We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“looking for something different in a hotel, in Colombo? look nowhere else”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“looking for something different in a hotel, in Colombo? look nowhere else”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Driving from the airport to Colombo city centre, was a little bit of a drag to say the least but from the time we arrived at the hotel things just suddenly changed for the better.

We were welcomed by Kumara 'Our personal butler / major domo' that is what he says. We get invited to sit down and have a drink and hand over the passports for registration purposes. Very friendly check-in, in a nutshell. During this time we had time to admire the outside of the hotel which is exactly how it features on the website.

After a few moments, we get escorted to our room - Schofield Place Suite (a nice little upgrade organised for our honeymoon). We then get shown around our room ... brilliant. The room falls under the corporate traveller suite. It has a very nice king size double, large bath tub in front of the bed, sofa in the corner and ample space still in the main room. There is also all the modern facilities one expects these days, CD player, Docking station, WIFI throughout and flat screen tv. Hotel even provides Macbook by Apple in the room! Bathroom again is very spacious. Airconditioning unit, very high tech and all individually controlled, which is great. One of the nicer points about the rooms, is that even though they have all been recently redone, this has been done with such style, elegance and so much attention to detail, its unbelievable.

We only spent two nights in the hotel unfortunately for us and since we wanted to explore Colombo we did not get much time to try all the facilities, but pool is available so is a restaurant, spa facilities and always if you need something, your Major Domo is on call 24/7, whuch is brilliant.

The only down-side, if there was one, is the fact that tuk-tuk and taxi drivers are not all familiar with the hotel so ensure that address is handy. Its very easy to find, once you've been once, but most drivers in the city only seem to know the larger hotels rather than this one. One more point to mention, I think it would be nicer for the hotel to be granted the alcohol licence one day, but apparently the authorities are just being a little difficult on this point.

All in all, I think this is a brilliant little boutique hotel. Service was certainly great and we felt very well taken care of during our visit. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian_21179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you so very much for your comments with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. Our main aim is to provide you with a personalized service where everything is done for you, and you only need to enjoy and relax.

We are also glad that you found the ambience and service we had to offer you pleasing.

We do look forward to your next visit to CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    238
    61
    24
    30
See reviews for
103
560
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Casa Colombo was one of the highlights of our trip. We stayed at the start of a two week trip before going South and one night at the end. We were looking forward to going back.
The hotel is super chic. The rooms blew us away - they are gorgeous! We could have spent so much longer there than we did and will definitely stay again when we return to Sri Lanka. Out of the 4 hotels we stayed in this was our absolute favourite. We had great recommendations from Kumara who helped us with places to shop and eat.
The food at the hotel was lovely. the pool area is a very nice place to spend a few hours in the middle of a bustling city.
We found the spa to be one of the best we have ever tried. The foot massages are just superb.
We really can't recommend this hotel enough. Everything has been thought of - very lush and beautiful hotel with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaBakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will visit us again soon!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel at the end of our three week trip to Sri Lanka.I stayed there with my husband son and his girlfriend who are in their 2o's.We had arrived on a very wet evening in Setember from the Maldives and on the plane I was already worried about the decision to spend the last days in Colombo after the tranquility and beauty of the Maldives.Would it be a let down? Well it certainly wasnt and as soon as we walked in we reallised we had found something a bit special.Our rooms were very large beautiful in design--my husband loved all the gadgets the lighting ect. My son and girlfriend were blown away by their room also.We had the services of Arrun who has been mentioned in other reviews and I really liked this idea as he was great with suggestions of where to eat getting tuk tuks for us and so on . We didnt eat dinner there just breakfast which was fine.We didnt do any sightseeing we just decided to chill out visiting Odels the best known department store, going to a casino which was fun and just eating lovely meals. I would highly recommend Arruns suggestions of where to eat which were the Gallery restaurant-- we went there twice and the chinese restaurant in the Hilton.Would love to stay therre again--mayby one day!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria14ManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We greatly appreciate your comments with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable and relaxing time with us.

We would love to have you at CASA Colombo again and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldives
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed at casa 2 nights and I still can't believe what a place the greeting, the service, kumarra my butler or domo as he calls himself, the restaurant staff even the General Manager what a team!!! The service is incredible the design so great I am lost for words ... The pink pool, the fans in the restaurants wow. The food was great and so was my room spacious luxurious and immaculate. That hotel has what it takes to be the no 1 in sri lanka. Well done !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasMaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay at CASA Colombo. We will share these comments with our entire CASA Colombo Team.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at CASA Colombo, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The ambiance is elegant, delightful but also warm and comfortable. The service is exceptional with a personal Butler Arrun, who could not do enough to meet our needs and the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner extremely good and Restaurant Manager
Sugath also gave great service. The dining can be inside or outside and the pool area is beautiful. The rooms are colonial style with every modern convenience including computer, television and music in the room.
Thank you to all the staff.
Graeme and Judy Morgan

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We were really pleased to read your comments on your stay at CASA Colombo. These will be shared with the entire CASA Team, who will no doubt be happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This is one of the most interesting hotel we've ever stayed in. The decor and rooms and fascinating.

The location is perfect and the service is imppecable. The butler service, and indeed all staff, is beyond the call of duty - delightful.

Care is needed, however, in terms of proper cleaning. There are dirty areas in the room that are neglected as part of the regular upkeep. For example, our bed sheet had a big rip in it, more suited to a one star place.

If this can be improved on this would be one of the world's top places to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonditraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
We greatly appreciate your positive comments and will surely share it with the entire CASA Colombo Team.

Concerning the less positive matter, I have investigated and rectified the same immediately; and have personally taken charge of training and improvement to avoid it from happening ever again.

I would like to thank you for sparing the time to share your comments with us. I hope in the near future you will get a chance to do the CASA Colombo experience all over again.

With best personal regards, I remain,

Sincerely yours,

Horst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romsey
Level Contributor
226 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This has been designed by a local artchitect and it shows, with some very succesful and some slightly bizarre ideas. For instance the showers consist of a tube overhead that has holes, so water comes down in a 'line' looks good but doesn't work well. Staff are very nice, helpful and friendly, especially arrun but the fridge in our room had not been defrosted for ages, we did it and discovered a very mildewed ice cube tray. all reported, but when we went back to room after day out, nothing done about it. Breakfast was cold and so was dinner other than sri lankan curry. shame because good food. BEWARE to, no wine list and bottle white wine -only one available- was £28 on our bill!! Lackof information in rooms and no manager visibie in our visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear Madam,

We greatly appreciate your positive comments and will surely share it with the entire CASA Colombo team.

Subsequently, please allow me now to express my deep concern, as to the less positive points raised, for which, I am, truly indebted to you. Guest feedback is invaluable and even more so, when, it is of a negative nature. Thus, I have always viewed such comments as a constructive device to be utilized, so as to improve our standards of service.

Having taken the liberty and written an email prior to the comment on TripAdvisor I like to ensure you that we have taken immediate action to address the point you have raised.

Once again, I would like to thank you for sparing the time to share your comments with us and I hope in the near future you will get a chance to do the CASA Colombo experience all over again.

With best personal regards, I remain,

Horst & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing