We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, but some warnings about the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Ranked #53 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed at the Regency Suites for 4 nights over the Eid holiday in September with 2 young children.

The hotel staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The room was spottlesly clean and had extra beds for both our children and the location is perfect for visiting the main sights of Istanbul.

However, a couple of warnings. First, a suite in Turkey doesn't mean multiple rooms, merely a single bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Secondly, the deluxe suites (I don't think they have a standard class, the alternative is an executive suite) offer a view of a brick wall just over a metre from the windows. Not that we were there to sit looking out the window, but you couldn't even tell if it was cloudy or sunny without craning your neck out the window.

Warning's out the way, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the hotel - just be aware what you're booking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ramses2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I recently returned from our first visit to Istanbul where we stayed at the Best Western Regency Suites. We are Gold Crown Club members because we have found during our travels in the United States and Europe that Best Western is usually best in value and service.

The Regency Suites Hotel is located in Sultanahmet, the old city of Istanbul. From the front desk and house keeping staff to the waiters and porters, all were exceptional and made a special effort to be pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. The hotel was extremely comfortable and inviting. It is in walking distance to the major sites such as the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The hotel's restaurant is also to be commended. We enjoyed our first dinner so much that we ate there for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaOakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Our first visit to Turkey was made especially memorable by our stay at the Regency Suites Hotel. The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff made it very special. It was difficult saying goodbye.

We intend to return next year and see everyone again...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We selected this hotel after extensive research on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The location is marvellous, just behind the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and Topkapi Palace - clearly Sultanahment is the place to stay if you intend to do 'cultural / historical Istanbul'. And public transport is excellent so you can quite easily get to 'hip / tendy Istanbul'.

More on the hotel - just 16 rooms meant room service was super quick. We had our 2 year old daughter in tow and staff were always very helpful - warm milk at any time was delivered with a smile! Breakfast was basic but good and the chef will make eggs on request. Found the turkish pastries cold and the juice diluted, though. The restaurant has an extensive menu, although we didn't really eat there, except for pasta for our daughter, which was nicely done.

Rooms were relatively spacious by European standards. We were upgraded to an Executive Suite (with jacuzzi) 404 and although ours was marginally smaller than some of the others, this was more than made up by the street view (as opposed to the ones at the rear which looked out onto someone's washing line).

The street - Akbiyik Cadessi is full of and eclectic mix of small hotels, hostels, restaurants and bars and has a festive atmosphere at most times - we went over the Eid break so it was even more vibrant!

Even if you book using the BW website, do call and ask the hotel directly for discounts - we got 10% off for paying cash.

All in all, a great place, and our thanks to the wonderful staff for making our stay really special and comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Before choosing to stay at the BW Premier Regency Suites I read lot of reviews on tripadvisor. And it was the best place I stayed at during my two weeks traveling around Istanbul...
The rooms are modestly appointed but have most everything you might need.Amazing breakfast,clean hotel,comfortable bed and excellent service.We got there at 6 am and they let us check in to our room before the regular check in time. We will definitely recommend our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorwhiteboord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at the Best Western Regency Premier Suites for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. We made arrangements for the hotel to have a driver available at the airport and he was waiting for us as we departed the terminal. We were greeted by Alex who explained all of the hotel's facilities and offered information on private tours, etc. We had a smallish room on the top floor with a very large, amazing balcony that overlooked the blue mosque which was spectacular at night. The rrom was air conditioned and very clean and the bath had a jacuzzi tub.

The rate included breakfast which was very substantial-a typical Ottoman buffet with meats, cheeses, fruit and vegetables in addition to an American breakfast with cooked to order eggs, omelettes, juice, coffee and pastries. We loved the location-an easy walk from all the sights and on a quaint street that had numerous restaurants. We had dinner on the rooftop terrace the night we arrived and had it all to ourselves. The food and service were wonderful and we were disappointed when it rained the next evening. Our room was directly under the rooftop terrace and had a beautiful view and there was even another terrace for relaxing right outside our door.

Everyone at the hotel was warm and friendly and willing to do anything to make the stay most comfortable-they even gave us umbrellas to use when it rained! A lovely intimate hotel with a fantastic staff-everything we wanted!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colgalEnglewoodCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We chose this wonderful hotel due to reports we read on trip advisor. Location is brillant, in a quieter area of Istanbul. Food outlets virtually next door and all around it. So many to chose from, seafood and traditional Turkish food.

Close to all attractions where the longest walk is to the spice market which takes about 30 minutes by foot.

Being so close to the numerous mosques, you are surrounded by the pray sessions that boom over the whole area starting at 5 am. Whilst some may be woken by this, I found it to be a cultural experience.

The staff are so warm and helpful, always looking at your body language to check if you are happy. My wife fell ill and they wanted to help her as much as they could, always asking me if she is OK. Even suggesting a chemist location and writing in Turkish words what we needed to buy.

They were extremely helpful in arranging various restaurants and transportation. Even gave me a couple beers on the house. They quickly warmed to you if you asked about their family and culture. Very proud of their family upbringing.

Room size is large. We had unit 301 which came with a king sized bed with windows facing the street. The color and atmosphere of locals celebrating their "ramadaz" was an absolute highlight.

Don't bother staying anywhere else, perfect location, staff, rooms and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radaconsultants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#145 of 1,163 in Istanbul
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
254 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No. 46, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £67 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Istanbul Art De Vivre!Located at he heart of Istanbul between Europe and Asia, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa commands an extensive view of a relatively small area that has nonetheless witnessed 2000 years of the history of some of the richest civilisations humanity has ever known: Ancient, Greece the Roman Empire, The Byzantine Empire and the Ottoman Empire!It is only a few steps from the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophie and Topkapi Palace. The hotel, a lovely mansion built in 1905, is a listed historic monument today. The elegance of its origin is still amply visible in the neo-classical moulding on the facade and the solid wood or beige Bursa granite floors. Numerous details and features in the house bear witness to a world of such sophistication that its sultans are portrayed holding a flower.The hotel's rugs, like the motifs on the walls, seem to have stepped straight out of the Topkapi Palace.As century old traditions require, the hammam of the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa features a suite of three rooms with different functions: hot room, warm room and cool room.The hotel is equally dedicated to maintaining state-of-the-art international hotel standards, which rather than detracting from its historic past, leave its guests free to savour and appreciate this heritage.In this way, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa distils the quintessence of Istanbul's distinctive lifestyle, particularly from its 16 suites:the dome of the Blue Mosque surrounded by six slender minarets, the monotonous chant of the muezzin, the enchanting hush that reigns over the city in the morning, the sweetly scented Topkapi Park, the view of Bosphorous or the Marmara Sea on which the Prince's Islands seem almost to float or its mouth-watering exotic cuisine, etc. The justly dubbed 'Golden Horn', which the hotel overlooks, sumptuously sums up the inexhaustible wealth of this matchless location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Regency Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Premier Regency Suites And Spa
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing