We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SARAYBOSNA/ISTANBUL”
Review of Lamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamp Hotel
Ranked #615 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Beautiful place,very nice and very attractions location in the center of Istanbul (Sultanahmet),it's walking distance to historical areas of Istanbul is only 2 minutes.

GREAT & PERFECT HOTEL

Odlican hotel sa prelijepim pogledom na more i fascinantnu i beskrajno lijepu Sultanahmet dzamiju

Room Tip: it is very easy to choose a good room because all of that was very nice for example:upstairs ,if yo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AMAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Lamp Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Lamp Hotel and have made friends here that I hope I will know for the rest of my life. The room is large, clean, quite, warm, decorated with fine art! Breakfast very good. Strong wifi.
Very generous staff speak English well.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2weety2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I (A young South African female) was priviledged enough to go on holiday with my husband, daughter (13 months) and my mother. THE Lamp Hotel was great, beautiful views, superb atmosphere, really close to everything with a lovely Turkish breakfast spread to start off your day. Although the rooms are a bit on the small side, It was really homely and comfortable (who spends a holiday indoors anyway?). everyone is friendly and very accomodating. The owner Mehmet (GREAT GUY) aswell as Mohsin are very easy to talk to and help you out. It's been my mom's 4th time and she adores it. I hope you guys enjoy it as much as we did. Xx Zeenat, Nazli, Raashid & Nurah.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeenatSamodien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here for the first week of October 2012 with a friend. The hotel was more than what we expected. The owner Mehmet was a brilliant funny guy. Moshen wow what a hard worker nothing was a problem for him he is an asset to the hotel. The food was great provided by Khalil and nephew Murad Chaski. Good shisha too, you won't go wrong with this place loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khanyio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The good:

Great location near the Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet (blue) mosque, and Topkapi palace.

Some units face the Blue Mosque, it's a great thing to see from one's window even if there is a fire excape partially blocking the view.

Friendly owner and single staff person

Clean

Nice place to sit at breakfast in the busy Sultanahmet district

The not so good:

Cramped stair case

Tiny room with bathroom that barely accomodates one person let alone two when getting ready in the morning.

Very small room for 99 euro price

The call to prayer is beautiful but can be a bit of jolt at 6 in the morning when it's coming in right through your window through amplified speakers on the minarets on the Blue Mosque. Be prepared for this if you stay here.

Our room was clean but very small and the bathroom was barely big enough for two people. The breakfast options were very limited; the food was fine but would have liked some fruit and maybe some cereal type option. I did enjoy sitting outside in the busy Sultanahemt district

PLEASE NOTE THAT MANY OF THE PREVIOUS REVIEWS ON THIS HOTEL WERE POSTED BY INDIVIDUALS WITH ONLY 1-2 REVIEWS ON TRIP ADVISOR. TAKE THEM WITH A GRAIN OF SALT

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I read the reviews prior to arriving and was suspicious that there was artificial inflation and now after being here I am certain of it. This is a standard but very small hotel in a good location. It used to be a hostel and it shows. The rooms are extremely small, barely room for walking and the bathrooms can barely accommodate 1 person. They did renovations so the wallpaper is new and the bedspread is nice but there is not even a made bed to arrive at, just a single sheet covering and a blanket folded on top. Yes, there is a view of the blue mosque(be prepared for a sunrise alarm with the call to prayer) but this hardly makes the narrow staircase, cramped living quarters and miniature bathroom worth the price, especially with so many other options in the area.
The breakfast was nice and there was a standard selection(though almost no fruit and instant coffee only). sitting outside as the town awakens is lovely, though I can imagine not deal in winter. There is no indoor eating area here and no real lobby or communal space.
If you want to book here I think you will love your time in istanbul enough to have only good memories, but please be prepared for what you get. I have been getting increasingly suspicious of tripadvisor reviews and this hotel has only increased that

Room Tip: make sure you get a room in back facing the mosque! Otherwise you face the front of the hotel and th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveldoc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I travelled to Istanbul with my boyfriend and a friend, and was looking for an affordable and centric hostel. I found the Lamp hotel (a guesthouse, in fact) thanks to tripadvisor, and booked very fast in a rush, trusting the ratings it had. Best choice ever!! The guy at reception knew my name beforehand and was waiting for us (there's only 7 rooms). It's at 2 minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, found it easily.

Rooms are clean and recently renewed, big enough, have air conditioning (otherwise it's impossible to sleep in Istanbul in August) and some have views to the blue mosque. Ours didn't, but I felt lucky enough to book the very last room available, just 3 weeks before coming. The family room we booked had a double bed and a bunk bed, a cupboard to hang clothes, TV, two bedside tables, a desk and a bathroom. Breakfast is simple but ok to start the day, although the milk served is powder milk since few people ask for it (and I'm a milk lover... that's the only bad thing I can think of in the hotel).

Overall a perfect choice to visit Istanbul if you are on a budget and want to be super centric in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Abella Hotel
Abella Hotel
#1,032 of 1,159 in Istanbul
93 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#519 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#163 of 1,159 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#896 of 1,159 in Istanbul
358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sur Hotel Sultanahmet
Sur Hotel Sultanahmet
#776 of 1,159 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
#537 of 1,159 in Istanbul
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Cad.No.66, Cankurtaran | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #615 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Hotel was established in 2010 has the task of providing the best service to our customers. The hotel was decorated with private wooden furniture accordance with Historical the tissue in 7 rooms. Our rooms have wi-fi, TV,save box,and minibar. Some of our rooms have a view of SultanAhmet mosque. Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Gulhane Park are 4 minutes’ walk away.We invite to you experience the privileges of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing