We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good area, average hotel”
Review of Hotel Uzbekistan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Uzbekistan
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Hotel Uzbekistan is well known in Tashkent. I found it to be more interesting from the outside than the inside, however. The rooms were run down with old furniture and worn carpeting. There was an abundance of storage in the room (which I don't understand considering most people would only stay a few days) and if you looked through the cement decoration outside each window, there was a great view. If you expect a basic but large room with no frills, you won't be disappointed. However, if you are used to clean, comfortable rooms with flat-screen TVs, etc., you may want to look into other hotels. The only major complaint I had is that there was no drinking water provided and the hotel charged $3 for one bottle of water (compared to 70 cents in a shop).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guntsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Uzbekistan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Uzbekistan is well situated in the centre of Tashkent. It's a big typical Russian style building, with wide rooms, but not clean and very old.
Bathrooms and the common areas were well below the expectations! I think we should have definitely found a better accomodation to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silverpozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

this is a large hotel with tons of activities going on, wedding receptions, birthday parties...i liked the room which was fairly large...we had a good dinner at scherazada restaurant and a nice meal at vena cafe...one of the fun stuff was watching the staff count uzbeki soms...staff great help...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights here, one at the start of our trip around Uzbekistan & one at the end. While the outside of the hotel and the reception area is rather grand and imposing, it's mostly downhill from there. Good sized twin room at the front of the hotel felt grubby from the stained carpets to the rusty and mouldy bathroom. Hard to get the right temp in the shower - either scolding hot or freezing cold. TV could not be used as it had a different plug to the socket. Views would have been fantastic over Timur square if not for the concrete design over the windows. Beds were clean and comfortable. Second stay was in a room at the rear of the hotel - much cleaner and newer, and great to have a balcony to get some fresh air. Had dinner at the buffet on our return (were just too tired to go looking for a restuarant) and it was mightily dissapointing (not much choice and expensive). Breakfasts were slightly better with a good range. Good location with plenty of attractions within walking distance and the subway out the front of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GnT_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is very big, it looks a bit of an eyesore from the outside, however it is better inside, there is a small cafe selling snacks, tea and coffee, it has a quaint gift shop. I found the staff very helpful. The rooms were ok, nothing wonderful, a bit shabby I would say. The breakfast was a buffet, and there was an omelette station, and a lot of variety with fruits, etc..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoginidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The impressive building of the Hotel Uzbekistan is situated in the spiritless new center of town. Around are only squares, boulevards and styleless modern buildings, no restaurants or shops. The rooms are acceptable, but nothing more than that, the airco does not always work well. The personnel treats the visitors with disdain, service and friendliness are unknown concepts. The food is at best mediocre: the buffet for dinner is nothing special and very expensive (27.000 som at the time of our visit). One waiter spilled part of a bottle of beer over his pants and tried to distract us asking "Where are you from?" while pouring the remains in our glass. Food safety is another unknown concept: the food stays on the uncooled buffet for hours, and even all night for our early breakfest, and that with outside temperatures of 35-45°C. Money can be changed officially in the hotel at the low official rate (only 100% new notes!), or via some members of the personnel, that try to rip you off. By far our worst experience in Uzbekistan!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VaBenebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you think you are spending money, don't prefer this hotel. The rooms are not good at all. The Continental Buffet breakfast is not good at all and the service is not good. The room AC's donot work. Prefer to carry your umbrellas as it usually rains. Also donot prefer to get your USD converted to there currency as you cannot carry there currency out of there country and you have to either spend it completely or get it converted back with a exchange rate loss. The branded items/cloths which you would usually get at a very cheaper rate in your place are very costly at this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuptaVarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rohat
Hotel Rohat
#17 of 40 in Tashkent
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#1 of 40 in Tashkent
97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#4 of 40 in Tashkent
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#6 of 40 in Tashkent
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tashkent
0.7 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Tashkent Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uzbekistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uzbekistan

Address: Musakhanov street 45, Tashkent 100047, Uzbekistan
Region: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range: £43 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uzbekistan 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Uzbekistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uzbekistan Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing