We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home, in a true sense!”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I came to know Casa from the various internet information, including their home web. And unlike other web, whereby the picture image on the web is totally different then the reality, this one does not apply. Because this one is exactly the same and even better. It's quirky, eclectic, unique, one of a kind!

The room I booked in was the Traveller Suite. I stayed there for a couple of nites in February, and came back again in March. The casa domo, Kumara, was a big help, efficient and remembered what time to wake me up, what I would have for breakfast, after work, etc.

The bedroom is huge, spacious and complete with electronic gadget, WIFI, Ipod docking, audio, rotating TV. They would also let you stay with no additional cost if you would need for a later check out and provided that room is available.

It feels like staying at your own home, whereby you can relax and not having a waiter attending to you all the time, but as a matter of fact, they do!

Food is good, plenty of choice for a vegan like me. I love their home made hoppers for breakfast, including the side veggie curry and various sombol for accompaniments.

Going around from this place to various city attraction is easy too. I can always stop a tuk-tuk right outside the mansion, or call a local cab.

I am coming back for my year end holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si_Janti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

We choose this hotel on the net, because we like the style. Working as a decor stylist and a photographer, we wanted something special. The moment we arrived at Casa Colombo, we appreciated every moment. Great welcome, personal butler Kuma, beautiful suite so spacious and well decorated, we enjoyed the food in the resto, a breakfast on the terrace, hidden swimming pool. GM Mr.Horst is the best! The best room we've had anywhere on our travels for such a reasonable price. We would recommend it and if we are back in Colombo, definitely be staying in CC)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My Family and I went to Sri Lanka in October on 2008, after a grueling couple of months at work. This vacation was much needed. The Hotel is bang in the heart of the city and is not too far from the Airport. The sheer structure is magnificent! The approach the white polished lane, with an antique car parked at the entrance ( i asked if i could use that around town - but was told that, it's a decorative item!) the waiting room was a verandah, with lovely cane furniture. We had 2 munchkins traveling with us aged 10 and 5. They simply loved the landscape and pool. The Pool has pink tiles, with silver balls to play with - Amazing! They had lovely cabanas and deck chairs... The Best part of the hotel was the room! -Large - Trippy... Gold! The Bathrooms has old school bathtubs, amazing sinks and a lovely view. There was every conceivable gadget / device / remote control in my room... The Kids simply loved that... the walk to other rooms, made me experience the trippiest yet sober visual... a passage, which has art neon colors, with a uv light, and funky tassels! Superb - I say! Dinner was in this plush dining room, with crystal chandeliers, high ceilings, and the sky with stars painted on the ceiling... the food was heavenly... i remember lusting for the dessert! Colombo overall is no great shakes.. but one must visit, experience the casa colombo, visit paradise road, and then go on ahead to other parts on Ceylon ( I much prefer that name!)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The moment we arrived at casa Colombo we immediately felt home. The astonishing colonial building with a modern accent was perfectly designed. By entering our room it was like a dream. the room was extremely beautiful. The materials and colors used in our room was just the perfect match. Our private butler Aron was the finishing touch of our perfect stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerjanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

My partner and i stayed at casa colombo for one night, a weekend get away. We got there and the room was alright - very kitsch and retro. We stayed in a travellers suite and according to the website, the room came with cable tv and an ipod for watching movies. Well the cable tv was ther ebut not the ipod - we had to ask our duomo (probably the best part - the duomo, very efficient, courteous and kind) to supply us with one, which he did. Very disappointed to find there was hardly any food - only a Sri Lankan menu was availabl, despite casa boasting over three restaurants - none of them were open, apparently, so we were stuck with very limited options. curry, curry and more curry. We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This hotel is an inspiration!!! both my hubby and i appreciate the beauty and aesthetics of old colonial bldgs and this hotel says it at all! it's a 200-years old mansion with an injection of uber modern interior. The rooms are all spacious and we stayed in chatham suite (travellers suite) which is a loft with a tv chill out area on top. Our room comes with free wi-fi for net surfing and full equipped entertainment system and cable tv. Not to mention a selection of magazines and gadgets to play around with! so..ull never be bored when ur inside your room. Our casa domo, Arun was fabulous n alwiz on the go to assist us. He even prepared us breakfast at 5am..knowing we have an early flight back home. (talk about commitment!). FYI, they also have a middle eastern restaurant called 'habibi" which serves fabulous minced beef hummus. pls try if you have the chance - it is to die for! the food is a bit slow and preparation takes time....but that's ok if you've got great company with u. The hotel may be too quite for some..but we enjoyed the privacy and feeling of having the whole place to ourselves. Location wise..it is right smack in the middle of the city..behind some shop block and u can easily grab a tuk-tuk to go anywhere. One piece of advise - get the info counter person at the airport to translate the address to singalese (just i case ur taxi guy doent know the location). Honestly, we hardly return back to the same hotel we have stayed in....however casa colombo is an exception and we will happily return for our next trip. All in all - casa colombo is highly recommended, without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Probably the best rooms we've had anywhere in the world, at an extremely reasonable price. Unusual decor, all made in Sri Lanka. Although the mansion has been restored with all its original features, there are many glamorous modern additions. Each room is uniquely decorated.
Horst, the manager was extremely friendly, as was our casa domo, who showed us round the hotel. Fantastic service, all the staff very helpful, readily available when we needed assistance and did not bother us at all when we did not. Location convenient for shops, restaurants and sight-seeing.Many restaurants, bars, shops both walking distance and short trishaw rides away.
We had such a fantastic time we returned to the hotel for the last part of our holiday and found ourselves ensconced in the room we'd previously admired with a double-sized copper bath. Because of the political situation, the hotel was quiet, but it was like having our own private mansion. We would recommend it highly and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Jetwing Colombo Seven
Jetwing Colombo Seven
#30 of 54 in Colombo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £193 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing