We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food, but great setting”
Review of ZUMA restaurant - MOVED

ZUMA restaurant
Price range: US$75 - US$150
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bosphorus
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very average food, but great setting”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Buzzing restaurant on the banks of the Bosphorus with incredible views. It's certainly an experience....unfortunately the food let it down.

All beautifully presented, but the texture and taste just wasn't there. Tuna and Salmon tartare and the black cod/prawn dumplings tasted like they had been through a blender; miso was luke warm and the tempura was not much different to a battered prawn! Not quite what we expected....

It was expensive, but despite the food and mediocre service (45 min table wait with a reservation), it was still a decent overall experience mainly for the views and the people watching.

Our feeling was that it was a bit 'too cool' for it's own good....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank antigua-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUMAistanbul, General Manager at ZUMA restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
dear antigua-jane,

we are sorry to read that the food and service was not up to your expectation during your last visit at ZUMA istanbul. we sincerely apologize for that, as we should not rely on the location of the restaurant to satisfy our guests. we also would lie to thank you for your honest feedback and for tacking the time to share it with us.

we have recently revamped the menu by integrating more ZUMA worldwide dishes, and adjusted our recipes to deliver a real ZUMA food experience.

on the reception side, we fully agree with you that this is not acceptable to make you wait 45 minutes when you made the effort to make a booking with use. we are currently reviewing our reservation and table return time policy in order to ensure each and every guest properly enjoy their experience from the beginning until the end.

once again, we would like to apologize for having dropped our standards on that night, and would like to ensure you will get a much better one during your next visit.

arigatou gazaimasu,

ZUMA istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    115
    44
    34
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Top, top, top”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I went to this amazing restaurant a week ago. The food is delicious, the Bosphorus view is beautiful and the service was very good. This is one of the best restaurants in Istanbul. Must visit. Reservations are mandatory, and you should ask for a table outside by the Bosphorus.

Helpful?
1 Thank Guicarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the food although I have to say that it is not at the same level as the one in London. Fried squid was simply too dry and the black cod was not even close to the one I have tasted before.
The location is too die for. Drinks were perfect and staff was really friendly.
We made a reservation the same morning and managed to get a table and we were positively surprised.
We had the menu and for about 70euros a head I think it was good value for money. Wine list is good as well...I cannot comment on the prices as it was not me that ordered!

Helpful?
Thank BPJDPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive- but great experience! ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We went here our last night in Istanbul- great experience. The food was delicious and the cocktails were yum too. It's pretty expensive- our meal ( 4 drinks, 1 starter, 1 small soup and 1 main course) cost about 300 lira. But the food was completely worth it. I am not a big fan of Turkish food, so finding a nice Japanese place in the middle of this city was great. The service is good with very friendly staff and the place looks beautiful with a very upmarket posh feel. Although please make a reservation earlier as it's pretty packed most days.

Overall- if you have the money and want to experience the high spending Istanbul life for a night- Zuma is a pretty good start!

Helpful?
Thank radhika_muzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent view, very good food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrrived for late lunch, the restaurant was empty, the food was perfefct!!! We wanted something different from turkish food, and we got it!!!! Zuma is in the Bosphorous ,so a great opportunity to eat with an extraordinay view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ZUMA restaurant also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing