We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Boutique Hotel”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Creative Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very creatively done and well kept with good staff, service and food. We had the larger suite booked and the room was very nice with high ceilings, huge bath tub in the bedroom and very creatively appointed. The bar is cool and the outdoor seating space+ pool is nice too. Location is central and breakfast is great too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdityaGupta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
What a review! Thank you so very much! We loved reading your lovely comments about your stay at CASA Colombo.

There is nothing that encourages us more to reach even higher than knowing that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience at CASA Colombo. Thank you for the lovely thoughts about the design, and our Founder and CEO should get all the credit for its creativity, as these are solely his designs and his ideas.

We do love serving you and taking care of you at CASA Colombo, so please visit us again soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we arrived in Sri Lanka on our honeymoon. We had a beautiful room, with flowers on the bed for arrival. The rooms are quiet quirky and unique. We dined in the hotel both for breakfast and dinner, and both were delicious.

The only negative point about this hotel is the location, not the best part of Colombo and can be quiet difficult to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Being unique in every way in what we endeavor to be at CASA Colombo, because we firmly believe that this is what makes your stay with us more memorable and what creates a fantastic experience for you.

We are so glad that your honeymoon at CASA Colombo has been a special one, and that you have enjoyed yourself whilst with us. Thank you so very much for your lovely comments.

We would really love to see you again at CASA Colombo, and next time around we will surely ensure that you have many more wonderful memories at your oasis in Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Casa Colombo is a real safe haven from the hustle and bustle of the city of Colombo, I would second the description of ‘a diamond in the rough’ as previously mentioned on here.

It is so tucked away from the main street that we almost missed it! When we arrived dishevelled and drained from our ten hour flight we were greeted by our personal butler for the stay, Arrun, who was lovely and attentive whilst giving us space at the same time (and lovely welcome drinks). Our Suite was just wonderful – the first thing you are struck by (possibly after the lit up bed!) is the sheer size of the room – the walls were so tall and the room so vast that it was like having our own Sri Lankan cave temple for two nights. The attention to detail is brilliant and the design both intelligent and creative - we loved our freestanding copper bath tub with water ledges and walk in shower room, blending the notion of inside and out.

In fact the whole hotel brings the outdoors in, and vice versa – you can find floating silver balls in the swimming pool (which I would never have swam in – it was more decorative than functional), Buddhist artwork in the restaurant revealing the sky and clouds stretched across one wall and strobe lights that hang like vines on the terrace.

Also mixed with this are little quirky features which inject modernism – we had a phone in the shape of a pair of lips (think Marilyn Monroe), and a pink neon lit phone in the toilet which made me love going for a wee! It keeps it fun and interesting. The only possible issue in teasing guests with such modern features is that they might not appreciate the age and history of the building and expect everything to be perfect, which it is not. The room did smell ever so slightly damp for example, but for us this wasn’t so much of an issue as it was a reminder of how old and how seeped in history the building is.

Food was very nice but limited for Vegetarians. The menu had only two dishes to choose from for a Vegetarian so I had exhausted all options by our second night.

Staff were very accommodating. We were jet lagged and got up late both days of our stay but breakfast was always offered to us and we were not made to feel bad for staying in bed! We also returned from dinner to find our room had been transformed by tea lights and oil burners for the night – this was my favourite part of our stay, I can still smell the cinnamon.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay. Arrun was the perfect waiter and always recommended things for us to do in the day. My only gripe with the hotel is that the associated drivers seemed to try to take us for everything we had! Our taxi driver from the airport to the hotel (transfer arranged through the hotel) took us via a knock-off gem store, under the pretence that we could change money there. We were absolutely shattered and being pressed very inappropriately to buy obviously-fake gems when all we wanted to do was relax and take a shower. The same scenario happed on Day 2 when the hotel arranged a driver for us to take us to Pinnawala – we were pushed again to part with our cash for fruit along the roadside, and photos with elephants that clearly weren’t a part of the orphanage. It made us wonder if the hotel take a cut from such sales..if you arrange transport through the hotel, inform them that that you absolutely do not want to stop to buy anything!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vicandtub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It is so satisfying to know that your stay at CASA Colombo has been both enjoyable and memorable, and our entire team truly appreciates your kind thoughts and comments.

Transforming a 200-year old mansion to what CASA Colombo is today, a multi award winning designer boutique hotel, was certainly no easy task, but we endeavoured to achieve it all through perseverance, commitment, love and pride. We truly believe that we have been successful in our endeavours, and this fact is confirmed when we read such lovely reviews from guests such as yourself.

It was wonderful to have been able to take care of you during your stay with us, but what we would love is to see you back again at CASA Colombo. Come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Nestled in a small lane on Galle Road, the hotel has some unique and well designed interiors. The staff is friendly and bathrooms are well appointed. The hotel dished out some of the best food we had in Colombo. The location is a bit far from everything so prepare to take a tuk-tuk each time you venture out. The hotel service can be a bit slow at times.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhinav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for a lovely review of your stay at CASA Colombo, and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We do like to think of ourselves as an “Oasis” in the busy City of Colombo, where you can come in to simply relax and enjoy a few quiet moments, rest and unwind, enjoying the time with a drink in your hand and delicious meals to tantalize your taste buds.

We look forward to the day when we will see you again at CASA Colombo for another unique experience.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very high tech. Stunning room. Great staff, you have personal assistant ('domo') during your stay. Breakfast was very nice. Will definitely stay here again next time I am in Colombo. Close to the beach, which is nice.

Room Tip: I was on first floor room. Very quiet, nice views outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tariq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
What a thrill to read your review of CASA Colombo, and it was definitely an encouragement to our Team, who strive to give you a stay that is perfect and unique in every way.

A very personalized service is our forte, and it is something we love to do to ensure that your stay with us is memorable and that you will always think of us when your travels bring you to Colombo.

We love the fact that you will be returning to CASA Colombo someday soon. We can’t wait to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights at Casa Colombo at the start of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. The room (one of the upstairs suites) was fantastic, and you are assigned a personal butler to look after you during your stay. Breakfast was good but we didn't eat any evening meals in the hotel so can't comment on that. Overall we had a great stay, were really well looked after and would recommend to others for a treat (or if on business)!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad1982Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Your honeymoon is a very special time for you, a time to create ever lasting memories, which you re-live throughout your life. We are happy that we have been able to make this time even more special for you at CASA Colombo.

We would love to see you relive those wonderful memories year after year at CASA Colombo, and look forward to seeing you again, and the next time around we will assure you more wonderful memories and exceptional moments at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were a couple wanting to get out of city life and thats exactly what we got. Its a quaint mansion with well spread out and decorated rooms in Colombo. Great butler service as well. This hotel is 10-15 mins ride from the city center. The restaurant food was delicious. The Spa facilities were not upto the mark, not having arrangements for music or a decent shower. However the massage itself was good. Overall, a very good experience. I would recommend this hotel only for couples. Not a family hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get the room right next to reception, as the reception tends to get really loud in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapadesdiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
It is such a pleasure to note that you have had a wonderful experience at CASA Colombo, and that we have been able to give you the quiet and relaxing stay you have wanted.

It is a great motivator for our team to know that you have enjoyed yourself whilst with us, and total satisfaction on your part is what we endeavor to achieve at all times.

Thank you also for your recommendation of us. We would love to see you again sometime at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing