We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and noisy, quite near Topkapi” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antik Ipek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Antik Ipek
Ranked #793 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and noisy, quite near Topkapi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The whole hotel was very dirty from the reception desk to the rooms and especially the stained and smelling bathrooms. It was noisy; somebody knocking on the door during nighttime or arguing. We felt like being in western Africa, people from there were lying everywhere and even cooking their meals in the rooms. Cigarette smoke in the rooms. My friend had A single room that was like Closet, with wiews to a narrow filthy yard gap. Showers didn't work well, toilet was leaking. Toilet paper holder fell down from the wall.
The worst was the owner, not the manager, who came suddenly and insisted us to pay immediately with cash (we were a group of co-operating people from different European countries staying in his two different hotels) and obviously trying to avoid paying taxes. We felt being cheated by the greedy and very unpolite owner.
The receptionist was nice and tried to do his best. The location is ok.
But I would'nt recommend this porot controlled hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roosamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
8
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hotel is actually in Kumkapi, which, can only be described as a somewhat 'interesting and cosmopolitan' area. I was initially meant to
Be staying here on my own but very thankfully my partner was able to come with me otherwise, I would definitely not have left the hotel on my own at night.

The hotel is very noisy at nighttime - but for a budget hotel is what you would expect. The bathroom was in dire need of a deep clean (including a stained toilet seat) other than that the bedding was clean And bed quite comfortable.

Staff were extremely helpful and the wireless signal was good all over hotel ( wireless routers on all floors)

All in all for £26 p n not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hubahubayumyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Location first:
5 minutes walk to Kumkapi railway station which is quite nice,
15 minutes uphill to Beyazit subway station and Grand Bazaar.
Right beside the hotel is a police station with a penitentiary for foreigners in custody pending deportation as well as a mosque. The hotel itself is located at a noisy street, thus together with the mosque this was not the ideal place to relax in the evening.

Rooms:
General Appearance - old fashioned and run down, especially our bathroom.
There was an old refridgerator in our room which made a lot of noise so we simply unplugged it. As to electrical sockets: 1 in the room and one in the bathroom.
Bed was comfortable, room wasn't too hot or too cold. Bedding seemed ok.
Bathroom was old and stained. I saw other bathrooms in the hotel which were modernized but not ours.
We asked to change our room but were refused as they told us that this was the best room in the entire hotel.

Breakfast:
normal selection of typical turkish food.
Tablecloth and tableware were stained thus seemed dirty.

People were smoking everywhere in the hotel even though it is against the law to smoke in hotels. The luggage room was unattended, thus leaving us with an uneasy feeling.
The staff tried to push us to book tours.

Everything did function all right but I have been in other hotels for the same price which were a lot lovelier. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, rather stay in a hostel or pay more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guineapiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We were 3 couples and stayed there on January 2011 for 5 days. The place was quite cheap for us. We got nice clean rooms, they were small, but this wasn't a problem for us, we had just a place to sleep. The staff was friendly and welcome, no problem here. The hotel located not far from the centre of historical part of the town and from tram station. It is also not far from the shore, so you can go down and buy a fresh fish and ask a nearby restraunt to cook it for you. The hotel isn't far from many shops and food courts where you can have cheap and tasty dishes. We found only two minuses of this place: 1. Breakfasts in the hotel weren't good, we all didn't like it, don't use. 2. They have thin walls there, so you can hear what your neighborhoods do, but luckily there weren't many guests that time.
Anyway, we had good time and warm memories about Istanbul and the hotel also, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank koteikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had confirmed reservations at a nearby hotel ( Malabadi beyezit) for 55 eruos. hey stiffed us but hustled us down the hill to this place. ( for the same price; RIPOFF) We had to leave early so I can't comment on the breakfast. The room was small and dirty. Pillows like bags of sand and cheap matterus. The free wifi didn't work on the 4th floor. This place is part of a scam. Take your chances here. I'm not a picky person but this is a shady operation!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotheringay
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel isn't as bad (for the price) as some reviewers claim. A lot of what they say is right (the breakfast is just about ok, they seem to be running some kind of import/export business with Africa from the lobby, and so on) but AS LONG AS YOU GET A ROOM ON THE FRONT, and I can't stress that enough, you should be all right. The location is perfect for most of the sights in Istanbul, yet the area is genuinely, authentically (perhaps even too authentically...) local. The manager, Ramazan Gol, tries to be helpful and speaks good English. The other staff try to be helpful but don't speak a word of anything other than Turkish, sometimes with quite hilarious results!

The only thing that really irritated us, because it was so stupid and needless, was that despite the fact we booked months before coming here, when we arrived we were put in rooms I am loath to even call by that name. Stifling little cupboards under the stairs might be more appropriate. When we remonstrated, we were almost immediately shown to perfectly pleasant rooms a few floors up, on the (non-noisy) front. So WHY ON EARTH weren't we put there from the start? It would've have changed our whole attitude to the hotel and this review would probably have been a lot better!!

Oh, and be warned: don't take the manager's proffered recommendation of a fish restaurant in the horrendously touristy area just behind the back of the hotel. We stayed in Istanbul for five days and generally ate very well for very little money. At the fish restaurant we ate appallingly badly and got thoroughly ripped off, after being accompanied there personally by the manager who assured us that the restaurant owner would "take good care of us". He certainly did that!

Room Tip: Accept nothing less than a room on the front, and on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dickonfotheringay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Don't be fooled by the name of the hotel: there's nothing "antique" or "silky" (ipek) about it. Rooms are pretty small and basic. Bed sheets, covers and upholstery leave the impression of not being cleaned for a long time. My window was level with a trash dump between the hotel and next buildings.

Bathroom floor was not clean - we had to use slippers every time we stepped on it. There was no shampoo, and when I asked for it, I was brought some more soap and told that "shampoo is not included".

On the upside: the staff, as everywhere in Turkey, was helpful. I overheard them giving quite helpful and detailed shopping advice to other guests. The payment is accepted in the currency of your choice, with commercial rates - there's no "hotel rate" nonsense. I was staying with a kid - nobody was haggling about his age and/or demanding extra payment. Breakfast was basic, but OK.

The main advantages of the hotel, I suppose, are the low price and proximity to Grand Bazaar and Laleli shopping district. I had an impression that the management is content with these winning ponts and is not willing to do much beyond providing just passable service for everything else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HafizQayib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#550 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#281 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#562 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reyyan Hotel
#308 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#158 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Fors Hotel
#593 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antik Ipek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antik Ipek

Property: Hotel Antik Ipek
Address: Kumkapi Cifte Gelinler Cad. No 39:41 | Eminönü, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #793 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Antik Ipek 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Antik Ipek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing