We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to the most famous places”
Review of Emine Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emine Sultan Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The only negative thing is the window which doesn't work properly, sometimes you can think it isen't closed but ir is. Wery helful staff, god breakfast, inbeatable price. I want to go back as soon as possible :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Istvan968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

It is a pity that we only stayed 2 nights with Emine, since its perfect location close to all major historic scenic, helpful and nice staff, fantastic breakfast. As a Chinese who needs hot water for tea, I like the teakettle in the room. We booked a twin room which is tiny, but well decorated and maintained, since we won't stay in the room whole day, it's quite ok for us.
It would be great if the hotel can consider to arrange one more trash can in the room, as there is only one in the bathroom.

1  Thank Jinlidan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A tiny, but nice hotel with enough size room for a couple for a short staying.
Room and bathroom was clean, you can take a shower with very hot water and the pressure is also enough. The staff was nice. You get a good breakfast.
Very good wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam_Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Large-ish room with nice view, good breakfast, ok location.

One caveat: on booking they offered discount on airport transfer if we write tripavisor review while staying there and show it to the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al-Pac-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmineSultanHotel, Manager at Emine Sultan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

It has been a great pleasure for all of us at Emine Sultan to host you at our hotel.

We are trying to do our best to give you best recommendations that we sure about.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

We wish you an enjoyable trip and we will be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards ,

Çağrı Saracalıoğlu
General Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Pros:
- great helpful staff (thanks, Dogan!)
- we were offered a suite with a terrace and jacuzzi (sic: only the suite on the 4th floor!) instead of a standard double room with no extra charge (a 5-minute walk from the main hotel building)
- the suite building has a hamam (sauna)
- the room has a small fridge, a safe, everything for making tea (a kettle, cups, tea, sugar)
- daily changed towels, cleaning overall good (a bit dusty though)
- nice breakfast, though more omelette would be good
- fresh baked cake, fruits and Turkish delight in the main lobby
- good Wi-Fi coverage in both buildings

Contras:
- the suite building has no elevator and a narrow staircase, might be a problem for the elderly of people with lots of luggage
- jacuzzi and sauna are not perfect - only 1 of the 3 tub's programmes is operational and we had to use a corkscrew to pull the plug out to flush the water; you have to book the hamam with the reception, but in our case no one came and prepared it even though we'd been made sure everything would be handled. Next times I just switched it on myself and didn't bother to notify the reception.
-Main inconveniences are with the bathroom:
1. a tiny and low shower booth - I'm smaller than an average man and still felt uncomfortable. A bigger or a taller man would just not fit in.
2. low water pressure in the shower, changing temperature
3. ugly wet moldy smell - we decided to stay because of all the suite benefits, but this one was a total turnoff
4. there's a window between the bedroom and the bathroom! Forget about privacy while taking a shower or going to the toilet. It can just be unacceptable for a family or a new couple. They really should install shutters or a curtain there.

To sum it up, it is a nice small hotel with a great location and helpful treatment, but it slowly gets obsolete and they really should renovate some time soon to get their 5-star feeling back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bendertheoffender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Another hotel with great location. It is in Sultanahmet or Old Istanbul near all the attractions. The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are 5 minutes away from the hotel. The tram is also close so you can travel easily to other parts of Istanbul. Its a big city with a lot to see. The taxi driver could not find the hotel so he dropped me off near the hotel. The hotel is easy to spot thanks to it's mahogany wood exterior. the staff is very courteous. They explained the area and gave me a map of the area. My room was on the first floor. Their is a lift and if you have a room on the any other floor but the first floor, you will be happy it's there. The lift is very tiny. It really can only fit two people inside at a time. The room was of good size. It has a king bed, flat screen tv, desk, safe, alarm clock, mini fridge and coffee/tea maker. The bathroom was a good size as well. I really liked the shower because of the glass doors in the shower. The doors kept the shower steamy. After a couple days of walking up steep hills, you will appreciate your miniature Turkish bath. The breakfast was good. I generally like to eat restaurants around the area but I the breakfast got me off to a good start. There was an assortment of different deli meats,cheese, pastries, and jams. There is also a selection of fruit juices and teas for you to drink. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The hotel is really ideal for any type of traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmineSultanHotel, Manager at Emine Sultan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

It has been a great pleasure for all of us at Emine Sultan to host you at our hotel.

We are trying to do our best to give you best recommendations that we sure about.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

We wish you an enjoyable trip and we will be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards ,

Çağrı Saracalıoğlu
General Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location is great, close to all historical sites with easy access to transportation (Tram is 5 minutes away from hotel). Front desk staff extremely friendly and very helpful especially Summyia. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yass I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmineSultanHotel, Manager at Emine Sultan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

It has been a great pleasure for all of us at Emine Sultan to host you at our hotel.

We are trying to do our best to give you best recommendations that we sure about.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

We wish you an enjoyable trip and we will be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards ,

Çağrı Saracalıoğlu
General Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Sunrise Hotel
The Sunrise Hotel
#671 of 1,163 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#177 of 1,163 in Istanbul
927 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#121 of 1,163 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#123 of 1,163 in Istanbul
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emine Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emine Sultan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapiagasi Sok. No: 6 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#67 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#88 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#153 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emine Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emine Sultan Hotel, Located in the old city of Istanbul, small boutique hotel that has only 10 rooms, we have very nice see view in our Terrace and some of our rooms, our hotel is max. 10 Minutes away from Historical Places by walking. We have open buffet Breakfast with special Turkish homemade cookies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Emine Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emine Sultan
Emine Sultan Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing