We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, friendly hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Ranked #30 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Don't know why the advertised room price is so high on trip advisor?! I stayed at this hotel with my mother as we came to Istanbul to visit my sister and her husband who are on a motorbike tour trip. Unfortunately my sister had an accident (a crazy taxi drove into her) so we were there to cheer her up while she recovered. The hotel was down the road from their hostel so we were able to add some luxury to their lives for a few days. The staff here were so welcoming and friendly we immediately felt at home. After (all four of us) dining in their restaurant on the first night we decided to come back for our second night as didn't want to risk another place not being so nice. We dined on the roof terrace (not to be missed - great atmosphere and wonderful views). The hotel is quite small which gives it that personal touch, the main thing which made it stand out were the great staff here. Especially (I think his name was) Al - thanks for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMaryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

This small boutique hotel was a complete delight - from our very early check in - arrived from an overnight flight at 6.30am and were offered a shower, breakfast and baggage storage while our room was being readied. The location in superb - walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Palace, Grand Bazaar and to many lovely little restaurants. The room was well appointed and the hotel charming. What really stands out though was the wonderful attitude and helpfulness of the staff. They made us feel so welcome. On reading the visitors book I realised that this was not just our experience but everyone else's as well. I highly recommend this hotel - it was a real find in a big city with many hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyjo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We just returned from a wonderful 10-day trip to Turkey, and stayed at some wonderful hotels everywhere. But the best hotel for us was the Best Western Premier Regency Suites, and that's high praise since we really enjoyed the other hotels we stayed at. We stayed here for 4 nights. The location is fabulous - it's on Akbiyik Caddesi, which is a street full of cafes, lovely restaurants offering street-side tables in summer, and boutique hotels. It's a five minute walk to Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque, seven minutes to the Topkapi Saray, and just round the corner from the Arasta Bazar, which is a smaller, less frenzied, and less confusing version of the Grand Bazar, and no pressure from any of the shopkeepers. The waterfront is five minutes away by cab, and Taksim about 20 minutes away. The hotel is small - 16 rooms - but has all the conveniences you would expect, like an elevator, ground floor restaurant serving meals all day long, and even its own hammam and spa! The rooms are great - we had three rooms (401, 403 and 404) on the fourth floor - and are huge, particularly by Istanbul standards. The fittings and furnishings are of very high quality - super comfortable beds, sofas and sitting area, two desks, LCD TV mounted on the wall, room safe, minibar, etc. Perfect to come home to after a long day's sightseeing! Free wi-fi was a bonus, also there is a laptop guests can use, plus a printer downstairs. There's a beautiful rooftop on the fifth floor with views of the Marmara Sea on one side and the Blue Mosque on the other. By the way, some other reviewers had commented on the noise from the call to prayer. Our rooms faced the street, and we had no noise issues at all - the windows are double glazed, and the most we heard was a light murmur one night. Considering it's such a lively street, it was amazingly quiet. The hotel staff was so kind and caring - any requests we had were attended to promptly. The girl at the front desk even told us not to exchange money at the hotel as we could get a better rate outside! Whenever we took a taxi, they would come outside and give the address to the driver in Turkish, and one time when we were taking a cab back to the hotel and the driver was trying to overcharge us when we reached, she actually came outside and yelled at him, and voila! that was the end of his overcharging attempts! Breakfast every day was very good - huge selection of fruits, yogurt, cheeses and eggs cooked to order. Overall, we felt it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at, and can highly recommend it. We are planning to return to Turkey next year, and will stay here again for sure. For large, well appointed rooms, personalized service and great location, you can't do any better!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBearNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Located close to all the main attractions in Sultanahmet and in a street with dozens of restaurants close by, this is a perfect place to stay in Istanbul. Our rooms, were fairly large, clean and had all the small extras you would expect. Breakfast can be taken inside or out, is self service from a good selection, with a cooked dish served to your table with a smile. Dinner can be taken on the rooftop terrace with a great view of the sea. The staff were always polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Look out for Pinar Unal on the reception desk who was exceptional. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Everyone talks about how wonderful Istanbul is, but the most wonderful suprise is how friendly and helpful the people are -- no more so than the Best Western Regency Suites in Sultanhamet. Beyond the well decorated rooms and public spaces (all fastidiously tidy), the staff couldn't have done more to try and make things as accessible as possible for my mother who walks with a cane. While I love a big, deep bath tub/shower such was difficult for my mother to use given her limited range of mobility (the baths do have wall handles, but anyone who has mobility issues would still likely need help getting in an out of the tub). The hotel staff quickly went to work reconfiguring the tub/shower, and also looked after her at the hotel spa/Turkish bath as if she was a grand Ottoman dowager. In a lively neighborhood better known for hostels and basic hotels, the intimate Regency Suites stands out as a small jewel of a hotel where the staff is warm and friendly and genuinely want to do as much as possible for their guests.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urbstudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We have just spent 4 days in Istanbul and have had an amazing time which has been enhanced by our stay at the Best Western. The staff were courteous, helpful and very pleasant. The hotel was spotless and the room we had was comfortable with all the amenities you would need. We had sole use of the sauna and turkish bath which was free and extremely relaxing. Breakfast was good - different types of tea/meats/cheeses and pastries plus lots of fresh fruit and eggs cooked to order. We had an excellent evening meal on the sunroof restaurant which had breathtaking views of the Blue Mosque and Agia Sophia. The hotel is in an ideal situation with easy access to the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Marmara seafront etc. We came to Istanbul so we could experience a different culture and was quite disappointed when we weren't woken up by the call to prayer ! Some of the other hotels around may be grander and bigger but they would have to go a long way to compete with the memorable experience this hotel has given us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillhopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Exactly as the title, this hotel was very over priced for what it was.

The staff were lovely but you literally could not swing a cat in this hotel it was one of the most cramped places I have ever stayed at.

The hotels pictures are thoroughly mis leading, imagine a very narrow tiny house, that what this hotel is. everything is cramped and squashed from the moment you get in.

I left in the end and stayed at the 4 seasons, which although is double the price, you get some breathing space.

Location of this hotel wasnt bad, very close to all the main attractions in Sultanahmet, and the staff were very nice.

In terms of the food, it was awful, at breakfast the juice was all from diluted concentrates, and there was a very limited range of food. Lots of the food I had for some reason had hairs in it.

There was no ambience for the price you paid, it was just all squashed up cramped living, at breakfast every time someone moved their chair would grind against the floor and make the worst noises.

I would not ever expect to pay this kind of money for a hotel like this again...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveluxuryholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#106 of 1,159 in Istanbul
926 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No. 38, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#22 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £88 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Istanbul Art De Vivre!Located at he heart of Istanbul between Europe and Asia, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa commands an extensive view of a relatively small area that has nonetheless witnessed 2000 years of the history of some of the richest civilisations humanity has ever known: Ancient, Greece the Roman Empire, The Byzantine Empire and the Ottoman Empire!It is only a few steps from the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophie and Topkapi Palace. The hotel, a lovely mansion built in 1905, is a listed historic monument today. The elegance of its origin is still amply visible in the neo-classical moulding on the facade and the solid wood or beige Bursa granite floors. Numerous details and features in the house bear witness to a world of such sophistication that its sultans are portrayed holding a flower.The hotel's rugs, like the motifs on the walls, seem to have stepped straight out of the Topkapi Palace.As century old traditions require, the hammam of the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa features a suite of three rooms with different functions: hot room, warm room and cool room.The hotel is equally dedicated to maintaining state-of-the-art international hotel standards, which rather than detracting from its historic past, leave its guests free to savour and appreciate this heritage.In this way, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa distils the quintessence of Istanbul's distinctive lifestyle, particularly from its 16 suites:the dome of the Blue Mosque surrounded by six slender minarets, the monotonous chant of the muezzin, the enchanting hush that reigns over the city in the morning, the sweetly scented Topkapi Park, the view of Bosphorous or the Marmara Sea on which the Prince's Islands seem almost to float or its mouth-watering exotic cuisine, etc. The justly dubbed 'Golden Horn', which the hotel overlooks, sumptuously sums up the inexhaustible wealth of this matchless location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Regency Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Premier Regency Suites And Spa
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing