We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but tired”
Review of Grand Orzu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Orzu Hotel
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean, and beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very tired and needed repairs to the shower. Staff tried to address the problem without success.
Breakfast was ok if lacking much choice. Didn't try other meals.
Quite a lot of noise from the corridor outside our room, especially from staff from about 5.30am.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 123lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived from the airport at 2 am. It was a 12 hour journey with our 2 young kids. Ambient temperature was almost subzero. To our dismay, there was no hot water at all. The icy water numbed us within 5 secs. We had to buy bottled water for our needs as tap water was too cold. It was like that for the 2 nights stay we were there. We returned to the hotel when we were back at tashkent and found out there was no hot water still. Until the next day of our second stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zooIoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We used the hotel on our first and last day in Uz. So for us, the l0cation was most important.
There were some restaurants nearby. But they were expensive, and not very good.
the rooms were basic and rundown. The beds were good, and we slept well.
The staff was not very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivar_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here for two weeks with my family, which included two children aged 6 and 8, while I tried to find a house to move into. The hotel is comfortable and worked for us. I cannot comment on the value for money as our company paid. We had a family room and the children slept a sofa bed. The hotel would benefit from a face-lift although the interior design style is quite common in this region. Our room often smelt of cigarette smoke which seemed to permeate through the ventilation system and the air cons are noisy but keep the room cool - as our room was near the pool we were regularly kept awake at night, particularly on weekends, as patrons tended to socialize and drink there, well into the morning hours. The breakfast is basic but all other meals were very good. The staff were hard to contact at first but became much more friendlier the longer we stayed.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near the pool as this where people hang out in the evenings and it can become qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarrodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Grand Orzu is a perfectly serviceable hotel in Tashkent, a city where accommodations run more expensive than in the rest of Uzbekistan for the size and value of the rooms. Rooms are on the small-ish side, basic but clean if run-down; the entire hotel is in need of a facelift. The staff are a bit terse (took me a day to figure out they could understand English). The garden, an imitation tea house (chaihane) is nice, and the pool is small but refreshing. As others mentioned, the wifi signal is good in lobby and garden/restaurant only, but that's pretty much the case in every hotel at this level in Uzbekistan (it's also free). You can find better, but in Tashkent you'll pay dearly for it.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the front of the hotel can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khowaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arrived late at night, so the small pool was no use for us. This was the second hotel we stayed in Tashkent and both were the same price, and tI can say that there are many times better options in Tashkent with the same money.

The reception itself was looking like it had remained the same from the soviet times. There were dirty old broken rugs on the corridors and stairs and the room was old, did not look clean and our chair was so broken that i did not even dare to lift my purse on it.

The bed sheets were clean, so that was ok. But sleeping was not easy as the old aircondition was really really loud. I was not very happy with the breakfast eiher. I went there very early in the morning, before other visitors, but still the sausages looked like they had been standing on the table for ages. I had very limited breakfast and had only things that looked fresh.


We were happy to get out of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatIh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice to find a pool in this hotel in the midst of our overland travel with tour company. Nice bar and restaurant available, but prices are a bit high, consistent with prices around Tashkent. A 5-min walk to the big street for buses and taxis. Several restaurants close by as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
0 mi away
Rovshan-Tashkent Hotel
Rovshan-Tashkent Hotel
#25 of 41 in Tashkent
48 reviews
0 mi away
Safar Hotel
Safar Hotel
#18 of 41 in Tashkent
10 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Valley Hotel
Golden Valley Hotel
#32 of 41 in Tashkent
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Arien Plaza
Arien Plaza
#13 of 41 in Tashkent
33 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#22 of 41 in Tashkent
7 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Rohat
Hotel Rohat
#20 of 41 in Tashkent
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Orzu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Orzu Hotel

Address: Makhmud Tarobi Street 27, Tashkent 100090, Uzbekistan
Region: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Tashkent
Price Range: £25 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Orzu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chain of private hotels in Uzbekistan.Best budget hotels approved by Lonely Planet Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Orzu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing