We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent value, but not much more”
Review of Lamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamp Hotel
Ranked #544 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A decent value, but not much more”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lamp Hotel for a number of days around Christmas/New Years.

The good:
Value. For our rate (about $75usd for two incl breakfast), the room was great. This was one of the cheapest double rooms we could find for the holiday season.

The view of the mosque and the location in sultanhamet were also great.

The owner and receptionist were very friendly, and spoke English well.

Breakfast was good (cold but standard)

Rooms newly renovated and attractive (they look like the pictures)

The bad:

Tiny rooms. To be expected for a city hotel (and a cheap one), but during Christmas we saw the 'rate' board in the lobby asking for 120€ for a double. That's crazy for the size of the room, and I think you can find better in the area for less.

Service. The rooms were cleaned less and less as we stayed, and towels were often not replaced. The last two nights we were only given one towel (no fresh towels). I don't know why this was but it was ridiculous.

In the same vein, the rooms were cold. The heat barely worked. We were given the air-con remote to warm our room while it was being 'fixed' but it was then taken away and the rooms never got sufficiently warm.

Finally, the restaurant at the base is severely overpriced. Like 50% more than the places around it, and they have a tiny kitchen. I don't know who they think they are fooling but we knew better than to eat there (other than for breakfast, which is included).

All in all, not a bad place, but certainly not an excellent one. If you just want a double room in a nice and touristy part of Istanbul, and this is the cheapest you find, go for it. It's fine and clean and the rooms look nice. But if you're looking for a nicer room, look for a place that's more universally recommended and that doesn't have as many '1 review' reviewers. That seems sketchy and I think contributes to lamps overly inflated rating.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TatooshRange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    52
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
84
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Beautiful place,very nice and very attractions location in the center of Istanbul (Sultanahmet),it's walking distance to historical areas of Istanbul is only 2 minutes.

GREAT & PERFECT HOTEL

Odlican hotel sa prelijepim pogledom na more i fascinantnu i beskrajno lijepu Sultanahmet dzamiju

Room Tip: it is very easy to choose a good room because all of that was very nice for example:upstairs ,if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AMAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Lamp Hotel and have made friends here that I hope I will know for the rest of my life. The room is large, clean, quite, warm, decorated with fine art! Breakfast very good. Strong wifi.
Very generous staff speak English well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2weety2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I (A young South African female) was priviledged enough to go on holiday with my husband, daughter (13 months) and my mother. THE Lamp Hotel was great, beautiful views, superb atmosphere, really close to everything with a lovely Turkish breakfast spread to start off your day. Although the rooms are a bit on the small side, It was really homely and comfortable (who spends a holiday indoors anyway?). everyone is friendly and very accomodating. The owner Mehmet (GREAT GUY) aswell as Mohsin are very easy to talk to and help you out. It's been my mom's 4th time and she adores it. I hope you guys enjoy it as much as we did. Xx Zeenat, Nazli, Raashid & Nurah.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeenatSamodien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here for the first week of October 2012 with a friend. The hotel was more than what we expected. The owner Mehmet was a brilliant funny guy. Moshen wow what a hard worker nothing was a problem for him he is an asset to the hotel. The food was great provided by Khalil and nephew Murad Chaski. Good shisha too, you won't go wrong with this place loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khanyio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The good:

Great location near the Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet (blue) mosque, and Topkapi palace.

Some units face the Blue Mosque, it's a great thing to see from one's window even if there is a fire excape partially blocking the view.

Friendly owner and single staff person

Clean

Nice place to sit at breakfast in the busy Sultanahmet district

The not so good:

Cramped stair case

Tiny room with bathroom that barely accomodates one person let alone two when getting ready in the morning.

Very small room for 99 euro price

The call to prayer is beautiful but can be a bit of jolt at 6 in the morning when it's coming in right through your window through amplified speakers on the minarets on the Blue Mosque. Be prepared for this if you stay here.

Our room was clean but very small and the bathroom was barely big enough for two people. The breakfast options were very limited; the food was fine but would have liked some fruit and maybe some cereal type option. I did enjoy sitting outside in the busy Sultanahemt district

PLEASE NOTE THAT MANY OF THE PREVIOUS REVIEWS ON THIS HOTEL WERE POSTED BY INDIVIDUALS WITH ONLY 1-2 REVIEWS ON TRIP ADVISOR. TAKE THEM WITH A GRAIN OF SALT

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I read the reviews prior to arriving and was suspicious that there was artificial inflation and now after being here I am certain of it. This is a standard but very small hotel in a good location. It used to be a hostel and it shows. The rooms are extremely small, barely room for walking and the bathrooms can barely accommodate 1 person. They did renovations so the wallpaper is new and the bedspread is nice but there is not even a made bed to arrive at, just a single sheet covering and a blanket folded on top. Yes, there is a view of the blue mosque(be prepared for a sunrise alarm with the call to prayer) but this hardly makes the narrow staircase, cramped living quarters and miniature bathroom worth the price, especially with so many other options in the area.
The breakfast was nice and there was a standard selection(though almost no fruit and instant coffee only). sitting outside as the town awakens is lovely, though I can imagine not deal in winter. There is no indoor eating area here and no real lobby or communal space.
If you want to book here I think you will love your time in istanbul enough to have only good memories, but please be prepared for what you get. I have been getting increasingly suspicious of tripadvisor reviews and this hotel has only increased that

Room Tip: make sure you get a room in back facing the mosque! Otherwise you face the front of the hotel and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveldoc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#483 of 1,156 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sur Hotel Sultanahmet
Sur Hotel Sultanahmet
#765 of 1,156 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#890 of 1,156 in Istanbul
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#323 of 1,156 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#305 of 1,156 in Istanbul
301 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#699 of 1,156 in Istanbul
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Hotel

Property: Lamp Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad.No.66, Cankurtaran | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Hotel was established in 2010 has the task of providing the best service to our customers. The hotel was decorated with private wooden furniture accordance with Historical the tissue in 7 rooms. Our rooms have wi-fi, TV,save box,and minibar. Some of our rooms have a view of SultanAhmet mosque. Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Gulhane Park are 4 minutes’ walk away.We invite to you experience the privileges of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing