We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming local restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahirkapi Balikcisi

Ahirkapi Balikcisi
Ranked #207 of 13,376 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We hadn't booked so arrived early to this small, unassuming, café-style restaurant. We were invited to choose our fish (not alive!) which was cooked simply and tasted delicious. We were also served bread, a tasty fresh salad, succulent calamari and had a bottle of white wine - no choice there! The staff are delightful and speak English and French. After paying the bill of about £20/head, he brought a saucer for 'TIPS, TIPS'!! We were happy to oblige in this lovely back street restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TessaPeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    80
    19
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a highly recommandable address. Actually the only one you can blindly go to in Sultanahmet. Mix of locals and tourists, very good fish, local prices, no bad surprises, no fuss, very nice people. Authentic experience. Very simple settings. Will make you love Istanbul more!

Helpful?
1 Thank BalkanBeats O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I passed this little restaurant yesterdat and saw that is was small, not really impressive looking, but full (a good sign)
So I decided to go back there today. I then discovered that this little restaurant is well know and ranks among the best fish restaurants in Istanbul. It does live up to it's name: great fish, at a very reasonable price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank iltigro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing fish in a traditional athmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

It looks very traditional there. And the fish was amazingly delicious! You select it outside. We have choosen also grilled calamari as a hot starter and a tasteful white wine. Very much recommended! For the coffee we were guided to his friend 5m away where we could watch the locals playing some kind of scrabble.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hardy2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
“simple but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

pesce ottimo! qualità, cordialità e simpatia a ottimo prezzo.
great fish and meals. Very good quality, cozy and nice atmosphere at a very good prices!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamamama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahirkapi Balikcisi also viewed

 

Been to Ahirkapi Balikcisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing