We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food. But needs attention to detail.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food. But needs attention to detail.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Visited for lunch with a friend and it looks like a typical city hotel. Small lobby but nice use of available space and the interior was clean.

The ground floor restaurant or "The Bistro" as they call it can seat 30+ and is well laid out again considering the limited space they have to work with.

We ordered the "Business Men's Lunch" a 3 course meal which is very decently priced at Rs.1,100 per person. I added a Greek salad in addition.

The salad was fresh and crisp with a nice balance of flavors and textures although the feta cheese was a touch too sharp in taste. The Cream of asparagus soup with crisp croutons which followed the salad was very nice in both presentation and flavor.

The main was crumb fried chicken with buttered veges and mash. The veges were nicely done,but the mash could have been, well, more mashed, The chicken was well cooked but it should have been grilled and not crumb fried and that would have gone much better with the veges.

The dessert was a disaster. Chocolate swiss roll with strawberry sauce,.. really?? I was intrigued to see what this would taste like, and it tasted awful. Not so much because of the sauce but because the swiss roll was at least a few days old and dry and had been frozen before being cut and served. Both desserts were left uneaten. It was the one blemish on an otherwise decent meal.

The coffee served at the end of the meal was great. It took the edge off the bad taste left by the dessert.

The entire meal was served at a very leisurely pace, and was nicely spaced between courses.

At the end of the meal we took a ride up to see the rooftop bar and it was a stunning view of the city that greeted us when we got there. I am betting that it will offer the best city view at night from any location within Colombo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChethanaK600, Manager at BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Nalinda

Thank you very much for your heartfelt review of the hotel and the positive feedback regarding our businessman lunch. The ideas of grilled chicken instead of crumb fried chicken and the mash potatoes to be more well prepared have been conveyed to the chef.

Our apologies that you were not satisfied with the dessert. We have informed our chef regarding this.

We hope you had a wonderful experience overall and we hope to see you visit Best Western Elyon Colombo again.

Regards
Chethana Kulathunga
Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    165
    52
    13
    13
See reviews for
93
94
41
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We came early in the morning, around 9 a.m. and our room wasnt ready because usualy check in is after 12 pm but staff offer us another double bed room that we accepted.Room was clean and very nice decorated. On the top of the roof is a nicebar with a great view. Breakfast was simple,but good. Locytion for hotel is little bit far from the centar, but the ride with tuk tuk cost around 400-500 rupies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SladjanaBari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChethanaK600, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We sincerely thank you for the review.The hotel is just minutes away from the city Center.We at Best Western Elyon Colombo arrange transport to any place the guest requests with a reasonable cost. Now we also have introduced a shuttle service to the city Center for your convenience.We hope you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you back at the hotel in your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best Regards
General Manager
Nilantha Rupasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I read a review that said this is a good central location. But that's not true. In Colombo if you're a tourist you need to stay in galle. We were way to out. However the staff was very accommodating they let us get the room early, the hotel is new but the rooms are too small. The rooftop bar was a good addition. My 2 cents ..stay somewhere close to the ocean...a lot more choices coming up in Colombo!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sejmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChethanaK600, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
DearSir/Madam

We sincerely thank you for the review. We are located in an environment which is ideal for businessmen to relax after a busy day. Also it is just minutes away from the city Center. We at Best Western Elyon Colombo arrange transport to any place the guest requests with a reasonable cost. Now we also have introduced a shuttle service to the city Center for your convenience. We hope you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you back at the hotel in your next visit to Sri-Lanka

Best Regards
General Manager
Nilantha Rupasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed last 26th July 2014
We had an amazing experience at Best Western Elyon even if its just for an overnight stay.
All the staff are accommodating and has provided us with great customer service experience during our stay.
The hotel is conveniently located near the shopping district in Colombo and near the International Airport.
The room was clean and tidy, the linens are soft and since this is a new hotel all furniture are fresh and organize with all the amenities you would need for your stay in your room.
I must say the bed and pillows are very comfy. :-)
The manager even gave us complimentary lunch which we didnt expect at all. So thank you to Mr. Janath and his team.
Great job and keep up the good work! More power to the whole team of Best Western Elyon Colombo, Sri Lanka!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neslovesnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChethanaK600, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We sincerely thank you for the review. All of us at Best Western Elyon Colombo are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again when you come to Sri Lanka. Please make your reservation with any channel convenient to you and kindly let us know in advance. In future the hotel will have more guest friendly amenities and services. We are confident that you will share the good experience with every one known to you.

Best Regards
General Manager
Nilantha Rupasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Good- The rooms are really nice and well done! Functional, neat, spacious by Best Western standards and clean. Staff- extremely polite and courteous, always eager to help. The rooftop bar is awesome. Good way to chill out after a hard days work! You can almost see the whole city from up there. Nice and windy.
The Bad- The food is nothing great. Hardly any choices. The Wifi doesnt work properly in the rooms, although it works fab on the rooftop. The location is not that great.
The Ugly- The Rooftop bar doesnt serve liquor!! While you can sit and enjoy the cool breeze, you cannot have any hard drinks there. Apparently some permit issues.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 7th floor. That ways going up to the rooftop would be a flight of stairs. Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emptymusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChethanaK600, Manager at BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Elyon Colombo and the positive feedback.

We apologize if you had a bad experience with the food and the Wi-Fi facility. We have improved our Wi-Fi facility to work at super speed.

We also have alternate arrangements for the guest’s convenience to have liquor in the roof top bar.

Regards
Chethana Kulathunga
Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel staff are well informed in order to answer a variety of questions upon request and are very helpful and prompt. Cocktails at the bar could be better along with a larger range to select from. Room are adequate with everything you need. Good location for visitors and the dinner menu has a good selection with well cooked meats. All in, it is everything you require for a stay in Sri Lanka when you have business in the country, as it does not have a pool or many recreational facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarishaN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Located in the vibrant city of Colombo, Best Western Elyon Colombo is the ideal city hotel. A perfect blend of comfort, modern elegance and exceptional standards of service make this hotel a great place to stay at. 



My husband and I enjoyed a tasty and wholesome buffet dinner in the evening and the whizzing cars and lights that passed us by at the restaurant made us feel like we were in the heart of the city. The next day at breakfast, the chef's Sri Lankan style omelet, gave us a spicy start to our day. The spread on offer included both western dishes and a few traditional dishes which added variety to our meals. Overall, everything was very tasty and the restaurant staff were very helpful.



In the evening we relaxed at the rooftop bar, it offers probably one of the best views available in Colombo and has a wonderful ambiance. Something I really loved about the hotel is that we were able to relax and unwind at the bar, whilst taking in Colombo's beautifully lit buildings against a night sky. We were lucky as during our visit we were able to watch fireworks from the rooftop and observe a small traditional perehara (a colorful religious pageant including fire dancers and people doing different performances). I must also add that this bar has a lovely selection of wines and cocktails, their mojito is one of the best I've ever had.

Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and cosy and our entire experience at the hotel was very pleasant and memorable.

We were really impressed with the friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure we were happy. If you're looking for a great city hotel that is affordable and completely dedicated to offering high standards of service, I highly recommend staying at Best Western Elyon Colombo.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a great view of the city, but all rooms are absolutely comfortable and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Team1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#25 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo

Property: BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo
Address: 102A, Kirulapone Avenue | Baseline Road, Colombo 5, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Elyon Colombo, part of the largest hotel chain in the world, is the newest business hotel to open in Colombo. Featuring Large ultra-modern rooms, an 'All-Day' Dining Restaurant', a Fitness Center, Business Center, Lounge Bar and a Specialty Restaurant. Guestrooms are all Classic Wooden fit outs that offer space, comfort and rest. Double thick mattresses, plush fine linen and a pillow menu offer the wearied traveler an isle of comfort and rest. Expect to be surrounded by all modern facilities such as LED TV, i-pod dock/sound station, personal safe, coffee & tea unit, mini-bar and free wifi internet. The en suite bathroom comes with rain shower facilities, shaving mirror, extensive toiletries and a hairdryer. Our fully-fitted bar with a casual ambiance and silky jazz offers a vibrant meeting place for guests and friends. Fusion Cuisine, Weekend Grills and Exotic Cocktails create the perfect setting to warm down after a busy day; just relax and watch the city lights. Our Staff at the 24-hour reception can also assist with luggage storage, laundry, car rental and room service. We serve with love and a smile. The Hotel is 5 kms from the City Center, 2.8 Kms Bambalapitiya Railway Station and 3.4 Kms from the Sri Lanka National Museum. The Bandaranaike International Airport is 32 kms away. The Royal Colombo Golf course and shopping district is located just 3 kms away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Elyon Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing