We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and friendly attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #144 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and friendly attentive staff”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for six nights and thoroughly looked forward to returning to my room every evening. The room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely window seat that trapped the afternoon sun. The breakfast was generous with a wide variety of foods on offer.

The bed was very comfortable and there were many English channels available on the tv. The staff were also on hand to answer any questions and to welcoming you through the door at whatever time of day you would return. I got a lot of tips from the staff on the best way to see Istanbul and the surrounding areas.

The location of the hotel is Taksim square which is a world away from the Sultanahmet area and many of the tourist traps. There is a great shopping street with loads of restaurants and bars to suit every budget. Look out for Beyoglu chocolate shop, who make the most amazing chocolate bars stuffed with nuts, my favourite was the white chocolate with pistachios.

Local transport makes it easy to get around Istanbul, the funicular links with the tram which runs to all the places in Istanbul that you will want to see. The cost of the trams and funicular is very reasonable and you just buy tokens as you need them at the tram stops. There are many places to explore around Taksim also and travelling by foot is also recommended.

Lastly the only negative point I would raise is that Turkey is still very much a smokers paradise and I noticed cigarette smoke infiltrating my hotel room on a couple of occasions. Apart from that I had a wonderful day and would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking the park, although I note that other travellers got a view of the Bos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikinoo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gezi_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear nikinoo9,

thank you very much for the very generous and detailed review.
I am very happy to her that you had a great time here
and that you had the chance to get to know Istanbul!

I have to apologize about the smoking issue, we are a non-smoking property
but we allow our guests to smoke on the patios and balconies; please accept
my sincere apologies.

Again, I really appreciate the many details in your review, I am sure that
they will help other travellers when they are looking for a place to stay in Istanbul!


All the best from me and the Gezi family
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    195
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
99
244
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location close to Taksim square and isitikal, which is bustling with life until 11 pm. Quiet location. Paid for a bosphorous view but this was limited as it was a lower floor, breakfast which was included was outstanding with hot and cold Buffett of Western and Turkish delights, Room was very modern with great bathroom and excellent shower.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heretoexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gezi_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Heretoexperience,

we are very glad that you were "here to experience Istanbul",
and its great that you enjoyed your stay and to location of
our property.

I understand your concern about the limited view on the fifth floor,
I took a note and I will make sure that you're going to get a room on the
10th or 11th floor during your next stay!

Again, thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the
time to review our facilities and services.

All the best from Taksim Square

Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Room was clean, but very small, which is okay in Istanbul, you don't spend that much time in the room. They did not perform turndown service and refresh towels, so one morning I was using same towel from previous evening that I had already used. Spa facilities were nice, but again service was lacking. Breakfast was included and was a nice selection, but the staff were not very attentive and had to ask on several occasions for more coffee or tea, because they were not checking. Also, staff needs to be better informed of local restaurants. They did help me make reservations, which was great. However, when I asked about brunch at Zuma on Sunday the hotel told me there was not one, which is correct, but did not tell me the restaurant opened at 1pm for lunch. We found this out by going by the restaurant. The location is great for site seeing and getting to and from places. I like this place, but it could be so much better.

Room Tip: We had corner room with beautiful view of Bosphorus, but room is still small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gezi_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our services on tripadvisor.com.

We don't offer turndown service as a standard but we are happy to refresh rooms and
the amenities on request. Your room attendant left a note with his/her phone number in
your room after cleaning it, he/she is responsible for your room during your stay, please
accept our sincere apologies, it seems like we should have explained our services a little bit better.

We discussed your review with both, our Spa and the Restaurant manager, thank you very much for the detailed informtion.
Offering great service is something we take very serious here at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus and we are always happy to find room for improvement.

There might have been a misunderstanding about your request for a Brunch-reservation at Zuma, we are pleased to hear that you were happy to enjoy lunch there after all.

Reviews like yours help us to get “much better” every single day, we really appreciate your feedback and I hope that you will give us another shot they next time you visit Istanbul!

Best regards from the Bosphorus

Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilcompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Rae and Mel

Stunning hotel in a great location. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had a room on the second from top floor and the view from our balcony over the Bosphorous was brilliant. The restaurant in the hotel is charming and the quality of the food is first class. The food was so good we ate there three out of our four nights. This brilliant hotel made our first trip to Istanbul a most memorable experience.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have better views, try to get a room overlooking the Bosphorous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gezi_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Rae and Mel,

thank you very much on behalf of the the entire Gezi Family!
It was such a pleasure to have you here, our Restaurant Manager
Vittorio sends his regards and he would like to let you know that
he appreciates you generous review.

We have our very own definition of service and hospitality and we are
very happy to hear/read that our guests appreciate it!

Please make sure to visit Istanbul again, we will be waiting for you!


Best

Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

In an excellent location to enjoy Istanbul from within its heart, Gezi Hotel is situated so that you are in the middle of everything in Istanbul, the crowd, night life a very lovely park... Spent 3 nights in Gezi Hotel, in a room with a sea view. Though the room was way different than what I had seen from the pics gallery and smaller, it still had the magnificent Bosporus view. If you really want to enjoy the Bosporus view from your room, make sure you are not getting of the corner rooms. Restaurant and the bar look quite humble in plain sight but they offer exquisite cuisine thanks to their Italian manager and very good personnel. They offer very nice Italian food and have a nice wine list. Overall, this is one of the best hotels to enjoy Istanbul from within its heart with a very good and hospitable personnel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basbug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gezi_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Basbug,

thank you very much for sharing your advice and experiences with other travellers
here on tripadvisor, your review draws a pretty good picture of our hotel, location and staff and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the view, the location and the food.

We are trying to communicate the size and equipment of our rooms as good as possible, the pictures of our 32sqm corner rooms are up to date on both, our homepage and third party websites. Honesty and good communication are very important to us and we want to make sure everybody gets the right impression of our property even before he/she arrives.
I am very sorry to hear that you had another impression when you booked the room, however it seems like you really enjoyed your stay and your room. That is the most important thing for us here at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus and we are proud to say that pretty much all of our guests share your opinion.

Please make sure to contact me directly the next time around, we have various other room categories and it would be my please to offer you a free upgrade during your next stay!

All the best

Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I spend 3 nights in Gezi Hotel , and it was one of the most beautiful experience. I felt like home and this is because of the great staff hotel has. We had a Bosphorus view room, we enjoyed every evening watching from our bed .The concierge recommended us only great places ,thank you very much .We had dinner 2 times in Fiamma, their restaurant and we enjoyed a lot.We will be back !Greetings from Greece ,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gezi_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Luis,

I always try to respond as detailed as possible but a simple "Thank you very much" should be enough in this case, we really appreciate your kind review!

Greetings to Crete, we'll be waiting for you!!!

Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I liked this hotel , its very cosy and friendly.
The service is top.
Rooms are well set up and clean.
Staff treat you as friend not guest.
Garden rooms are also very nice where you can enjoy the land scape of the hotel if you don't mind not having the view.

Room Tip: Corner suite was very nice where you can catch the Gezi Park and the Bosphorus view. Ask for higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMAL.A. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Jamal A.,
It is wonderful to know what a great stay you had! We’re flattered by your comments and we will use them as encouragement in our ongoing quest for continuous improvement.
Hope to see you soon !
Best Regards ,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#97 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,208 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#102 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,736 reviews
Besiktas
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
#235 of 1,141 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,003 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gezi Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Property: Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gezi Hotel Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Taksim Square, right in the heart of Istanbul. Just steps away from the glamorous Bosphorus, Historic old town, shopping and business centers. We are one of the few certified Boutique hotels in Istanbul and a proud member of the DESIGN HOTELS CHAIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gezi Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gezi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing