We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”

Paradise Road the Gallery Cafe
Ranked #5 of 568 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$52
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Paradise Road Galleries -the Gallery Cafe Opened In 1998 In A Structure Which Was The Former Offices Of World Renowned Sri Lankan Architect, The Late Geoffrey Bawa. Bawa Personally Approved Fernando Taking Over His Beloved Property And Converting It Into A Restaurant And Art Gallery And Respected Shanth's Design Sense In The Conversion And Renovation Of The Building To Complement His Own. Bawa's Only Input Was The Location Of The Main Pavilion Where Most Diners Are Seated. The Art Gallery Features Regularly Changing Exhibitions By Established And Emerging Local Artists, For Sale. As The Cafe Is Open From 10am Through To Midnight Daily, Visitors Frequent The Property For Meals, Site Seeing, Coffee, Cake, Shopping And The Complimentary Wi-fi Available For Use Of Patrons. The Gallery Cafe's Menu Has Not Changed In Years As Regulars Have Their Favourites And Fernando Prides Himself On The Fact That They May Always Return For That Option. It Is Particularly Known For Its Cocktails And Desserts As Well As It's Consistently 'good Food.'
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My daughter had already been to this restaurant on her last visit to Colombo. She insisted that she was going to treat us for my birthday lunch here. We were blown away by the beautiful old house, the meticulous attention to detail and mostly, by the exceptional food. The service was prompt and courteous. Their home made bread was fantastic. We had crab, and prawns, salads and of course their famous black pork. Not one morsel was out of sync with the whole experience. And then came the amazing desserts! It was a splurge for us because we don't eat desserts usually- but it was worth breaking the rules.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GitaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    551
    135
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great setting, good food, pricey”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The setting is a beatiful mix of traditional and modern. It is quiet and relaxed without being too casual. I had the black pork curry which was very good! The desserts looked amazing but we were too full to eat more! Lunch for two came to about Rs 3,500 (no alcohol) which I think is on the expensive side. Definitely geared towards wealthier Sri Lankans and foreigners. Presentation of the food was very nice. Our server was super friendly (haven't met a Sri Lankan who isn't!) and helpful when we were asking him about dishes. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bennoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off the boil”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Our third visit to the restaurant in eighteen months,whilst still providing well presented dishes,the wow factor seems to be missing.staff appear to have lost that sense of urgency they once delivered.Last Friday the place was not crowded as has been the case on previous visits.with the arrival of newer establishments, this once great restaurant can no longer rely on its Geoffrey Bawa heritage alone. With a little more attention to detail I do hope they can regain the wow factor that was so evident on the previous occasions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classy for a price”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A great place with a lovely atmosphere. Mostly designed for the high class and foreigners. Food needs to be more great for the price labled. Quiet and very nice in the night time. Excellent for a quiet meal with a loved one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venom_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

4 of us ate here on our first night in Colombo due to the reviews. It is a beautiful setting -that's for sure. Unfortunately both my husband and I thought our meals were very mediocre for the cost. Our friends dined said their food was ok but nothing special. I didn't think the service was that great either. Husband and I ordered the 2 speciality dishes the black pork and the prawn curry and the prawn curry was FAR too hot and I like heat. It was inedible - especially with something as delicate as prawns.

Everyone else said their meal was fine but nothing special. Having said that, we generally didn't find the food spectacular in Sri Lanka so by standards to most of the other places we ate I would say it was ok.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradise Road the Gallery Cafe also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Paradise Road the Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing