We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
Ranked #185 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel by looking at other people's reviews and I have to say I was not disappointed.

The location is absolutely brilliant. Right in the heart of all the restaurants and bars. The staff are very friendly especially the front desk.

The view from the terrace is amazing, looking right over the golden horn and the blue mosque.

Can not fault this place. Will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bilal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest;

It will not only be a pleasure, also an honor for us to host you again at The Byzantium Hotel.

We are overwhelmed by your kind review which flows out straight from your heart. All our staffs join me to thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    195
    61
    13
    15
See reviews for
150
215
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went with British Airways for a 3 night break. The hotel is in a good location in the old town just a short walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Big Bus tour main stop. Check in was quick and the room allocated was at the back of the hotel which suited us as it was quieter. Took my own travel kettle but didn't need to as there was a kettle in the room. Bathroom was great, good shower over bath and complimentary toiletries and slippers. This hotel is not modern but quaint. They also offer you a complimentary non alcoholic drink to be taken on their terrace at the top of the hotel which had a nice view. Didn't put TV on so cannot comment on that. Breakfast - well not to my taste however plenty of choice of cold meats etc. I just had a small plate of scrambled eggs and coffee (which wasn't very good!) Overall if I went back to Istanbul I wouldn't hesitate in staying at this hotel again. Also plenty of restaurants in the same road so after a day of sightseeing not far to go to get something to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for sharing your post. We are delighted to read that you enjoy your stay . We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to Istanbul.

Best regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great little hotel , the area was perfect near many major sights , Blue Mosque Hagia Sophia etc ,easy walk to everywhere we wanted to go .Istanbul is such a lovely interesting city.
The room we had was very clean and kept well and any minor problems or questions we had were dealt with straight away.
The comment I would make to help you make a decision if you want a room for 3 is the room we were given was on the groundish floor , no view, the window was on to a very small courtyard which was of no interest , so room dark , the pic on the website had made the room look bigger than it was,having said that we had the room for the weekend and were happy with it as we were only in it to sleep. So I would ask for a view if you would prefer that .It was comfortable and convenient for the dining room which provided a buffet, which if you were staying longer than 3 nights would I think be boring , I have to say for a buffet the scrambled eggs were fantastic, the service was good .
The roof terrace had a lovely view and we had 2 really good meals there with good service., much better than another place we had eaten in on their terrace . The advantage of the byzantium one was it had both a covered area and and outside area .
The staff were very helpful the guest service was good .
The only problem we had was we used the hotel transport to pick us up from the airport , it was ok at first then the guy who was organising us vanished and we waited ages about 40 -50 mins before we left for the hotel which is not fun at 1am! We told the hotel about this so I hope they spoke to the company they used about it they said they would.
We had a really good stay and if we go back to istanbul I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.
Good value for money , booked via BA holidays .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallygh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests;

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As a team we are very happy to read your positive response about us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites on your next visit to Istanbul.

Best regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Booked with BA holidays and for the price paid this was a bargain! The Hotel is average 4* and the room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Coffee was terrible. In room there was tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar. Satellite TV provided hardly any English language channels, with the exception of Al-Jeezera news (who wants to watch that?). Has a restaurant on the roof-top but there are other hotels with nicer rooftops with better views. Great location along a street full of places to eat at the main sultanahmet square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zecnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are excited to read that you entirely enjoyed your holiday with us. It will be our pleasure to be hosts you again in the future.

Best regards,

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

currently iam there for the period from 21 till 27 of june 2014. nice view, clean hotel and kindly staff.it is on the main center of the old city. I suggest to have a visit to this hotel and you will never regret.ENJOY YOUR TIME THERE

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Akram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest;

It was a great pleasure to host such a warm and welcoming personality like you here at The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul.

Your review and all good pointing reviews are giving us such a great power and our staff is very proud with the service you enjoy.

Like to thank you for taking time to share your stunning review here on tripadvisor, we love to host you again like your own sweet home here at The Byzantium Hotel.
Best Regards;

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for four nights in February, and this review is a little late:
1. The location is fantastic, it is right behind the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia.
2. The street in which it is located has plenty of dining options.
3. The roof top dining of the Byzantium has splendid views, breakfast was arranged there one day.
4. The front desk staff Ceylan treated me very well, she was polite and helpful.
5. The managers walk around during breakfast asking about how comfortable you are.
6. Rooms are small, but perfectly adequate. It was very clean and comfortable.
7. The price was very good considering the above factors, would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for sharing your post. We are delighted to read that you enjoy your stay . We look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to Istanbul.

Best regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location for exploring Istanbul's major sites and if you are lucky, great views from your room across to the Asian side of Istanbul.

Very friendly welcome from staff who were also enthusiastic about helping you with your site seeing itinerary. Staff excellent throughout. Upgraded to one of their best rooms, there was little to find fault with. Tea and coffee making was included in the room, which was a bonus. The only minor negative was the small sheet covering the large bed, needed with the efficient air con blowing across the bed, which was not enough to cover two of you during sleep!

Great reviews from the rooftop bar and restaurant. Did not try the restaurant food. The hotel is located on a street with many hostels as well as a mix of hotels. The hostels encouraged a young and vibrant bar scene in the immediate bars around the hotel. Although often targeting younger visitors, most were fine for a drink and not all were too noisy in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room with a view across to Asia. Street side rooms might be noisy from bars although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyFriendsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at The Byzantium Hotel&Suites and for complimenting us on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read you found our hotel satisfactory in so many aspects and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#213 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#75 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#210 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#279 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Property: The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#144 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#170 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing