We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff perfect location and beautiful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
Ranked #214 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my two siblings in the junior suite on the second floor, although it said a "sea view" we didn't get one which was disheartening but the room was lovely and it paid off. The staff were amazing, really helpful with the best ways to get around and what places to visit. Location was perfect too, a 3-4 minute walk away from the three main sites. Breakfast is fab, the terrace view is amazing and a MUST see... Food is pretty good too.

The only negative thing if I had to pull out is they don't provide a iron or an ironing board in the room: we stayed for 5 nights so the cost of getting all our items ironed did add up.... Was an absolute joy to stay at byzantium hotel and if I do visit this beautiful city again I would be sure to stay here!
Thanks to the staff for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank En i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest;

It was a great pleasure to host such a warm and welcoming personality like you here at The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul.

Your review and all good pointing reviews are giving us such a great power and our staff is very proud with the service you enjoy.

Like to thank you for taking time to share your stunning review here on tripadvisor, we love to host you again like your own sweet home here at The Byzantium Hotel.

Best Regards;

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend break and found it perfectly located for the main attractions in the old city in Istanbul, just minutes walk from the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and many other attractions. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the bread to die for. The staff were very helpful. When we arrived our room was not available so we were upgraded to a suite for one night and then moved to an executive room for the remainder of our stay. It was my birthday while eye were there and the staff noticed this when we checked in and I was given a complimentary spa treatment as a gift. A very good experience all round.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patchgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your time spending to write such a stunning review here on tripadvisor.

It was also a great pleasure for us to host you here like your own home from your sweet home and like to host you again or maybe your friends.

Our mission is to make our guests happy and like to let them feel like their own house here.

Warm Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are in Istanbul for a few days, intending to see Topkapi, the Mosques and Grand Bazaar, then you really couldn't do better. It's really close to all of these, in a safe area, surrounded by many good eateries. The hotel also arranged for us to be collected from the airport.

The rooms are quite small though, as others have said, and when we first arrived, we weren't happy with our room. We are two middle aged ladies travelling together, and had specified a twin room. We were given a triple room, so there was one ginormous bed and one tiny single! The hotel was very quick to accommodate our change though and they had wanted us to have a sea view. However our new room was great, if petite, but perfectly fine. It could do with some drawers as all we had was one small wardrobe and one side table (room 301). We had a street view room, but it really wasn't noisy..

The best thing about his hotel is the rooftop terrace. It has the most wonderful 270 degree view of the sea, and with the Blue Mosque right there to. It was fabulous. The food is good too,and Irfan the Head Waiter is very attentive.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a wide selection of hot and cold food. Very helpful staff always ready to assist. Small disappointment that the fruit juice isn't fresh and is too sweet. Again though, a small complaint.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jadewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are excited to read that you entirely enjoyed your holiday with us. It will be our pleasure to be hosts you again in the future.

Best regards,

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a good stay. Location was very good regarding it's distance to the main attractions of the old city, Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Sophia Hagia, cistern basilliica etc.... Are all walking distance.
The hotel rooms are not that big but I think that is to do with old city itself as they can't make much changes to hotels there. The breakfast was nice, it has a terrace restaurant. Staff is very friendly. To be honest don't expect too much from the hotels in the old city, because compared to other countries hotels I have stayed in better 3 stars, but this hotel is nice compared to a lot of hotel in the area. Note we stayed as a group of 9, booked 3 triple rooms, 2 rooms were on the bottom underground floor, does get bit noisy if window is open. Gym just had 2 or 3 excercise machines. The spa was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelleddestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest;

It was a great pleasure for us to host you here The Byzantium Hotel and would like to thank you for your stunning review here on tripadvisor about our hotel and my team. It’s really great to know such a knowledgeable personality who travelled all over the world.

We would like to host you with a great pleasure again here with your whole family.

Your review is giving us such a great power and our staffs are very proud with the service you enjoy.

Best Regards;

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel Team


Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We thought this would be a fantastic Hotel, according to location and appearance in the web site. Big mistake. Location is good: in the middle of a live street with plenty of restaurants and bars. The flip side: difficult to sleep at night due to the noise from those places. We had a big issue with the reception due to an error in the allocation of our room, as we booked a "Premium Double" and were given a "Family room". The result: they squeeze 4 persons into two micro-size rooms and keep the other rooms for other customers. It was funny to find the inconsistency between different recepcionists when you asked the same thing to different people! It was the proof of their lies, definitely. Staff in general was OK (not terrific, just OK). Breakfast was average, and bottom-line: do not go there.

Room Tip: Never accept a room facing to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miglozoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Kadir manages the best spa.

small, intimate with easy access to shops and restaurants.

Value for money packages, suiting everybody.

I was impressed by the services level.

Very clean Spa, great hamam.

On this occasion I did not stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWolfeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It will be our pleasure to be hosts you again in the future.

Best regards,

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We, a family of 4, stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in late April on our first ever trip to Turkey. I booked this hotel based on the reviews, its location and the pictures on this site. And yes, it is located very close to the Blue Mosque and Ayasophya and the view from the roof-top restaurant is splendid. However, the hotel seems way more luxurious in the pictures than it actually is and the family room we rented was not as spacious as we expected. But our biggest disappointment came shortly after we checked in around 3PM. Although it was pleasant outside in late April, the room felt very hot and stuffy, so I turned the Air Conditioner on and wanted to take a quick nap as we were jet-lagged from our long overnight flight . Instead of cool air, the vents started blowing hot air in the room. First, they tried to argue with me that the air coming out of the vent is cold and later admitted that they do not have Air Condition because it was still too early in the season and everything was centrally-controlled, no individual control for the rooms. I asked for a small fan and they said they didn't have any. This whole incident and their dishonest/ unapologetic attitude put us off so much that we wanted to check out right then but we were just too tired to do that. Besides, that would have wasted a lot of our time to find another hotel and move. So we decided to stay and keep the door to a small balcony open just to let some air in. But that caused all the noise from the busy street come right inside our room for almost all night and hence a very unpleasant 1st night in Istanbul. The 2nd night was even worse because as I was opening the balcony door, the whole door with its frame started coming out of the wall. So we had to keep it shut which helped the noise situation but made the room very suffocating. And I must tell you that this is by far the worst hotel experience we've had in all our Europe trips! Not expected at all from this so-called 4 star hotel. The only reason I gave it a 2* is because of its extensive breakfast buffet that we all enjoyed. Readers, please avoid this hotel as there are many more with excellent service and better value than this one as we found out later.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street could be very noisy all night, I mean all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akirtania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#289 of 1,181 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#21 of 1,181 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#874 of 1,181 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#502 of 1,181 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#91 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#161 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#167 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing