We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #136 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I couldn't quite make up my mind about this hotel. On one side, it has a great location and amazing views, and the room size is also good with modern furniture and great amenities, and I have to say very impressive windows and decor in general. On the other, not two rooms were alike. I stayed there on a business trip with 14 people, so we had a total of 15 rooms. Only the rooms from the 5th floor up have a view. the rest only overlook a small garden and a wall. Some rooms have sofas, others don't. Some have balconies, others don't. Some are much smaller than others. We're talking about regular rooms at the same price.
What the rooms were lacking was coffee/tea facilities. They're happy to bring hot water to your room if you ask for some, but you don't get your own kettle. Since this is a priority for me, I bought one. Also the internet. Every time you let your pc hibernate or put your phone down, you had to log on again! That was such a nuisance, and I wish the hotel would find a better way to manage their wi-fi.
The restaurant was good. breakfast without much variety, lunch and dinner sometimes great sometimes just fine.
The staff I can't praise enough. Everyone was helpful and friendly. They made all the difference.
The hotel is good, but for the price I would expect better. I would stay there again if only for the views and great service.

Room Tip: From the 5h floor up if you care for the view. Rooms 504 & 803 were very nice, so choose somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear DinaWorld,

Thank you for staying with us and for highlighting the minor irritations of your stay.All our rooms in Gezi Hotel are designed by the very famous Turkish architect Sinan Kafadar and amenities provided have been chosen very carefully to cater the satisfaction of each guest. We're glad you noticed the quality .

Gezi Hotel derives its name from its location - Gezi Park which is just 1 minute walking from Taksim Square and has all the advantages of being located in the heart of the city.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the wifi connectivity in the rooms and we are pleased to let you know that we are working on it.
Regarding the breakfast, we are going through a phase of improvement bringing in more varieties , which you shall definitely notice in your next visit.And please next time you come contact me , and i will be happy to make sure you have a kettle into your room . We do have kettle for our guests , but its on request, i wish you would ask at the reception for one . Next time :) .
Thank you for your review and I shall pass on your kind words to our staff - they will be pleased that their efforts are noticed.

We look forward to seeing you again .
Kind regards ,
Florentina Vladeanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed there for five nights. The hotel is really chic, the room is well appointed and offers a breathtaking view of the Bosphorus and the Bridge. The staff are really friendly and speak good English. However, the breakfast buffet could really use some improvement. Aside from the fact that the choices are quite limited. Items that are commonly offered in a five star hotel breakfast can only be served for an extra charge, e.g. omlet. Choices can be enriched by adding luxury items such as smoked salmon. Though we enjoyed our stay there very much, I think we will be trying a different hotel next time (many offer a similar view) just because breakfast is an important component in any vacation. Also, do not book any sightseeing trips with the hotel. We paid 90 EUR per person for a trip to Bursa, and then the next day we saw agents for the same company selling tickets for that same trip for only 60 USD just a few steps away in Taksim.

Room Tip: Choose a corner deluxe room, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Noha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi there Noha K ,
Thank you very much for your very detailed comment about our service and hotel.
We are delighted to know that overall, you had a good time staying with us. We are constantly training the staff and we are pleased to hear you found our service welcoming and helpful.
Apart this ,please know that we have addressed your comments regarding the breakfast variety to our Food & Beverage department Management.
Regarding the Bursa Tour , since you mentioned it was the same agency you booked with , we called them right after after you mentioned us .The agency can not sell same tour with a lower price to anywhere else , because we have confidential contract for best available rates .
I personally went two days in a row around Taksim to check , but i could only find transfers to Bursa- not a full day tour with 50 Euro .We do offer transfers to Bursa at 40 Euro as well.
Please next time you come to Istanbul write me and i will take care of you personally .
Thank you again for staying at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus !
All best ,
Florentina Vladeanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were a large family staying in 5 rooms, so I can give you a collective experience of our stay;
Pros:
Great Location, comfortable rooms with beautiful views of the bosphorus, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons:
Sky suites: we had booked 2 sky suites because we wanted to spoil ourselves and have the best rooms for this vacation. They are very luxuriously finished but only 2 out of the 3 have nice views. So if you book a sky suit make sure you specify #3 or #4 because #2 does not face the bosphorus! We also booked the bosphorus suite which is great value compared to the sky suite, it's 2 connecting rooms so you have 2 bathrooms.
Back-up electricity generators: We had a very bad experience when it rained very hard one day, the entire hotel was cut off from electricity for hours. We can understand that it was out of the hotels hands but usually hotels have back up generators for these situations, so I'm not sure why that happened. The hotel deducted one nights stay from one of our rooms, we appreciate the gesture but expected better customer service.
Some small issues; the water in the bathroom was sometimes yellow and smelled like dirt. They forgot to replace the drinking water sometimes. They never replaced the nespresso coffee capsules and coffee cups.
overall we had a comfortable stay and probably would stay there again.

Room Tip: I recommend the Bosphorus suite; good size, great view with balcony, 2 bathrooms! #1104
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gezi_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Shawana80,

thank you very much for your detailed review and for staying with us.
We all remember your group very well and we hope that you had a safe
trip back home.

Your room description speaks for itself, thank you very much. Just let me
add that the biggest SkySuite (#2) offers a great view over the Bosphorus
as well, the balcony in the living room allows a view to the
Bosphorus Bridge and all the way to Asia, the balcony in the bedroom
is facing downtown.

Our hotel actually has back-up generators, unfortunately our entire basement
was flooded during the tornado last week and we had to shut all generators down
in order to contain the damage. A specialist had to make sure that there was no
danger to our guests and staff before we were able to turn our back-up generators
on. We decided not to charge you because we were not able to maintain our service
standard during this severe weather, I hope that this incident is not the main memory
of your stay here at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus.

Again, thank your very much for reviewing our services and sharing your experiences
with other travelers. We would love to have you again, please make sure to contact me
directly the next time you plan a trip to Istanbul. I'll be more than happy to find some
ways to make your next stay extra-memorable!

All the best

Florentina Vladeanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The rooms were pretty well designed,with comfortable beds and a good shower also a great internet connection but it lacked in some aspects,it didnt have any tea or coffee makers in the room which was a bit disappointing.
About the staff i should say that they were incredible,very polite and kind with helpful suggestions,specificly the conceirges.
The breakfast was good but not perfect.the restaurants place was nice and the waiters and the waitresses were kind and helpful but as i said the breakfast itself wasnt flawless.
At the end i should say that gezi hotel is excellent mostly for the conceirges and where the hotel is located.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are better than the park view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank izadimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Izadimd,
Many thanks for your kind words with regard to your recent stay with us .It is a great compliment for us to read that you were satisfied with our services and please rest assured that I will share your comments with my team .
We have coffee/tea makers in the suites ,indeed we do not have in the other category rooms but we can deliver a coffee maker /kettle on request .Keep in mind for your next stay with us.I hope to see you and your family soon and that we can exceed ALL your expectations!
All best ,
Florentina Vladeanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Outstanding services. Friendly and helpful front desk officers, they recommend where to go and how and they have answers to all my questions in Istanbul. Adorable Bosphorus view, light light rooms to calm down after long day. One of the best things to me was offering room sohoor any time i want instead of breakfast as i went there during ramadan, the hotel is near to most attractions in Istanbul.

Room Tip: - Bosphorus view rooms are highly recommended - use the hotel provided tour packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Alaa A,
One more time congratulations for your marriage and thank you for sharing your review with us . We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team was able to accommodate you in any way possible. We hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again very soon .
Many thanks again .Best wishes ,
Florentina Vladeanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very good rooms.comfortable beds and good air conditioning system.a bit of lack in tv channels.great staff and receptions.great conceirges with wonderful services and great advices.a good breakfast but not great.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank parinizadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice and pleasant stay in gezi hotel.the rooms were very good.pretty comfortable beds.great air conditioning system.although it lacked in some little points like veriaty of tv channels.the staff are very polite and helpful.we'v gotten great advices from the conceirges.it has a good breakfast by the way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank parinizadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Parinizadi,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay us and that you felt so comfortable. I hope you had a lot of time to explore the beautiful Istanbul . It would be my pleasure to welcome you back soon and should you have any questions or wishes, please just let me know.
All best,
Florentina Vladeanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#93 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,849 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#88 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,332 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gezi Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#61 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gezi Hotel Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus is a proud member of Design Hotels Group and Starwood SPG. A Green star, 67 room Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa. Located in the heart of city, just a few steps away from Taksim Square , sitting next to the peacefulgreens of the famous Gezi Park . The hotel is conveniently situated in the city center available for easy access to the city’s top facilities via walking distance, Istiklal Street, Nisantasi, Bosphorus, old city, art fairs and conventions centers just by walking. Its focuses on combination of luxury design, homey comfort and highly invidual service standards in a contemporary environment Gezi Hotel Bosphorus has been anIstanbul tradition and pin-point location for over half-a-century, re-built and re-opened in 2011, addressing guests from all over the world for both leisure and business purposes. Each room promises panoramic views from showers to the pillows. Passion for details and design combines with highly individualized service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gezi Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gezi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing