We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Ranked #29 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2010

It is a great place to stay in Istanbul' not too big' great facilities, it has its own private Hammam !!! The staff is terrific, professional, very pleasant and caring. my room was spacious clean and well kept. The food is great, breakfast delicious great variety of Turkish delights, very generous. it is in the middle of the old part of the city, wonderful to sit on the roof with great view over looking the sea and the blue mosque. definitely a great value for your money !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hananir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

We spent the second half of our week in Istanbul in this hotel. Much better than the first (Richmod Hotel - Iskitlal Cad) and in a great location enabling us easy access to all parts of Istanbul of interest - including over the Golden Horn in Beyoglu and Galatasaray (by tram).
Room was large and well appointed and staff very friendly - particularly with our young daughter (4 yo). Lots of places to eat and drink nearby - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowE3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

This Hotel is in the best location on a quaint cobblestone street surrounded by cafes and shops!!! All the local attractions are a very short walk and the people are more than friendly!!! The Hotel is small and personable and they do everything to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are large and very comfortable :) ENJOY!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBontje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Our first experience on arriving was being met by really friendly and helpful staff who offered us a cup of Turkish tea or coffee -- this excellent service continued throughout our stay. The hotel is immaculate and well maintained. Having exclusive use of Turkish Hamam was wonderful. The hotel is in a superb location, right between the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Topkapi Palace, with views from the roof terrace across the Sea of Marmara. It was quite early in the season, with somewhat chilly evenings, but the staff were more than happy to accommodate us on the roof terrace restaurant with good food and warm blankets!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisWoottonBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor website reviews (I've never done that before). Certainly wasn't disappointed. The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to all the Old town sights. Very helpful and friendly staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

The hotel is in a lively street with an excellent range of eateries and an ideal location for all the main sites with easy access to all ares of Istanbul and a short, inexpensive taxi ride across to the Asian area. The hotel is beautifuuly furnished to a high standard with the added bonus of their own Turkish baths, sauna and exercise facilities which were an added luxury at the end of a busy day in the city. Friendly helpful staff who consider all your needs and some you hadn't thought of made our stay especially memorable. Not being able to fly out due to the ash from Iceland the staff made us happy to stay through their consideration and kindness. This is the only place to stay in Instanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sister3uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

HAving read various reviews we had set the bar high. Overall, the hotel passed the test.

On the positive side: Very spacious rooms, with all the amenities that give a touch of luxury, with flat screen, satellite tv's and wooden floors, really nice bathrooms, which add to the upscale feeling. Very clean property, the best location possible for people that want to go sightseeing, close to public transportation (which we found very convenient). The staff was really friendly, although most people do not understand or speak good English. Still that was not a problem, as there was another staff member that did. Price was really good, if you compare against likes. Nice touch: free use of really fast internet from a laptop next to the reception. I think there was free wifi in the rooms, too, but did not need it and am not sure.

On the less positive side: this street can sometimes be very noisy. On Saturday evening between 9:30 and 11:30 there was a lot of noise coming from the street. We had our windows open but even when we closed them we could easily hear the noise. On the same evening, there was a 30min disturbence from the lobby of the hotel from people that had gathered there and were just speaking loud (no yelling), which for us being on the first floor could be heard as if the noise were coming just outside of our room door. This never happened again and may be it is not so often as the hotel is really small with only a handful of rooms. Speaking about size, the breakfast area was really small without this being necessarily a problem, but it is not suitable for people that lfancy taking breakfast in 1-1/2 hrs in order to relax. Last 2 things that I really found annoying:

1. The satellite english speaking channels (and at least half of the others) never worked while we were there. Despite the fact the staff tried to correct the problem (they changed sat receiver) the problem persisted. The excuse (and the message on ther screen) was there was no signal. At the same time, though, every morning at the break fast area BBC was playing spotlessly! When I asked, they told me it was a different satellite receiver from the one for the rooms! This till does not explain why there was no signal (as they claimed).

2. We asked the staff a few times about tips for eating out. Their only recommendations were those for which they apprently receive retrocessions - they would routinely pull a brochure from the stand on the reception desk and insist that was a very good choice. When we asked for a recommendation in the surrounding area of Sultanahmet during the first day (as we were too tired to walk for long) their only tip was the restaurant Best Western Acropol just scross the street! Mind you, there are probably 25-30 restaurants we counted during our stay in a radius of just 200-300 m away and at least 5 up to 50 (yes, fifty) meters from our hotel.


Overall: Do go to this hotel, it is really a nice property especially for those that dislike the big properties. Just keep in mind to check about sat tv and don't ask the hotel staff for dining tips, who otherwise (don't get me wrong) were really polite.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panagiotis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#132 of 1,160 in Istanbul
941 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Grand Bazaar
FER Hotel
FER Hotel
#12 of 1,160 in Istanbul
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No. 46, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#21 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £76 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Istanbul Art De Vivre!Located at he heart of Istanbul between Europe and Asia, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa commands an extensive view of a relatively small area that has nonetheless witnessed 2000 years of the history of some of the richest civilisations humanity has ever known: Ancient, Greece the Roman Empire, The Byzantine Empire and the Ottoman Empire!It is only a few steps from the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophie and Topkapi Palace. The hotel, a lovely mansion built in 1905, is a listed historic monument today. The elegance of its origin is still amply visible in the neo-classical moulding on the facade and the solid wood or beige Bursa granite floors. Numerous details and features in the house bear witness to a world of such sophistication that its sultans are portrayed holding a flower.The hotel's rugs, like the motifs on the walls, seem to have stepped straight out of the Topkapi Palace.As century old traditions require, the hammam of the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa features a suite of three rooms with different functions: hot room, warm room and cool room.The hotel is equally dedicated to maintaining state-of-the-art international hotel standards, which rather than detracting from its historic past, leave its guests free to savour and appreciate this heritage.In this way, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa distils the quintessence of Istanbul's distinctive lifestyle, particularly from its 16 suites:the dome of the Blue Mosque surrounded by six slender minarets, the monotonous chant of the muezzin, the enchanting hush that reigns over the city in the morning, the sweetly scented Topkapi Park, the view of Bosphorous or the Marmara Sea on which the Prince's Islands seem almost to float or its mouth-watering exotic cuisine, etc. The justly dubbed 'Golden Horn', which the hotel overlooks, sumptuously sums up the inexhaustible wealth of this matchless location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Regency Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Premier Regency Suites And Spa
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing