We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice due to lack of options”
Review of Gulnara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulnara Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 49 Tashkent B&B and Inns
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great choice due to lack of options”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A nice enough little hostel. Really they are just single rooms with two or 3 beds.The nearest metro stop is conveniently located at about a 5 minute walk away and you are directly next to a wonderful and one of the better bazaars. The price is a bit much for what you get and steer clear of the mother who makes you feel like you are in her house as opposed to a hotel guest. The eating area is very pretty and the rooms are decently clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gossome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
27
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Good clean rooms for reasonable prices. This family run guesthouse is fairly professional. It's full most of the time, so they have fixed prices, but it seems to be one of the better deals in Tashkent. Showers are hot, rooms have AC and are fairly quiet and breakfast is good. The people speak okay english and can advice on transport or other requests. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Spotless room, spotless bathroom, nice matress and very good breakfast. The staff was helpfull and friendly. Seriously nothing to complain.

We checked for them on Hostelworld and they are stated there as three times more expensive as they are. We ended up paying less then thirty euro for a double with shared bathroom. I pointed this out to the staff, so hopefully for them it will get corrected.

Room Tip: There are four new rooms, which are spotless. Ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The staff was professional, my room was very clean and very quiet in the new section. Bathroom was spotless. The breakfast was great and included in the price. There was a nice spacious sitting area where you can relax in the shade, read and write in your journal (if you do that sort of thing). They were also helpful in getting me a safe, reliable, fairly priced ride to the airport late at night to catch my 3AM flight.

Room Tip: I liked the new, quite section in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieInIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

excellent place for all travellers! safe place, nice and professional staff, clean and tidy room with CLEAN (!!!) bathroom, tasty breakfast included in the price, nice garden where you can sit a shadow and enjoy peace and quite time. close to Chorsu Bazaar and good connections to other must-see places in Tashkent. as I noticed now (in March), they are extending their space so more rooms to be available soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed in Tashkent for three nights at Gulnara B&B. We had a twin room with an attached bathroom. We booked online and paid $42 per night. However, I'm sure you would get it cheaper showing up in person. We booked before arriving because of flying in from the USA. There were single and dorm rooms available too.
The room was comfortable, clean, and basic. Breakfast was average- eggs and bread with tea. The family spoke limited English, but generally the point could be made. We did have some difficulties communicating when it came to what we owed because of the deposit required for the online booking. It ended up being an issue so we gave up and ended up having to pay the full amount (they didn't deduct the deposit).
The best service offered was pick up from the airport for $15 USD. The driver was waiting with a sign so we swam easily through the taxi sharks. He drove us directly to Gulnara while giving some info about Uzbekistan and Tashkent and helping with money exchange. Gulnara is not marked, so it's difficult to locate. We were glad to have someone show us.
Gulnara is near Chorsu Bazaar, which is a great place to explore. The metro is there at the bazaar so it is easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolceacqua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed at Gulnara 10 years ago at the end of summer (the garden was full of flowers)
I have returned back this winter and It is opened all year around.
The rooms are well heated. There are shared bathrooms, but during winter only the ony below is very well heated.
There is possibility to leave your luggages for a couple of days.
Gulnara is very nice and always smiling.
In January they were working on the adjacent house they have bought to make new rooms.
Breakfast is as per Central asian cuisinge (eggs, bread, jam which Gulnara makes, saussage)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tajikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
2.9 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#4 of 39 in Tashkent
55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Uzbekistan
Hotel Uzbekistan
#15 of 39 in Tashkent
526 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Rohat
Hotel Rohat
#18 of 39 in Tashkent
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Topchan Hostel
Topchan Hostel
#1 of 23 in Tashkent
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirzo Guesthouse
Mirzo Guesthouse
#12 of 49 in Tashkent
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Art Hostel
Art Hostel
#2 of 23 in Tashkent
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulnara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulnara Guesthouse

Property: Gulnara Guesthouse
Address: Ozod St. 40, Tashkent 700111, Uzbekistan
Region: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tashkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing