We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and good service from muzaffer”
Review of Laleli Gonen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Ranked #461 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

we stayed for 1 week.room size was small and toilet as well. however the hotel itself is clean and maintained daily.

staffs are friendly especially muzzafer,from the teras. we ate many times,he serves us in a prompt and friendly manner. the grilled salmon is at par! food from the teras was freshly made and cooked. we loved the food at the teras.

although the buffet that was offered for breakfast is limited and repeated daily. we have stayed for 7 days so we have the same breakfast for 1 week.

Naz is also amazing as she welcomes all our questions and requests. we felt that the room we have stayed is hot and Naz gave us solution and offered us ventilator. which we found a very good gesturesld and madw our stay comfortable.

Summary, Laleli Gonen Hotel made our Istanbul vacation worth remembering aside from the vast stunnung view and architectural culture we've seen.

"Hotel itself is just a structure but people who are working there makes the true definition of hospitality"

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dyan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four days, and it was a good experience:
- The rooms are medium but very clean (but stay away from room 407)
- There is a TV and a safe but no Kettle, no Nescafe or tea etc.. (we asked for a kettle and we got one)
- The beds are comfortable
- The shower is relaxing
- The breakfast is fair but the same every day
- The staff are amazing, cute and helpful.
- The location is SUPER! close to everything.

I recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristelleMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at Laleli Gonen Hotel 3 nights, and was super ok. The rooms clean ( in the bathroom the shower part was big ) , the breakfast various, staff very friendly, and the location in the centre of commercial area, just 3 tram station from Sultanahmet. And the price was decent. I recomanded this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank istanbul i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Laleli Gonen Hotel for 2 nights on the New Year's Eve.I have to say that the hotel is decent for Istanbul,the room was clean and so was the bathroom,the only inconvenience that we had was that our rooms didn't have any windows as they were at the last floor.The breakfast was ok but the main reason why we chose this hotel was its location:it is in the Laleli district very close to shops and the Grand Bazaar.Istanbul is a beautiful city that worths the visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank elenaciabuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed there at a stopover from Turkish airlines. I mean it was a complimentary transit hotel. And it was great. I dind't know that Turkish would give me a transit hotel, but this hotel was better than I expected. The breakfast was ok with many variety kind of foods. I really don't remember how much it cost to go to a popular attraction near the hotel, but I remember that was cheap. So with a cab you can know some places spending a few bucks. I recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breno A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Arrived at hotel late (as advised on original booking) and found that the hotel was overbooked! We got shoved into a nearby hotel (Eyfel) : awful! Was asked to return at breakfast next morning where excuse given was now that of a delayed flight. Shown to room which was ok. Bathroom tiny. My other half couldn't stand up in the bath/shower area. Breakfast was varied (for a Turkish one). No view outside window. Small fridge in room (good for water, juices etc). Coffee on terrace was very expensive compared to local restaurants.... Not much else to say really.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleopatraLuxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

LALELI GONEN HOTEL – ISTANBUL

A short 3.5 hour flight from Dubai to Istanbul and into the disorganised chaos that is Istanbul Immigration. It took a full 1.5 hrs to get through Immigration with people passing out in the stifling heat and little kids screaming as they had every right to do. We all felt like it. There were at least three flights in and the queue didn’t seem to get any shorter. We had done our Turkish visa online otherwise it would have been waiting in that queue before starting on the Immigration. There was a VIP lane that saw one person every five minutes and the official did nothing in the interim. Only half the booths were manned. Welcome to Istanbul!

Our pre-booked transport was waiting and then out into more chaos, Istanbul traffic. The driver told us it is a 10 minute drive but will probably take over an hour due to traffic. He was right. They are building a new port so dump trucks have priority on the inside lane between the airport and the city, once they have dumped their load they rejoin the traffic and block all the roundabouts as they are literally nose to tail. Finally we break clear and duck and weave around one way streets, when our driver tells us that our hotel is around the next corner. To our amazement he jumps out in the middle of the gridlocked one way traffic (actually it was two way, depending who gets there first) flings open the back doors and starts throwing cases out onto the road and with a cheery “Bye bye” jumps back in and drives on. Meanwhile we are standing in the middle of the road with our cases. Fortunately it is so gridlocked that nothing is moving and we weave our way between the cars and trucks and drag our cases up the cobble stoned roadway to our hotel.

Mr Grumpy was on reception, actually we did see him smile once in the seven nights we were there. Passports were taken and kept, not something I am happy about, but there it is. We are taken into the miniscule four person lift; once the alarm went off because it was overloaded, with the same four people on it. And out on the seventh floor. Initially I thought it was the broom closet however it was the room we had booked after reading Trip Advisor reviews. Single beds jammed in against the wall a narrow desk and chair, wardrobe with minimal coat hangers and a bathroom where your knees hit the bath when sitting on the toilet, and I’m short! The shower was “different”. It was a tiny fiberglass base at least 50cm off the floor and just enough room to stand up, sliding glass doors, sort of, and about three tons of silastic holding it all together. That wasn’t talking about the gaping crack on the outside from top to bottom. However as my ever tolerant wife said it was clean.
Did you want one hole or two in your towels? The sheets had holes in them as well, and all this for 90 Euros a night, breakfast included. But that’s another story.
There is a pool on the roof, which is unusual in Istanbul apart from the bigger chain hotels, and a counter to get snacks and drinks. The water is freezing despite Istanbul’s heat, but welcoming after a day’s sightseeing.
The first morning we went down for breakfast at 0700h as advertised, to find no lights on or anyone in attendance. When the waiter arrived and turned everything on there was breakfast, in the bain maries, and the hot dishes were cold. This was the standard no matter what time you came for breakfast. There was a large salad and fruit selection and the bread was excellent, bought in fresh each morning. However the staff were always surly and generally unhelpful.

We went on a two day tour to Gallipoli and left our luggage at the hotel. On our return our cases were right where we had left them and we were shown to our rooms, on a different floor.
Surprise, surprise! This room had been refurbished with a modern marble bathroom, opaque glass doors and rain shower. We did forget the toilet roll holder though, so the toilet roll had to sit on the floor of the wet room.
That was the good bit. The room was tiny. There were no windows, apart from a tiny one over the shower that only let in noise and smell from the restaurant outside. We pushed the two single beds together so there was enough room to get two cases onto the floor. There was a single wardrobe with a safe inside, a tiny bedside table and that was it. It did have a new aircon over the top of the bed, however as all aircons do it dripped condensation onto the bed.

If our room was tiny then our friends next door was miniscule. Again the refurbished bathroom, but the room was even smaller with just enough room between the beds to get onto the bed. It did have a large non-opening window that opened onto the lightwell, so there was some light, and noise. Strangely it had a dresser and double wardrobe considering the size of the room. It still had the old aircon that rattled and banged, and the grate was held on by sticky tape.

How any small hotel in Istanbul makes a profit I don’t know? Every street and alleyway in the area we were in had hotels jammed together. Laleli is a convenient area to base yourself in if you are staying in the older area. We were one block from the trams, which are very good and cheap. We were able to go to Sultanahmet and the more upmarket Beyoglu (on the Asian side) by tram, and we were within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar. There were any number of restaurants close by, all serving the same food, and mini marts and pharmacies all around the area.

Istanbul is a fascinating city, worth the visit for the history alone. It is slightly crazy, the traffic, driving and parking is unbelievable. We were generally disappointed in the food but the Efes beer is good.
Possibly the other hotels in the area are better but I chose the Laleli Gonen from the Trip Advisor reviews as being above the standard for the price, but unfortunately I wouldn’t recommend staying at the Laleli Gonen for your stay in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the refurbished bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#532 of 1,159 in Istanbul
110 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#760 of 1,159 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#210 of 1,159 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Maya Hotel
Maya Hotel
#469 of 1,159 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Pisa Hotel
Pisa Hotel
#721 of 1,159 in Istanbul
12 reviews
Delta Hotel Istanbul
#533 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laleli Gonen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laleli Gonen Hotel

Address: Fethibey Caddesi Zeynepkamil Sokak No: 24 | Laleli, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #461 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laleli Gonen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laleli Gonen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing