We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #144 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Amman Governorate, Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The location is excellent, the reception / check -in staff were excellent. Room was lovely, a bit on the small side but gorgeous. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.The breakfast was good, however The staff in the breakfast area tended to be on the noisy side, not considering that there were guests who really did not want to hear them having loud conversations amongst themselves at breakfast tome.Other than that it's a beautiful hotel & we really enjoyed our short stay. Unfortunately because of our short stay we didn't get the chance to visit the spa! I will for sure be staying there again on my next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanak76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. You made some excellent points within your review ,our location is just 2 minutes walking from Taksim Square.. Thank you for bringing to our attention the great service you had received from our front Office team and it will be my absolute pleasure to share the same with the team accordingly. As far as our restaurant/breakfast is concerned...We are reinvented ourselves and we will create a whole new experience in our restaurant. A new menu, new staff, new breakfast, new management and a complete redecorated and refurnished location!Therefore we do look forward to see you again , and certainly try our Spa services.Do expect enhanced levels of commitment on every visit.
Yours sincerely,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    195
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
99
244
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I was working in the Asia side of IST and for the weekend we decided to stay in the European side since it is more convenient to do truism. This hotel is in a real good location with easy access to metro and tram. It also has really nice views and awesome breakfast. But the best thing was the service! The concierge was really helpful and help us to make dinner reservations in one of the best clubs in IST, Reina. It would not have been because of him we would have not make it. Also the guys at the front door that call the taxis and take your luggage where very professional. Overall a really good experience that made even better this great city,

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vferrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service provided.
I have shared your valuable feedback with team members and we look forward seeing you back soon .
Kind Regards,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel contacted me to get a credit card number , just to be able to charge the first night . This was in conflict with our booking, as happened to be with Hotels.com , and I should pay after the visit. The hotel went along with it but it was against their principles. This is less good then Hotels.com tell the customer that this is working, out with this in their policies , and you should mention this to the chain.

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and the hotel is good . The staff is extremely helpful, breakfast was better than expected (there was also bacon , which is not common in Turkey) , the rooms were fresh and also the size of it . The bad thing was that our double room smelled of mold, or sewage, and even if this is common in Istanbul, I dont like that!
The room also had a lack of lights and evening , it was difficult to see properly .

The spa was also fresh but not perfect. Expensive treatments and may not be worth the money!

Overall, it seems to us that the hotel was a bit expensive and we did not feel that this is a special one in any way , and although the location is good and close to Taxim there are nicer hotels for that kind of money!

Room Tip: Dont take the 305, it smells bad....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, General Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Ebon,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your constructive criticism since it helps us to get better and to communicate with our guests after their departure.
We checked our records, your reservation on Hotels.com was a non-guaranteed booking so our colleagues from the reservation department contacted you in advance and asked for a credit card number in order to guarantee your reservation. We did not charge your credit card in advance, we simply approved the amount for the first night on your credit card. The payment for the room was completed at your departure and we cancelled the approved amount right away.
We should have explained this procedure more detailed to you, please accept our sincere apologies.
Thank you very much for the positive feedback, we are very proud of our staff – we select them carefully to make sure to be able to meet our guests’ expectations.
As far as our restaurant/breakfast is concerned...We just reinvented ourselves and created a whole new experience in our restaurant. A new menu, new staff, new breakfast, new management and a complete redecorated and refurnished location!
The smell in the room is absolutely not common in our property and we immediately fixed this issue, thank you very much for letting us know!
The concept/design of our hotel includes a indirect lighting, most people appreciate this concept but of course not everybody. We are currently working on alternatives to make sure every guest gets the right type of lighting.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our Spa, have you tried our treatments? Most people consider it to be a great value for the money. Our balinese therapists are trained professionals and definitely in a league of their own!
Again, thank you very much for your detailled review, we hope that you enjoyed yur stay here and that you had a safe trip back home.
Best,
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The service is very good, food is fine, but the only problem in this hotel is the room space. Rooms are small and some of them are below the street level. The room had bad smeel coming from the bathroom, but was fixed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to see your satisfation with service and breakfast in Gezi Hotel Bosphours. Also, we feel sorry for the problem you faced. I have communicated with related department so we won't face same issue again .Please note that we are planning a full renovation in the coming month that will include a fantastic restaurant and we encourage you to reach out to a member of our reservation team if you decide to book in the near future. We will try our best to make a future stay seamless.
Best Regards ,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is conveniently located around Taksim square, upon check-in, we were warmly welcomed by Florentina and her team, and the room was ready at 11am (a pleasant surprise).

When we got into the room, the bed set-up wasn't what we requested (we had requested a double bed instead of twin beds). We were explained the corner suites had the standard twin set-up, but they have a special tool to combine the beds for us. No biggie, all fixed in 20 mins.

The above are the positives.

Throughout our stay, there was no turn down service.
The shower door feels very flimsy and light, where water leaked through. It's a junior suite, but there's no tub.
The hairdryer (fixed and accessed from a drawer) is terrible, hardly does the job, makes uncomfortably loud noise.

On the second day, breakfast service was non-existent. The restaurant was 80% full, some service staff appeared to be grumpy over some issues, it took us 40 minutes to get the first cup of tea, I had to stack my plates as no one took the used ones away from the tiny table. There were other guests who arrived for 10-15 minutes before being seated.

In the room, the used coffee cup, wine glasses weren't replaced. Bathroom amenities replacement is a hit and miss, and we even found a bottle of brand new, sealed shampoo under the pillow!?

Our package included transfer back to the airport. When we tried to arrange this the night before departure, the front desk person who took my call didn't know anything about it. I offered to go downstairs and show him the physical print-out, and was told that I should speak to someone else the next morning, as the transfer "has not been put in the system".

On our last day the breakfast service admittedly returned back to normal, tea was promptly served and topped up etc. However no one ever says "good morning" to you from the restaurant, something I suppose I'm not used to.

Upon check out, we were told last minute that they made a mistake to our "pre-paid" booking, and they only charged us for the first night. We were confused, as the full amount was meant to be taken from my credit card at the time of booking. It took around 20 minutes to figure out the situation while the car was waiting outside for us.

Subsequently, we arrived 110 minutes prior to our departure at the airport. We were told our flight was overbooked and because we "arrived quite late" to the check-in counter, we were bumped off to another flight and had to wait 6 extra hours at the airport.

I have tried to keep this review as fact based as possible. In summary, the whole experience wasn't awful, but definitely left a bitter taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Plu81,

First and foremost, thank you very much for your detailed review.
We really appreciate any type of feedback that helps us to improve
our service level and make adjustments if necessary.
We discussed your review in serveral management meetings with our
departmentheads to analyze what exactly went wrong and why.
We are happy to hear that you appreciated Mrs. Florentinas service and the
flexibility at check in. We checked the reservation records and we unfortunately didnt receive
the request for two seperate beds prior to your arrival.
We are happy to hear that our staff was able to solve the issue immediately.

We decided to stop offering turndown service due to some misunderstandings in the past. We
Worked hard to find a satisfying solution for all of our guests and we are very happy to announce
that we will offer turndown service again in the near future.
Thank you very much for your comments regarding the maintenance of your room, we fixed the mentioned details immediately. Sites like tripadvisor are helping us to detect problems and to be able to solve those issues easily.
Again, thank you very much.

We are currently “reinventing” our entire service/restaurant outlet…new ideas – new management - new staff and a new atmosphere. Our new Restaurant/Lounge will open this spring, we would be more than proud and thankfulif we would have the chance to show you the new outlet as soon as we finshed the project. It will be a outstanding location for excellent service and good food. We would be grateful if you would contact us the next time you plan a
trip to the Bosphorus and we are sure the new and improved Gezi Hotel Bosphorus will exceed your expectations.

As far as the transfer is concerned, looking for explanations and reasons would be completely inappropriate, please accept our sincere apologies - from our staff, our management and the entire Gezi Hotel Bosphorus family.

Our Front Office Manager arranged a “emergency meeting” to discuss your review and to find out what went wrong.
The mistakes by our Reception staff are inexcusable and we are deeply ashamed to hear that you were bumped off to another flight. We hope that you stil had a safe trip back home and that you are reading these lines relaxed in the comfort of your own home.

We are very thankful for your review as it helped us to point out some of our weaknesses and it helped us to improve as a team - constructive criticism is something we use to improve and progess.

Best regards to Auckland

General Management
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here after flying from Rome to spend New Years in Istanbul. The location is excellent - situated right infront of the Gezi Park and Taksim Square is a few steps forward. The rooms were beautiful of couse; it being a member of Design Hotel and all. We chose the room with the park view and it was worth the price. The staff were alright, nothing special. The staff serving breakfast however weren't as friendly but that didn't really matter I suppose. Nevertheless, it was a good experience.

*For those who are travelling with family like I did, make sure you specifically book for a connecting room beforehand; as a precaution.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linggie_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the hague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had a great stay in this design hotel! If you like the smaller hotels with more personal attention, then this is a good place. The location is almost Taksim without the razzle-dazzle of the centre, the staff is 'at your service' without overdoing it, the design of the hotel is not over the top, the materials and details are shipshape and of quality, the spa/wellness/fitness is very complete for a hotel of this size (ask Sehriban for hamam!) and the breakfast has lots to choose in from 'east' and 'west'. In short; a definite recommendation!

Room Tip: There is a broad varieties in rooms, obvious the higher the better the view of the Bosphorus. The co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petterels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,
We appreciate the comment you shared and we are very pleased to hear you found the hotel a good value.We are already looking forward to your 2nd visit :)
Best Regards,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#98 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,208 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#103 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,736 reviews
Besiktas
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
#237 of 1,141 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,003 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#78 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gezi Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Property: Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gezi Hotel Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Taksim Square, right in the heart of Istanbul. Just steps away from the glamorous Bosphorus, Historic old town, shopping and business centers. We are one of the few certified Boutique hotels in Istanbul and a proud member of the DESIGN HOTELS CHAIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gezi Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gezi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing