We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't beleive the Hype.”
Review of Best Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Point Hotel
Ranked #32 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We decided to stay at this hotel for the same reason as just about every other guest who stays there. Because of this site. We actually overheard many other travellers tell the hotel management this specifically.
But, upon arrival, we were immediately dissapointed. The staff is friendly -- that is clear. But maybe too friendly. After 20+ hours of travel, the hotel staff insisted on sitting us down in the lobby to tell us what we should do and where we should go during our visit. Instead, we just wanted to go to our room to decompress.
This continued througout the entire stay, with the staff breathing down our necks the entire time. If you like privacy, this is not the place for you. You can't even pick up a piece of toast without someone rushing over to hold your plate for you.
The rooms were tastefully decorated, yes. But they were very small, and our double bed was only two singles pushed together. You'd imagine that you'd get a real double bed for these prices and not wake up stuck in a hole.
Also, our door had quite a large crack in it, and you could even stand in the hallway and look right into our bedroom and at the bed directly!
Another thing of note is that the hotel is four stories high (five to get to the rooftop) and there is no elevator. If you are in any unable to climb flights upon flights of stairs, this is not the hotel for you.
Last thing I wanted to note is that the lobby computer has the trip advisor site as their homepage. The hotel staff very much encourage guests to write reviews on the site, and this is probably skewing the results on this page.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JeunneFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTPOINT, Best Point Hotel Managament/O.Fatih YILDIRIM at Best Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2009

Hi Dear Guest!

First all off again thanks choose the stayed our hotel.You was booked our Economic Double Room.That room entrance floor and cheaper room.If did you pay us more you can stayed our point double room.That rooms is a have quenn bed.That one is your budget problem.Not our problem..You also know all details.

You can read our all review from T.P.If another all guest write it about our staff very friendly and helpfull..I dont like a say you any think.!!!!!Really!!

T.P for us very important.Of course i am also say ewery time for my guest please you can write review...You must the know hotel business!!But i think you dont know..

I think you can like to cross out our hotel..This is inessential.But Really when another guest look from our T.P review..I think why u are like a write that review understand..

We dont like say you any think.If you need any help ewery time we can help you.Really..Because our all guest very important..

Thanks&Regards
BEST POINT HOTEL
Fatih YILDIRIM
OWNER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

My partner and I absolutely loved this hotel. It is not a big hotel with a lot of amenities, but it is nevertheless a fabulous place to stay. We spent a week there and were treated so nicely by the attentive staff. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were well appointed and clean. Plus, the rooftop terrace offers an amazing view! It is well located among other hotels and restaurants, and only a few minutes walk to Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque which was visible from our room. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTPOINT, Best Point Hotel Managament/O.Fatih YILDIRIM at Best Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your kind review about our home with other travellers, we very much apreciated to accommodate you in our hotel. We would like to you see our hotel. Thanks&Regards
General Manager
O.Fatih YILDIRIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The hotel was in a strategic position,near to the most famous attraction in town like the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi. Staff is very helpful and kind. Breakfast offers a huge selection of every kind of delicious typical meals. Rooms are a bit small but confortable and clean....a pleasure to stay! Enjoy also the great view from the terrace on the top of the hotel ;)

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila_Candy_Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTPOINT, Best Point Hotel Managament/O.Fatih YILDIRIM at Best Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your kind review about our home with other travellers, we very much apreciated to accommodate you in our hotel. We would like to you see our hotel. Thanks&Regards
General Manager
O.Fatih YILDIRIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. And our choice could'nt have been better!!! The location was perfect, minutes from the Blue Mosque and other sights. The room though on the smaller side, was more than adequate for me and my wife. Very clean room and bath. Breakfast left us spoilt for choice, there was so much to select from.
And what can one say about Fatih!!!! The perfect host and a complete font of information which was given with great patience and thought. He infact organised our 4 day stay in Istanbul almost completely with little effort from us, ensuring we saw all that there was to see.
We were particularly touched by his offer of breakfast when we returned early in the morning from a trip to the Mountain Resort Ilgaz and were waiting to catch our transport to the Airport. ( We had checked out at the hotel a week earlier). Yet he insisted we have breakfast at the Hotel. Very thoughtful indeed.
A holiday made perfect by a perfect host. Thank you Fatih

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ArunKaicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTPOINT, Best Point Hotel Managament/O.Fatih YILDIRIM at Best Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

Dear Arun, Thank you for sharing your kind review about our home with other travellers, we very much apreciated to accommodate you in our hotel.Also many thanks your wife. I would like to you see our hotel. You dont forgot Best Point Hotel second House for you.
Thanks&Regards
General Manager
O.Fatih YILDIRIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We arriwed in Istanbul 23.00, and I lost my handbag with passports and flyingtickets. Told the staff in the reception on Best Point Hotel, who immedieately phoned buscompagny and friends in the city. Within a few hours Emrah and friends brought back my bag, nothing missing! Thought it would be impossible to solve such a problem in such a big city. THANK YOU. We were always met with a : No problem"

Besides we enjoyed the spectacular wiew from the roof, overlooking Bosphorus, The Golden Horn, The Blue Moscue and Hagia Sophia.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

There are so many good things to say about Best Point, that I truly do not know where to begin. Fatih, one of the owners, had everything ready for us. Even provided a ride for us from a previous business hotel to Best Point. Greeted us with tea and pastries. Sat with us to plan our 4 1/2 day stay. Aranged a personal tour of places outside the immediate walking area.

And since we arrived during the noon time, a fruit plate was brought up which we enjoyed on our balcony. I read in other review that the room was small but we had enough space for everything including putting our suitcases in the closet. We had been to a business conference so we had a lot of clothing but everything fit. I highly recommend Room 403 as it does have a nice balcony. But keep in mind that there are stairs...if you have difficulty with stairs, then they have rooms on the lower levels.

There is a restaurant row to the right of the hotel where we ate most evenings. The first night Fatih arranged for the Kalamar Fish restaurant to pick us up and return us to the hotel...Then the rest of the time, we ate at the Aria on their roof, The Metropolis, and at Ocean's 7. All were good.

We were steps away from the Blue Mosque....

There is a Turkish bath in the room which felt wonderful after a day of touring.

Everyone in Istanbul was very inviting and friendly. If you choose to go, Best Point is where you should stay. Great location.

Oh and one other thing...if you do not have a balcony, there is a terrace on top of the building where many people who are staying at the hotel have breakfastt.

Loved it! Thanks Best Point.

Donna

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hebnerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTPOINT, Best Point Hotel Managament/O.Fatih YILDIRIM at Best Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

Hello Donna Thank you for sharing your kind review about our home with other travellers, we very much apreciated to accommodate you in our hotel. You are very important for me.Many thanks realy for review.If did you enjoyed stayed from my hotel.Just that one is
need for me.I would like to you see again our hotel. Thanks&Regards
General Manager
O.Fatih YILDIRIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

A lovely hotel that sits just outside of the main tourist attractions, which is ideal as you get the peace and quiet (except at 5am when the call for prayer rings out, although you get used to it after the first night), but is only a five minute walk just around the corner and up the hill.

Stayed in the Blue Mosque Suite which has a bit more space than the other rooms, and a balcony, although nothing really that special, was probably equivalent to a standard double.

The best thing about the hotel was probably the rooftop terrace (used for breakfast), with amazing views of the Blue Mosque and across the Marmara Sea.

Breakfast was ok (especially the cakes), with a good selection, but the novelty wore off after the first couple of mornings. Was a bit put off by the fact that some of the items are re-used each morning so could have been eating something that was sitting out for a week!

All the staff were extremely helpful as per the other reviews - a wonderful Turkish custom. Help planning your itinerary is always good, but some of the tours can be bought cheaper in the travel agents in town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBluesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,012 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#69 of 1,159 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#39 of 1,159 in Istanbul
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Point Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:71 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £43 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Point Hotel is a 1st class boutique hotel serving with 1 Suite Room, 8 Deluxe Rooms, 9 Standard Rooms and 2 Economic Rooms all furnished with a great elegance in Sultanahmet region. The terrace of our hotel will be welcoming you with a magnificent panorama. On one side Blue Mosque and on the other side Hagia Sofia and Marmara Sea will fascinate you. You can access Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Hippodrome, Obelisk, Basilica Cistern, Binbirdirek Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace and German Fountain only in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Point Istanbul
Hotel Best Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing