We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, staff and value for money.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
Ranked #188 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, staff and value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the early morning reception to restaurant staff, all staff really polite and make you fell welcomed at the hotel.

It is difficult to find out, As it is a small door between restaurant and shopping...but, it is really great location. Few metres to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, restaurants, tour bus stop and shopping area. Decoration is nice, cleaning is conditions good. Wifii signal was great at the room. There is a spa option, massage, etc.

Breakfast restaurant has an amazing view, great staff and good food as well... really nice. There was a dinner at the roof restaurant, as well, I did not have this. But, it looked really nice one.

Concluding, for sure, next time I will go to Istanbul I will stay at the Byzantium Hotel; I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: I got a really quiet room. Pleasant stay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rengs-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest;

It was a great pleasure to host such a warm and welcoming personality like you here at The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul.

Your review and all good pointing reviews are giving us such a great power and our staff is very proud with the service you enjoy.

Like to thank you for taking time to share your stunning review here on tripadvisor, we love to host you again like your own sweet home here at The Byzantium Hotel.

Best Regards;

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    194
    61
    13
    15
See reviews for
150
215
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this through BA for a three night stay with our "kids" (21 & 23). The taxi driver couldn't find it (20 Euro cab rank from Ataturk airport) but it was in the main drag of restaurants and hotels within 5 mins walk of Topkapi, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Great roof terrace with views of the sea and Blue Mosque and it was clean and friendly and despite it's position, not noisy at night. Breakfast was good and other than the rooms being slightly small, I'd highly recommend it if you want to be in The Old Town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank simonbb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for sharing your post. We are delighted to read that you enjoy your stay . We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to Istanbul.

Best regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have been there before one month ago only I can say my holiday was perfect. When I arrived the hotel warm welcomed and complimentary drink they served. Every body smiling and professional their job. Breakfast was great everyday fresh fruit and different choise. My room size ok for me and very clean. I would like to say my special thanks Ms. Esra who is great manager and always smiling also big soul everytime trying to help me and you can trust her any subject. She had great power. For my second trip I will definetely stay Byzantium first reason Ms. Esra second one great service and staff... Thank you Byzantium team and Esra ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuhair53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your post. We are delighted to read that you enjoy your stay each time you visit us and we meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to Istanbul.

Best regards,

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for six nights, on our first trip to Istanbul. I would totally recommend it! It is a great base for exploring both the obvious sights - Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque etc (which were visible both from our room and the roof terrace!) - and also for taking ferry trips to the Asian side of the city, and the other side of the Golden Horn (the hotel is a ten minute work from Eminonu, the port where the ferries, and lots of buses depart from). The staff are absoltuely wonderful, could not do enough for my boyfriend and I. After we requested a room change after the first night (our orignial room was actually half of a suite that had been sectioned off by a dividing door which could be opened from our side!), we were moved whilst out sightseeing so we came back at the end of a long day to a brand new fantastic room. There was no quibbling, and the staff were very apologetic that we had been disappointed. From offering tea whenever we were waiting around the lobby to insisting that we let them call us taxis when needed, they were supremely helpful and friendly. A special shout-out to the Guest Relations manager Esra, who expended A LOT of energy in helping us arrange a day-trip to a small museum - she called every day on our behalf, arranged the taxi needed to take us the ferry port and equipped us with notes in Turkish to hand over to taxi drivers etc. on the Asian side. She was aways smiling, and so so kind to us. The hotel generally is very clean, and the breakfasts are great - you can really stock up for the day, and there is fresh fruit daily. The staff turned down our room every day, to a very high standard. I really can't fault it - for your first time in Istanbul, I don't think it could be bettered, you are really in the heart of everything. My only tip - ask for a room on the upper floors (we were on the fourth, and it was not too noisy, and we had the great aforementioned view), and venture beyond the road the hotel is on for dinner - being in such a central location means it is surrounded by 'tourist' restaurant all serving the same, generally inauthentic food, at the same relatively high price point. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a floor on the upper levels - we were on the fourth floor, facing the street, and yet were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your time spending to write such a stunning review here on tripadvisor.

It was also a great pleasure for us to host you here like your own home from your sweet home and like to host you again or maybe your friends.

Our mission is to make our guests happy and like to let them feel like their own house here.

Warm Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We were Very pleased with our stay. Wè arrived midnight and Wè were Tired. Reception offered us Cup of tea and Turkish Delight. Very warm welcome. First night Wè stayed first floor another day hotel management upgrade our room Free. Wè had a complimentary drink at terrace restaurant. Also hotel had spa center. I would like to say my special thanks to guest relations manager
Ms. Esra Who made my holiday like 5 star,online check-in and everytime
Smile and really helpful. Also Mr. Sezar great service.
I would stay definitely ...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest;
It was a great pleasure for us to host you here The Byzantium Hotel and would like to thank you for your stunning review here on tripadvisor about our hotel and my team. It’s really great to know such a knowledgeable personality who travelled all over the world.

We would like to host you with a great pleasure again here with your whole family.

Your review is giving us such a great power and our staffs are very proud with the service you enjoy.

Best Regards;

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel Team


Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff were really helpful and pleasant. We were welcomed with a complimentary drink, which we took in their lovely terraced restaurant. We had our first meal there too with a really good musician playing. The room was clean and comfortable with a sea view. The hotel is situated just 5 minutes walk from some of the best sites in Istanbul including the Blue Mosque. The warm welcome was continued every time we arrived back from our trips in Istanbul. We would definitely stay at the Byzantium again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sootyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest;
It was a great pleasure for us to host you here The Byzantium Hotel and would like to thank you for your stunning review here on tripadvisor about our hotel and my team. It’s really great to know such a knowledgeable personality who travelled all over the world.

We would like to host you with a great pleasure again here with your whole family.

Your review is giving us such a great power and our staffs are very proud with the service you enjoy.

Best Regards;

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel Team


Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very pleased with our short stay at this hotel because it is so well situated. The most important sites are within easy walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a superior room on the top floor and its well worth paying the extra for the views of the Marmaris Sea, the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque. If you don't book a room with a view you can still enjoy a meal in the very reasonably priced rooftop restaurant and enjoy the views from there.
The room was large and very clean.
The area and the hotel are not the quietest and if you are a light sleeper you would be advised to sleep with the window shut.
Travellers from Western Europe and USA should be aware that you need to buy an e-visa in advance. If you don't have one on arrival at Istanbul you have to buy one and you can only pay for this in cash: US dollars, Euros, or English pounds only.

Room Tip: great views from top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busytravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your time spending to write such a stunning review here on tripadvisor.

It was also a great pleasure for us to host you here like your own home from your sweet home and like to host you again or maybe your friends.

Our mission is to make our guests happy and like to let them feel like their own house here.

Warm Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#213 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#80 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#221 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#70 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#262 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Property: The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#170 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing