice, but the smell doesn't. Room decoration looks more like high-end love hotel room in Korea or Japan than boutique hotel. Quality of materials used is sub-par below 5 star hotel. Bath tub in the room was not functional well during my stay. Room is not quiet with machine running sounds throughout the night. Annoying for anyone who needs a good sleep. Often you can't find a butler or service staff in the lobby. Location is bad. Very far away from downtown and not feel safe to walk around at night. For 50%-60% of its room rate, there are plenty of choices of 5 star hotels in Downtown Colombo which can offer quieter stay, ocean view, and friendly neighborhood for shopping with a higher service standard with better gym, pool and choices of restaurant. Transportation charge at Casa Colombo is also steep. They charge more to/from Airport in a smaller car than what Hilton charges. The tuk-tuk arranged by the butler is also charging more. Restaurant at Casa Colombo is good, but still can't compete with those super nice restaurants at Dutch Hospital in Downtown Colombo in variety and deliciousness for the same price.

I would recommend an experience stay at Casa Colombo for those who haven't experienced Love Hotel before if room rate is lower. For those who is only short trip to experience Colombo, there are more star brand hotel choices at Downtown which offers good stay quality and much lower rate.

Room Tip: inspect bath tub in the room upon check-in and ask to swap if it's not working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincelee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
CASA Colombo is known for its exceptional service and the quiet ambience which it exudes. Therefore we have taken very serious note of all your comments, and assure you that we will work on the same and improve where ever possible.

We thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us, and wish you the very best in your future travels.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I know this won't go down well with some. Stayed two nights in room 5 9/10 Feb. Casa Colombo is a beautiful refurbished house. It must have been great in year 1 and 2. But it is looking tired and things don't work. It's also not 5 star clean and beds are getting worn. Not top class linen, room 5 was a problem, very difficult stairs with no rail. The room door is a mystery, two locks and you need to kick itto open it, it's quirky but not charming it's just a pain. Staff were very charming and friendly but at $200 a night not good value. Finally 2 insects in the bed, I showed the manager he told me they were not bed bugs, but I do have a bite and so does my wife. Casa needs to get a grip or it will sink quick.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowdropLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo.

We do understand that the design of CASA Colombo would not be to everyone’s tastes, as we tend to be very different in every way from the more traditional hotels. However, we have taken serious note of all your comments and will work on the same to ensure improvements wherever possible.

We look forward to another visit from you some day, so that we could prove to you that we really do take your comments seriously, and to show you that CASA Colombo is truly unique and exceptional in every way.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After landing Colombo, on the way to Hotel I was thinking that I made a terrible mistake for not to stay 2 more days in Singapore rather than staying at Casa Colombo. But the moment we arrived at Hotel my thoughts had changed, specially the moment we entered in the room. It was furnished fantastic everything was readily available and after sightseeing on the way to hotel it was really shock for us. Believe or not except the day we leave never gone out and really enjoyed staying in Casa Colombo. All staff were very much polite and looking at into our eyes for to do anything for us. We hired a cab with the help of staff and our again very polite driver took us every possible place around Colombo. Food was also delicious and fresh. There is nothing I can say against this place, u need to see it. Have fun.

Room Tip: each and every room furnished differently as far as I learnt. so our room was really nice as u can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErolAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We loved reading your review of CASA Colombo, and are thrilled at the wonderful comments you have shared with your fellow travelers.

There is nothing more pleasing to us than knowing that your stay with us at CASA Colombo has been a memorable and fantastic experience. We loved reading each and every word of your review and it has encouraged us a great deal.

Thank you so very much once again, and we look forward to the day when we will be able to welcome you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takapuna
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights there last month at end of Lanka tour. Very relaxing boutique hotel modern chic decor. Close to majestic mall and many shops on road . Unbelievable bathroom double sinks and showers! Beautiful copper bath. You won't
Feel like leaving the room . Well maintained. A must if visiting colombo again..

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank peterTakapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
CASA Colombo is known for being totally “out of the box” in its design and service, and we are so very glad that you have enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for a lovely review and your appreciation of what we had to offer you during your stay with us.

More than anything, we would love to see you again at CASA Colombo, and look forward to that day with much anticipation. Please do come back soon, for another unique and memorable CASA Colombo experience.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

If we were to go back to Colombo, we wouldn't even hesitate and would go back straight away. The rooms (we were lucky to be upstairs) are simply crazy. The service is professionnal and friendly and the food is great.
Nice pink swimming pool but it was a little cold out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flebarbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Wow! What a great review of your stay at CASA Colombo, and the promise of returning to us if ever you are in Colombo again, is like icing on the cake!

Thank you for some lovely comments about your experience at CASA Colombo and we are very happy to note that it has been a memorable one. Service is an area in which we always endeavor to achieve the highest possible standards in, and therefore we are so pleased that you have been satisfied with the service at CASA Colombo.

Please visit us again. We are waiting to see you.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

we just been there for food & drinks.The Tapas selection was excellent. Staff were very helpful. they provide us with a complementary birthday cake.
Do not forget to at least have a look the design of restaurant male washroom. it was a amazing interior!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
A birthday is such a special time, and it was really our pleasure to have been able to make it that much more special for you whilst at CASA Colombo. Thank you for a super review and some lovely comments about the décor and service.

We really loved having you with us, and look forward to seeing you more often at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing