We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay in Tashkent”
Review of City Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed in the Hotel in a package tour from India. It's a decent hotel and very conveniently located. Rooms are average quality but clean and comfortable. Had a decent wifi. Many tour groups use the hotel it seems. Not too much variety in breakfast but enough to fill up tummy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anurag66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

During my stay in last month I find very friedly environment,good hospitality,clean freash atmosphere,beautiful swimming pool,sauna& turkish bath,......worth staying in hotel.Location &front view is marvellous...hotel staff is very cooperative.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a typical tourist hotel with lots of coach parties arriving, which to be fair are dealt with efficiently.
I stayed at this hotel at the start and end of my trip and it was perfectly adequate. Bedrooms were spacious and furnishings quite grand although if dated, bathroom and bedlinen were of a good standard.
Breakfast was plentiful and the omlettes were excellent. My main complaint here would be there is not enough seating at peak times due to coach parties arriving on mass.
The lobby area is comfortable with a rather slow internet connection (same issue in all hotels I stayed in) however there was no wifi reception in bothe rooms I stayed in.
It is near a good bazaar, independent square, the government district and a goo park - all within a 10 minute walk.
Overall, it was a perfectly adequate and comfortable hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have to agree totally with MVC499. On our last evening, we were seated in the breakfast room as they had a wedding in the main restaurant, and they had completely run out of red wine! A warm and disgusting bottle of white was produced, but it was awful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently spent a week in this hotel and all-in-all it was absolutely fine. The hotel is situated in the city centre not far from the main square and the local Oloy market. The room was a very good size, comfortable bed, free wifi (though sometimes a bit slow), nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Room was very clean - even a bit over the top with cleaners changing the bed linen and towels on a daily basis! I could definitely have done with a kettle and an iron - it is annoying to be totally beholden to (expensive) hotel services and such a small addition would make a lot of difference. Breakfasts were generally ok with a fair amount of choice. One plea, however, is don't keep pancakes under the same cover as the frankfurter sausages! The fried egg and omelet man, though, was excellent!
So, overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I spent 2 nights here and was pleasantly surprised as I'd read some mixed reviews. Room was quite large and well furnished with heavily Russian influenced dark wood furniture. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water available. There is free Wifi available in the room which is a bonus and the A/C worked well. There is a fixed hairdryer in the bathroom but no iron available. The only downside is that the bar in the lobby is very small with not much seating and they don't accept USD, which are accepted everywhere else, only Uzbekistan Som. Breakfast is buffet style and quite good although not a lot of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel looks grand but there are various problems with it. It's not well located - no tourist sites nearby. It's expensive. The food is not good. My door card/key didn't work and had to be replaced; the second one was unreliable too. The staff were not particularly friendly. Havign said that, though, the rooms are spacious and everything inside the room worked well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#1 of 40 in Tashkent
120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#4 of 40 in Tashkent
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Tashkent
Wyndham Tashkent
#5 of 40 in Tashkent
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Miran International Hotel
Miran International Hotel
#6 of 40 in Tashkent
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tashkent
0.7 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Tashkent Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Palace Hotel

Address: Amir Temur Street 15, Tashkent 100000, Uzbekistan (Formerly Markaziy Hotel)
Region: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tashkent
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range: £72 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — City Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markaziy Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing