We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great localization!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquarium Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #1,028 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Vassouras, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great localization!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The hotel is very close to all the touristical attractions in the old part of the city, it is perfect. You can walk around and feel completely safe to explore Istanbul. The staff is very nice and always ready to help in any way they can. The room was small, but comfortable and clean. I traveled with my mother and we arrived at a Saturday night. We felt really welcomed by the night manager, Turgay. He was waiting for us with a big smile on his face, very talkative and concerned with our well-being. It was a fabulous trip and the hotel made all the difference in it. The prices are really good as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nat2machado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    12
    8
    21
See reviews for
12
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I strongly recommend to everyone to avoid this "hotel". All posted photos of the hotel rooms are fake. Small room, small and dirty bathroom, no TV, old and broken furniture, poor breakfast, no view at all, poor wireless signal, communication with hotel stuff is very difficult and cleaning of room didn't exist. Despite our pre-arrival discution about the price of transfer airport-hotel-airport, we was forced to pay double of the negotiated amount (80 euros). In conclusion please STAY AWAY from this location ! You can find around many nice and beutiful places where U can spend your vacation (with may be less money).

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marinescu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seville, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Staff is very helpeful, however their English is not that good.
Breakfast is good enough to handle all morning, you can find the typical food in Turkey... Also they served us before in the morning as we were having the flight very early.
Bathroom is not very clean, you can see also some damage inside the shower...
Bedrooms are good if you're planning a small trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudiaFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The hotel's website promises "spectacular views from our rooftop terrace" - it doesn't exist!
Location is close to the main tourist sites e.g. Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cisterns and the bazaar and it's cheap for single occupancy of double room with comfy bed and aircon.
But maintenance is poor with dodgy plumbing and electrical fittings. Thin, poorly fitted doors mean noise from other guests clumping up the narrow winding staircase. Access to fire escape was obstructed and it doesn't appear to reach the ground - you'd end up on the sloping canopy that's been constructed above the ground floor.
There's plenty of nearby restaurants and the tram station is at the bottom of the street (avoid using tram at rush hour unless you're into claustrophobia)

Room Tip: Top floor rooms should have a good view - but remember no lift (elevator) and steep windy stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikethetyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed accidentaly on this hotel in September 2012.

I don't have words to describe the hotel. I suppose that it should be shut down by the authorities for a number of hygiene and safety regulations.

We arrived at nightthere sincethe hotel we initially booked had been shut down. The travel agent booked there without asking us. First impresion was negative but i believed it would be an average hotel.

On check-in the guy at the reception insisted on paying for our whole stay (4 nights) even before getting to the rooms. I payed just for 2 nights because we thought we would move with some friends to another place.

As we went on the 3rd floor (without elevator) I started realize how horrible this place was. We were facilitated on a tripple room where the 3rd bed was a mattress on the floor.
The hygiene was inexistable. Toilet not cleaned. We felt like we were on the worst short stay hotel. We decided immediately to change hotel rather than staying there.
Unfortunatelly was too late so next day we told to the receptionist that we are leaving. At that point the guy stoped being friendly and he almost refused giving me back the money of the second night that i have already payed. After lots of negotiations he gave me back just half of the money for the second night.
Total cost for one night (two people stay/double room): ~ 100 euros for the worst hotel i have ever stayed.

Some other folks that were with us were obliged to stay in a 5bed room and they payed 35 euros each/ night.

This is unacceptable for the quality offered.

If i can say something positive is that it is well situated next to blue mosqe and Aya Sofia but in any case does not worth it's money.
There are other hotels much more decent in the same range of budget and same area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Petr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This was a horrible experience.

We arrived tired from travel to find that they hadn't reserved our assigned room. They said they hadn't received the booking.

This was a little strange as they had charged my credit card a booking fee and had records of the email I had sent through. But these things happen, not an issue if they can still fit us in.

We had booked a 3 bed room but the room they showed us to was tiny, it had 2 single beds squeezed in and barely room to move. When we queried where our third person would sleep they assured us a cot could be fitted in too (a miracle of the laws of space). We popped our heads in the bathroom and where horrified at the state of it. It looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in years, hair on things, wet floor, dirt on everything.

We were tired and just wanted to shower and crawl into bed but first we voiced our concerns about the size and cleanliness of the room. They weren't happy about this and instead of being apologetic, immediately got on the defensive.

We made the mistake of asking if the cost of the room would be the same as it was not what we booked and much smaller than we would require. At this point they got quite aggressive. We decided we really weren't comfortable so asked if we could stay for just one night instead of 3. As they hadn't reserved the room for us we thought it wouldn't effect their bookings so should be fine.

But now the manager was called, they demanded we pay all of it. They were rude and pushy. After half an hour of this, and after other guests showing there support for us, they let us leave with only our deposit charged to us.

The whole experience was a nightmare. And there rudeness and defensiveness turned an easily remedy situation into a difficult and ugly one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Value for money and place to crash at night for friends, couples and solo it offer nothing but bed (clean room) and breakfast (provide enough power till early dinner or late lunch.
restaurant located on top of the building providing panoramic view of old Istanbul you will enjoy they view while have your breakfast
I do consider it as a perfect take-off location for old Istanbul but for shopping i doubt it.

Room Tip: Nothing special try to get blue mosque or sea view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MITawfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#213 of 1,149 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#239 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Tayhan Hotel
#996 of 1,149 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#406 of 1,149 in Istanbul
420 reviews
Grand Ons Hotel
#878 of 1,149 in Istanbul
225 reviews
Grand Mark Hotel
#781 of 1,149 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium Hotel Istanbul

Property: Aquarium Hotel Istanbul
Address: Alemdar Mah. Alay Kosku Cad. No:16 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,028 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarium Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable familiar hotel has 21 rooms of different sizes, bar and terrace restaurant on the top is situated in the midst of the historical quarter Sultanahmet. The Aquarium Hotel is afar not even 20 km from AtatÃrk International Airport. All objects of interest are afar some hundred meters. Even the in quarter Taksim you can reach in half an hour afoot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Aquarium Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing