We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
Ranked #176 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Central Hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend break and found it perfectly located for the main attractions in the old city in Istanbul, just minutes walk from the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and many other attractions. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the bread to die for. The staff were very helpful. When we arrived our room was not available so we were upgraded to a suite for one night and then moved to an executive room for the remainder of our stay. It was my birthday while eye were there and the staff noticed this when we checked in and I was given a complimentary spa treatment as a gift. A very good experience all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patchgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your time spending to write such a stunning review here on tripadvisor.

It was also a great pleasure for us to host you here like your own home from your sweet home and like to host you again or maybe your friends.

Our mission is to make our guests happy and like to let them feel like their own house here.

Warm Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    198
    63
    13
    15
See reviews for
157
219
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are in Istanbul for a few days, intending to see Topkapi, the Mosques and Grand Bazaar, then you really couldn't do better. It's really close to all of these, in a safe area, surrounded by many good eateries. The hotel also arranged for us to be collected from the airport.

The rooms are quite small though, as others have said, and when we first arrived, we weren't happy with our room. We are two middle aged ladies travelling together, and had specified a twin room. We were given a triple room, so there was one ginormous bed and one tiny single! The hotel was very quick to accommodate our change though and they had wanted us to have a sea view. However our new room was great, if petite, but perfectly fine. It could do with some drawers as all we had was one small wardrobe and one side table (room 301). We had a street view room, but it really wasn't noisy..

The best thing about his hotel is the rooftop terrace. It has the most wonderful 270 degree view of the sea, and with the Blue Mosque right there to. It was fabulous. The food is good too,and Irfan the Head Waiter is very attentive.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a wide selection of hot and cold food. Very helpful staff always ready to assist. Small disappointment that the fruit juice isn't fresh and is too sweet. Again though, a small complaint.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are excited to read that you entirely enjoyed your holiday with us. It will be our pleasure to be hosts you again in the future.

Best regards,

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a good stay. Location was very good regarding it's distance to the main attractions of the old city, Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Sophia Hagia, cistern basilliica etc.... Are all walking distance.
The hotel rooms are not that big but I think that is to do with old city itself as they can't make much changes to hotels there. The breakfast was nice, it has a terrace restaurant. Staff is very friendly. To be honest don't expect too much from the hotels in the old city, because compared to other countries hotels I have stayed in better 3 stars, but this hotel is nice compared to a lot of hotel in the area. Note we stayed as a group of 9, booked 3 triple rooms, 2 rooms were on the bottom underground floor, does get bit noisy if window is open. Gym just had 2 or 3 excercise machines. The spa was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelleddestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest;

It was a great pleasure for us to host you here The Byzantium Hotel and would like to thank you for your stunning review here on tripadvisor about our hotel and my team. It’s really great to know such a knowledgeable personality who travelled all over the world.

We would like to host you with a great pleasure again here with your whole family.

Your review is giving us such a great power and our staffs are very proud with the service you enjoy.

Best Regards;

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel Team


Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We thought this would be a fantastic Hotel, according to location and appearance in the web site. Big mistake. Location is good: in the middle of a live street with plenty of restaurants and bars. The flip side: difficult to sleep at night due to the noise from those places. We had a big issue with the reception due to an error in the allocation of our room, as we booked a "Premium Double" and were given a "Family room". The result: they squeeze 4 persons into two micro-size rooms and keep the other rooms for other customers. It was funny to find the inconsistency between different recepcionists when you asked the same thing to different people! It was the proof of their lies, definitely. Staff in general was OK (not terrific, just OK). Breakfast was average, and bottom-line: do not go there.

Room Tip: Never accept a room facing to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miglozoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Kadir manages the best spa.

small, intimate with easy access to shops and restaurants.

Value for money packages, suiting everybody.

I was impressed by the services level.

Very clean Spa, great hamam.

On this occasion I did not stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWolfeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It will be our pleasure to be hosts you again in the future.

Best regards,

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We, a family of 4, stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in late April on our first ever trip to Turkey. I booked this hotel based on the reviews, its location and the pictures on this site. And yes, it is located very close to the Blue Mosque and Ayasophya and the view from the roof-top restaurant is splendid. However, the hotel seems way more luxurious in the pictures than it actually is and the family room we rented was not as spacious as we expected. But our biggest disappointment came shortly after we checked in around 3PM. Although it was pleasant outside in late April, the room felt very hot and stuffy, so I turned the Air Conditioner on and wanted to take a quick nap as we were jet-lagged from our long overnight flight . Instead of cool air, the vents started blowing hot air in the room. First, they tried to argue with me that the air coming out of the vent is cold and later admitted that they do not have Air Condition because it was still too early in the season and everything was centrally-controlled, no individual control for the rooms. I asked for a small fan and they said they didn't have any. This whole incident and their dishonest/ unapologetic attitude put us off so much that we wanted to check out right then but we were just too tired to do that. Besides, that would have wasted a lot of our time to find another hotel and move. So we decided to stay and keep the door to a small balcony open just to let some air in. But that caused all the noise from the busy street come right inside our room for almost all night and hence a very unpleasant 1st night in Istanbul. The 2nd night was even worse because as I was opening the balcony door, the whole door with its frame started coming out of the wall. So we had to keep it shut which helped the noise situation but made the room very suffocating. And I must tell you that this is by far the worst hotel experience we've had in all our Europe trips! Not expected at all from this so-called 4 star hotel. The only reason I gave it a 2* is because of its extensive breakfast buffet that we all enjoyed. Readers, please avoid this hotel as there are many more with excellent service and better value than this one as we found out later.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street could be very noisy all night, I mean all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akirtania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days, and it was quite a terrible experience to say the least. Situated on a historic and pleasantly beautiful street, the hotel operates under a distressed management. We arranged airport pickup, but no one showed up to pick us up. We had to call them to remind about our arrival. Not a great start!

About the rooms:
We booked 3 rooms, 2 months in advance, however, upon arrival, they couldn't find our reservation and to make it up for it, they upgraded us to their suite room for a night. Hence, we had to repack and move into their double room the next day- we were exhausted from the night the night before! The rooms were just average with queen-size beds in a double room. Our nights weren't that comfortable.

Other facilities:
The aircon never worked, and despite countless complaints (even at 4am!), it was unsatisfactory. I sweated the whole time whilst staying indoors. WiFi was another issue! It kept logging us out after every 5 minutes and the connection was extremely poor.

In-house restaurants:
We were very disappointed with the breakfast- it was just mediocre, and the terrace restaurant wasn't that great. Although, the view was spectacular.

Staff:
The staff was strictly OK, except the boy in the evening who was ever smiling and courteous. Most of them couldn't convsere or understand English, except just 2. I happened to eavesdrop another couple complaining pretty much about the same issues which we had endured during the stay.

To deduce, I will not stay here again. Not even in a million years! :-)

Room Tip: Even after reading my honest review, you decide to stay in this god-awful hotel, take a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salmanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#192 of 1,149 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#65 of 1,149 in Istanbul
868 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#291 of 1,149 in Istanbul
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#130 of 1,149 in Istanbul
835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#227 of 1,149 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#77 of 1,149 in Istanbul
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Property: The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#137 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#170 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing