We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Cat Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
26
22
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
22
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cafe downstairscoffee shoptuk tukconvenient locationwithin walking distancesri lankaambiencelinensaccommodationdriver
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Superb coffee. Ambience is warm and welcoming. Plenty of seating for a solo visit or a friendly meeting and even work meeting. Loved the food. The breakfast menu is particularly yummy. Friendly and attentive service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Good location in a nice area of Colombo (not too manic and nice walks to nearby park and museum). Rooms are clean and beautifully furnished. Really enjoyed the breakfasts and great coffee in the cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joeyw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The rooms were super clean and comfy. Located in a nice quiet and trendy neighbourhood, still within walking distance to attractions. The breakfasts were delicious!!! SO much variety and had an authentic spice. We loved that they were environmentally conscious serving drinks with paper straws and having a water dispenser to fill personal bottles.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank biresonvalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

If you don’t want to stay in one of the large Western chain hotels around the Fort/Galle Face Green area then the Black Cat is a good alternative. The b&b/cafe is in an old colonial style house in the Colombo 7 district, which is a mix of good residential and some retail properties(bank & supermarket just around the corner and cafes/restaurants all with a very short walking distance). It’s also walkable (if you are fit/don’t mind the heat) to the Fort area or you can pick up a tuk-tuk for around 300R (make sure it has a meter or agree the price before you get in). We stayed here for 2 nights in King Room 2, which is at the back of the house so nice and quiet. The room is basic, but large with a/c and a fan. The bathroom is quite tight for space, but had a good rain shower with plentiful hot water. There’s a communal area where you can sit (the bedroom has only one chair) and help yourself to water/tea/coffee. We had breakfast both mornings in their excellent café downstairs. They also helped us by organising a car (modern with a/c) and driver (Dilipa) to take us to our next stop in Habarana (130$/4.5 hours drive).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank newnhamites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

One of my favourite (new favourite lol) breakfast places in Colombo. I've only been here twice, and both times I've had the "Mission" breakfast, and both times it was really good! Love the ambience, the sitting, the converted tables (previously sewing tables), and the entire breakfast menu looks great!

They don't serve bacon (not a deal breaker for me), or beef. But have good vegetarian/pescatarian options, and their coffees are good!

I totally recommend this place!

Only suggestion would be around the parking, which sometimes looks complicated given the layout of the driveway/entrance.

The other that bothered me both times, is that they don't have salt and pepper in their tables, so you have to ask for it, and it's quite powdered salt and pepper, and not grainy. I mean for a place that has gone through the trouble to create such beautiful breakfast menus, and nicely served food, seems a bit uncharacteristic to see powdered salt and pepper!

So if any of their management reads this, that is my only suggestion for improvement!!

Room Tip: Try their breakfast!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews