We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average one-night stay”
Review of Colombo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colombo City Hotel
Ranked #73 of 163 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had an average one night stay at this hotel on the last day before we took the flight out of Sri Lanka. A big plus is that the hotel is centrally located and is in walking distance to the seaside. There are also lots of shopping areas and restaurants nearby. The standard of room was not worth the price that we were being charged and even wifi is charged extra. It is fine for 1 or 2 nights stay just for the superb location but not at all recommended for long stays

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Layacharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for six nights and every effort was made by the staff to make sure my stay was as comfortable as possible. My first room was not suitable and A/C did not work so I was immediately moved to a much more spacious and well-decorated room which over-looked the street. The room in itself was more than ample (and comfortable) for my needs and linen was clean and pristine. I had more than sufficient towels and toiletries provided during my stay. I had a fridge, safe, wardrobes, television and all worked efficiently. The sockets took regular 13amp plugs. There was a huge problem with noise though - not only from the outside street but also from the downstairs area which seemed to encourage loud music until the early hours, so if you are a light sleeper, this could be a problem - it was for me. The french windows were difficult to manoeuvre and not suitably glazed. Breakfast was ample (and tasty) and there was sufficient choice to suit every taste. Some breakfasts were cooked fresh and care was taken with presentation. I would have liked more really fresh fruit to be available. All the staff were helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We checked in late and superbly tired. Went into the room to only find 2 bed instead of triple sharing.they assured that the extra bed would be set up immediately. it took a whole 30minutes for them to come check.. Mind you.. Without the extra bed.. And it took another 15minutes for the bed to arrive. When we lodged a complaint, all they could say was that they wanted to give us a room with a better view. No apologies whatsoever!! Even then, the room should be ready before the guests check in!! The rooftop restaurant was plain shabby with limited food choices (nothing to brag about.. Plain boring).. The front desk personnel were rude and would find all sorts of excuses to push the responsibility away.. Short to say, I had expected lots more as it's situated around the many other better hotels. Utterly disappointed!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank moo2elyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Nice old hotel over looked by the world trade towers. Fantastic staff but very dated. It had that musty smell in all our rooms.. Comfy beds and generally clean.. They had a roof terrace that served food but we didn't risk it. Must try harder. C-

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eamonn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka. I was a bit hesitant as previous reviews haven't been wonderful. The location is perfect. The hotel itself we found to be a good clean 3star standard. Staff were courteous and pleasant. They booked an early morning taxi for us-we opted to pay taxi direct and it was cheaper than hotel quote!
Roof top bar is a great spot for refreshment before heading off to Galle Face Green to watch the sunset.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTMHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

One night stay on my way to Kandy, hotel is at right location but over all there is good scope for improvements and it can be the best if there is some face lift in over all facility. Staff are good and courteous and food needs special attention.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Srinivas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was the beginning of our epic 10 day road trip around Sri Lanka. We just needed a place to lay our heads for the night, therefore a place central, within 10 mins walk from Colombo Rail Station and at a reasonable price was essential.
This place ticked those boxes.

We asked for recommendations of places to eat in the late evening as we arrived after 10pm, however the only place given by the hotel assistant was the Hilton. Not only was it ridiculously over priced there, but we were ripped off too (not at the fault of Colombo City Hotel).

The bed was somewhat comfortable, however the sheets were now actually clean, with specs of dirt and something that looked like BLOOD on the pillow cases. My gf freaked, so from then on she covered each pillow with a sheet in case any of the dirt on there was something yucky!!!

The walls were very thin, so any argument, loud noise or hanky lanky was heard in the night, making our sleep a little disrupted.

If you are staying in Colombo and will be spending most of your time outside your hotel, then I guess this place would be good for you. After all, when we finally returned after 10 days travelling around the country, the guard in charge of the minimal parking spaces outside allowed us to leave our van there (i guess he recognised us).

A group of 8 travelled, Aug 2013...

Room Tip: Choose a room where the headboard to your bed is not adjacent to the wall of the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike-n-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#36 of 56 in Colombo
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 56 in Colombo
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#17 of 56 in Colombo
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#23 of 56 in Colombo
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#6 of 163 in Colombo
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 163 in Colombo
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: £48 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colombo City Hotel is located in the heart of Colombo right opposite to the World Trade Center Twin Towers and the old Dutch Hospital,now converted to a modern shopping complex which is a world heritage site, it is also walking distance from the old parliament. A short stroll from the hotel and you will find your self amidst historic buildings and the Colombo port. This is the ideal location for business travelers and people who want a taste of the metropolitan. With 51 rooms and a wonderful rooftop restaurant/bar offering value for money food, beverages & sprites. This hotel is star classified by the tourist board and is offering affordable accommodation at the best location in the City of Colombo and is a great choice for most travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing