We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIP HOP IN COLOMBO”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“HIP HOP IN COLOMBO”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We've been dicovering Sri Lanka and stood at Casa Colombo for our some days in the city.
What a great adventure with everyone taking care of us and so comfortably. The hotel is so creative but all commodities and service are at the top. A living dream...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Stayed here one night - it was supposed to be a birthday treat but it turned out to be a huge disappointment for both of us. We arrived a sunday evening - all the restaurants were closed. No room service - we had to go out of the Hotel to get a meal.
We were given a room - the first thing that happened when our butler was showing the facilities, was that the TV fell down from the wall - they used 20 minutes to hang it up with a hammer - and only a temporarily and bad solution. I noticed that the floor was not clean - the sofa was stained and sticky to sit in - we had to put a towel over it before we could use it. The bed linen was dirty and used - we actually had to throw the pillows away because they smelled of other peoples sweat! Gross!!!!!!!
What was working was the bathtube in front of the bed and the small pool on the terrace - but the jacuzzi outside had only cold water. The mini bar was empty - luckily we brought our own wine and DVDs. But there was no snacks, no free water. In the morning there was no one to make breakfast for us - we had to go to work, so we were up early. No one there to check us out. I would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone - there are plenty of other fancy hotels in Colombo that are better. The management should really rethink their whole concept - my experience is that this is really unserious business, managed by someone who doesn't care about the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vaarsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay back in November 2009 posted in April 2010

It was sad to read that your birthday was not as enjoyable as it should have been with us and we apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

I am saddened by the review as it is of unimaginable content and close to impossibility, but I like to assure you that cleanliness is one of our priority and there is no way that we have given a suite with dirty linen. I am unable to verify what happened as your stay seems to be 6 month ago, nevertheless, whatever happened during your stay, it seems we have failed you and that in itself is something we regret.

As we do with all feedback we will certainly review your points with the entire team so that we can continue to make improvements where required and again our apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us.

Perhaps you will give us another chance and I personally assure you, that you will have a memorable experience which we are known for.

Yours Sincerely,

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I came to know Casa from the various internet information, including their home web. And unlike other web, whereby the picture image on the web is totally different then the reality, this one does not apply. Because this one is exactly the same and even better. It's quirky, eclectic, unique, one of a kind!

The room I booked in was the Traveller Suite. I stayed there for a couple of nites in February, and came back again in March. The casa domo, Kumara, was a big help, efficient and remembered what time to wake me up, what I would have for breakfast, after work, etc.

The bedroom is huge, spacious and complete with electronic gadget, WIFI, Ipod docking, audio, rotating TV. They would also let you stay with no additional cost if you would need for a later check out and provided that room is available.

It feels like staying at your own home, whereby you can relax and not having a waiter attending to you all the time, but as a matter of fact, they do!

Food is good, plenty of choice for a vegan like me. I love their home made hoppers for breakfast, including the side veggie curry and various sombol for accompaniments.

Going around from this place to various city attraction is easy too. I can always stop a tuk-tuk right outside the mansion, or call a local cab.

I am coming back for my year end holiday!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si_Janti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, CZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We choose this hotel on the net, because we like the style. Working as a decor stylist and a photographer, we wanted something special. The moment we arrived at Casa Colombo, we appreciated every moment. Great welcome, personal butler Kuma, beautiful suite so spacious and well decorated, we enjoyed the food in the resto, a breakfast on the terrace, hidden swimming pool. GM Mr.Horst is the best! The best room we've had anywhere on our travels for such a reasonable price. We would recommend it and if we are back in Colombo, definitely be staying in CC)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My Family and I went to Sri Lanka in October on 2008, after a grueling couple of months at work. This vacation was much needed. The Hotel is bang in the heart of the city and is not too far from the Airport. The sheer structure is magnificent! The approach the white polished lane, with an antique car parked at the entrance ( i asked if i could use that around town - but was told that, it's a decorative item!) the waiting room was a verandah, with lovely cane furniture. We had 2 munchkins traveling with us aged 10 and 5. They simply loved the landscape and pool. The Pool has pink tiles, with silver balls to play with - Amazing! They had lovely cabanas and deck chairs... The Best part of the hotel was the room! -Large - Trippy... Gold! The Bathrooms has old school bathtubs, amazing sinks and a lovely view. There was every conceivable gadget / device / remote control in my room... The Kids simply loved that... the walk to other rooms, made me experience the trippiest yet sober visual... a passage, which has art neon colors, with a uv light, and funky tassels! Superb - I say! Dinner was in this plush dining room, with crystal chandeliers, high ceilings, and the sky with stars painted on the ceiling... the food was heavenly... i remember lusting for the dessert! Colombo overall is no great shakes.. but one must visit, experience the casa colombo, visit paradise road, and then go on ahead to other parts on Ceylon ( I much prefer that name!)

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The moment we arrived at casa Colombo we immediately felt home. The astonishing colonial building with a modern accent was perfectly designed. By entering our room it was like a dream. the room was extremely beautiful. The materials and colors used in our room was just the perfect match. Our private butler Aron was the finishing touch of our perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerjanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2010

My partner and i stayed at casa colombo for one night, a weekend get away. We got there and the room was alright - very kitsch and retro. We stayed in a travellers suite and according to the website, the room came with cable tv and an ipod for watching movies. Well the cable tv was ther ebut not the ipod - we had to ask our duomo (probably the best part - the duomo, very efficient, courteous and kind) to supply us with one, which he did. Very disappointed to find there was hardly any food - only a Sri Lankan menu was availabl, despite casa boasting over three restaurants - none of them were open, apparently, so we were stuck with very limited options. curry, curry and more curry. We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing