We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“V.good for Dushanbe - lovely service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Restaurant

Marco Polo Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 121 Restaurants in Dushanbe
Cuisines: Afghani, European, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“V.good for Dushanbe - lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

First - there aren't many comfortable, nice restaurants in Dushanbe so this review takes that into consideration. By European standards it would be ok or good at best. However...very tasty food and lovely service with a smile. Some unusual and tasty starters and a good wine list. Bit disappointed that they don't stock Tajik beer, which is very good - neither do they take credit cards. It is one of the more pricier places to eat but again this is by Tajik standards (£25 stg a head for dinner and drinks). Strange cave-like decor which you will like or hate. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jacob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I heard about the place but never tried to dine in before until last week with few of my friends, We were surprised by awesome food and service the cave style Devore makes you look around and want to take some pics, Afghan food was great and service reached our expectation...If you are in Dushanbe it's worth of try.....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cavelike ambiance; loud music; food saves it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Interesting decor - didn't care much about the cave-like decor, but it was interesting! The food was excellent and saves this rating to 4 stars! The live music there was too loud and not so great. I guess live music is featured in a lot of restaurants in Dushanbe but it was just a little too loud, and not that good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank loracYCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I have been here several times over the past few months and the quality and value is excellent. Today I discovered they not only have great food but the best outdoor patio in the city! The afghan food is well prepared the service is better than most restaurants in the city and it is good value and consistent, something that is rare in Dushanbe.

Helpful?
3 Thank China_pro_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a dinner for 3 persons there. We decided to try all of the afgan part of the menu and all of us were really satisfied. Delicious starters - dumplings with beef and onion filling, eggplant and baked slices of potatoes. All of them worth a try. Soups and main meat dishes met our expectations. Perfect sevice, everything on time. All of the staff very proffessional and kind. Prices around 25 EUR per person (starter, main course and dessert). Inerior a little too dark but quite interresting, it looked like inside a cave. Generally speaking very high standard and good prices. Very recommendable place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bartosz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco Polo Restaurant also viewed

Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
 

Been to Marco Polo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing