We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dead central, first class service”
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #63 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dead central, first class service”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We usually stay at first class, well rated, central places. This is all three. The level of proactive service was absolutely top drawer and very well informed/connected. The room was nice and big. The location was absolutely next to all the places you will want to go. We had a nice big room, and were greeted with slippers and robes. Alas, the robes were so tiny they didn't wrap! And they were threadbare. This hotel was Turkey. It wasn't the US or other countries--which made it delightful. I guess in Turkey, they don't think of hooks in the room or bathroom anywhere. They also put a platform of plastic laminated wood flooring with metal trim around the bed, screws showing. However, these small details do not compare to being able to get a private guide within an hour on a whim, or being told, as soon as we arrived about the difference between Turks and Americans, (by a Turk) which proved very helpful. The dining room is on top of the building in such a way that the whole city can be seen, one of the few easy places to go to see it. It is really like the staff Want to please you, look for ways to please, and follow through. I left 2 nighties and 2 favorite scarves in a drawer, and was sick about it. The hotel management took care of it right away and sent it back, their cost. Stuff like that counts for a lot in my book, as did their attitude and information. It is not modern/chic, it is very ecclectic and authentic. As far as being in the right place, with all the amenities, and the nicest people possible, it has it all.

Room Tip: We had a roomy corner room, with good noise barrier windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    335
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
351
489
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel Adamar is located in the very center of ancient Istanbul. Five minutes to the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and just a stone's throw from lots of good restaurants, bars and a super Hamam. The roof top terrace is breathtaking. Don't miss out on a sundown-drink up there. We had problems with our reservation because the booking-portal we had booked with went bankrupt, but Halil Vural from the reception helped us out. He always replied immediately to our emails upfront and found a great solution for our problem. He, Evrim and all the other guys at the reception or in the service just supported us with everything. They were super professional and provided us in every situation with the best help we could get. It s rare you feel so welcome in a Hotel. One last comment: Try to avoid the second floor: It s all purple and you feel like in a barbie wonderland :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaHie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel in the heart of the Old City and within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market. The staff is extremely helpful and responsive. The view from the rooftop restaurant is PERFECT (and the steak was amazing :)).

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

While visiting Istanbul this summer, we stayed at the Adamar Hotel, which had been recommended to us by friends. The hotel is ideally located in the old city of Istanbul, within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, and the Spice Market. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern, spotless and of adequate size, but the best feature is the rooftop restaurant and bar. We ate dinner there three out of the 4 nights we were in Istanbul, and every meal was excellent. I would not hesitate to return to this lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpressny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Adamar has a great location the old city. Several classic sites such as Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Basilica Cistern (not to be missed) are within easy walking distance, let alone The Grand Bazaar and the Gelata Bridge area.The view from the hotel's terrace is spectacular whether you are there for dinner or just for a predinner drink. The staff couldn't be more helpful and attended to all our needs with speed and courtesy.The breakfast was good, with ample choice whether it be cooked, continental or Turkish. Would definitely return to the Adamar and will recommend to anyone going to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stroller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley in Arden
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This terrific little hotel is just perfect for a few days in Istanbul.
It`s location couldn`t be better for all the main sights;all the staff are so friendly and helpful,and Husni and Ilhan on the front desk were always able to give us advice in their city. Our room on the 5th floor(fast lift) was not huge but adequate,spotless and very well equipped,we particularly appreciated the kettle and tea bags.Breakfast in the panoramic restaurant was a daily pleasure and the views over the old town and the Bosphorus are spectacular .Do use the trams which are great value and extremely frequent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

You can walk to just about anywhere you will need to go to from this hotel, if like us you are just spending a couple of days in the wonderful city of Istanbul. Grand bazaar is 5 mins away, blue mosque and Sophia at the end of the road. Make sure you visit the roman cistern located at the end of the road from the hotel, it is really remarkable and not to be missed. The hotel is lovely, very quirky with a different colour scheme for each floor, the rooms are clean, bright and airy and the bed have lovely linen and pillows. Staff couldn't be more helpful and the roof top restaurant has amazing views and a great place for an evening drink before walking out to find somewhere for dinner. The breakfast was good, with ample choice whether it be cooked, continental or Turkish. Would definitely return to the adamar if I am lucky enough to be back in this magical city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#69 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#24 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#44 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
#74 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#97 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#62 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing