We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Tashkent !”
Review of Chorsu Bazaar

Chorsu Bazaar
Ranked #3 of 80 things to do in Tashkent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large open-air market that is open daily and sells almost everything.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A must when in Tashkent !”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This enormous bazaar is like a city in itself. You can walk around for hours, eat some nice things from the many barbeque places, and get a feel for the local way of shopping as well as seeing "mountains" of vegetables, meat and other products artisically displayed at the various stands/boots.
This bazaar is both indoors and outdoors and it is a true adventure to visit and of course to buy something from the innumerous sellers - and don't forget to bargain !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SignarI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    98
    37
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Feel like europe”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The city is very clean and the market is very big. I like it.little snowfall is also going on and the best thing is the mapels trees by the road side.

Helpful?
Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the central asia bazaar”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was born in Uzbekistan and love my city, especially The Chorsu Bazaar. It 's huge and has a huge range of products to offer like any other asian countries, but I still think that uzbek bazaars are the best.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ilmira2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“CROWDED JUNCTION OF ALL TRADES”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Soon after landing, we dumped the baggage in hotel and made it to "Chorsu" as our first stop in Tashkent. From Tinchlik Metro Station, it didn't take us more than five minutes to reach Chorsu Station with an exit, opening right in the middle of bazaar. Countless streets with hundreds of outlets, oozing out of the products, known to be indigenous to Uzbekistan. We were least surprised to find a lot of stuff from China, India, Turkey, Malaysia, Thailand and of our origin of Pakistan. There were hundreds of mini stalls on footpaths and much more on ground, occupying roadsides in the open. In middle of bazaar was 'Chorsu Plaza' with numerous 'Branded Shops' of superior quality products, again from all importable origins. In the shadows of most dominating blue colored Trading-Dome, we climbed up to a huge 'Fruit & Grocery Market' and walking little to the back were the shelters for 'Fresh Vegetables'. Currency Exchange was equally a hot trade and we could easily get Soum 2,700/- against One US Dollar. There was ample variety of food to eat or drink in every corner, either on stalls or inside the restaurants. Our one time lunch for two of us in a restaurant was Soum 20,000/- while the fast-food from a 'stall' could be bought for about Soum 5000/-. One time fresh-up or the relief in a proper bathroom could cost Soum 400-500 per person. In nutshell, Chorsu Bazaar in Tashkent has always been a 'Crowded Junction of All Trades' with glamour to life and style with absolutely no fear of theft or forgery for both the locals as well as the foreigners. As a precaution however, we tried to avoid display of currency out of our pockets. A major handicap, severely confronted was the language because ninety percent Uzbek population was not conversant with English. As a result therefore, prices initially quoted to us by almost all shop-keepers were exorbitant and we desperately needed all our expertise-skills to crack in bargains, which was usually a success. An attraction, NOT TO BE MISSED in Uzbek Capital.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kb123742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tamworth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Colorful, fragrant, delicious”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you love food, the vegetable, bread, salad, dried goods, nuts and fruits, and other edible delights at this market are a must see. In early September the variety was amazing. All the sellers were so friendly, offering tastes of their wares. There are also sections for household goods, jewelery, clothing, gardening supplies, spices and just about anything you could want. Colorful, authentically Central Asian - I found this bazaar a real treat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chorsu Bazaar also viewed

 
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 

Been to Chorsu Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing