We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”
Review of Grand Orzu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Orzu Hotel
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This is an inexpensive but unimpressive option for Tashkent. The service is only okay, the restaurant is a little better than okay, and the rooms are grim. The best part is that it is near the Caravan Cafe, which has great food. I wouldn't recommend staying here more than 2-3 days. The wireless internet is only in the restaurant which has a TV blasting constantly and the wireless service is spotty.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Grand Orzu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

The Grand Orzu was our first experience of Uzbekistan hotels. We were booked in for 3 nights. We arrived about 9:30am on 12th May after a long journey from the UK. The staff on the front desk were friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. The only downside was the fact that despite the room rate being quoted in US$s they would only take payment in Sum. So we had to immediately go out and exchange enough dollars on the black market to pay the hotel bill.
Our room was basic but spacious and clean with a good shower.
The breakfasts were adequate and waiting staff friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I've stayed at the hotel twice in my trip. Front desk staff quite unwelcoming. Restaurant staff was helpful. Food is ok. Rooms are old and the bathroom, even though "equipped", was awful - it gets flooded eveytime you take a shower. The terrace is lovely. There is a good pastry shop nearby called "Kolosok" (it's written in cirillic something like "KOAOCOK") - Ul. Usmana Nosira 44A.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Unlike some of the reviewers here, we found the staff surly and unwelcoming, which isn't what you need after an overnight flight. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast good, but unless you're prepared to taxi everywhere, the location isn't great - 20 mins walk from the nearest metro station - and the nearest bar (Chelsea arms) and restaurant (caravan) are both complete rip offs. Expect loud music from the latter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSoandSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I stayed at the Grand Orzu on three different occasions within the past month. As other reviewers have noted, the staff is helpful and the breakfast is good. The rooms, while basic, have comfortable beds. However, two of the three rooms I stayed in had water damage (mushy floors and peeling paint) from leaky shower stalls. While the hotel is less than 10 minutes by cab from the airport (fare = 6 USD), the hotel is 20 minutes by cab from the city center and the main pedestrian thoroughfare (Broadway). A tip - the Chelsea Arms, a faux-British pub located a block from the hotel is a ripoff ($10 for a glass of beer).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Great hotel. Close to the airport (10 minute cab ride, which should cost 3-5 US$) and close to the city center. Very reasonably priced. When checking-in, do not pay attention to the pricing on the wall and ask how much the room is and you´ll get a 10% or so discount. In any case, ask for a discount and youçll get it. The rooms are simple, but clean and have good airconditioning. Front desk staff speaks good English. The best thing about the hotel for us was the breakfast, which is AWESOME and is included in the room price. It really beats some 5-star hotels in the quality of food. Since cabs are dirt cheap (1-2 US$ to go anywhere in town) it is easy to get around. The hotel restaurant is also great for lunches/dinners - the food i9s great and the prices are right. If you want something more, go across the street to Caravan restaurant - double the price of the hotel, but great food and hooka (don´t forget to ask for a club discount card - itçss save you 15%).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed in Grand Orzu in Tashkent twice (2 days on our way to Bukhara and Khiva and one day on our way back). Very helpful/friendly staff (we were travelling with our 14 month daughter who fell ill and they helped finding a doctor). The room was simple, but clean, the bathroom tidy and the bedlinen fresh. Nice selection of food at the buffet breakfast (lots of fruits, etc.) In the evenings, you can dine on the veranda on those typical Uzbek daybed. But, there is a nice choyhona just around the corner (you will see a big billboard sign next to the hotel) serving excellent local dishes (e.g. lagman, plov, shashlyk) and at a better value. Internet in the lobby was fast enough, but more expensive than elsewhere in the city. Around the corner there is a foreign currency exchange point, which is only open until 4 pm (although almost everyone will offer to change your money at a black market rate, but be careful, it's still technically illegal to do so).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
2.3 mi away
Rovshan-Tashkent Hotel
Rovshan-Tashkent Hotel
#28 of 40 in Tashkent
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arien Plaza
Arien Plaza
#14 of 40 in Tashkent
30 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rohat
Hotel Rohat
#17 of 40 in Tashkent
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Safar Hotel
Safar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Tashkent
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#6 of 40 in Tashkent
264 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#4 of 40 in Tashkent
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Orzu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Orzu Hotel

Address: Makhmud Tarobi Street 27, Tashkent 100090, Uzbekistan
Region: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Tashkent
Price Range: £24 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Orzu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chain of private hotels in Uzbekistan.Best budget hotels approved by Lonely Planet Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Orzu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing