We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and well located!”
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #60 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic and well located!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend in November and had a great time. The hotel is in a brilliant location, next to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. Our room was very spacious with a large bed a chez longue and was very well decorated, bathroom was small in comparison but sufficient and clean. Friendly staff and lovely Turkish breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    341
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
366
495
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos District, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We loved this hotel and its staff and would definitely stay again.
A big thanks to Halil on reception for all his help and support.
This boutique hotel is very well sited close to the main attractions and within easy walking distance.
Breakfast was good. The eggs they served were superb.
We felt the hotel was very kind and generous to us. We even got a discount off the final bill for paying cash. Every little helps.
Internet in bedrooms was poor. The wifi signal was weak and this coupled with the hotels system of disconnecting users after certain period of time meant a lot of time was spent reconnecting. Improvement is needed here. The hotels system does block some websites like Photobucket … but where this is a will there is a way!!
We enjoyed a couple of meals in the restaurant. Wine is very expensive. The views from the restaurant are superb, you can sit and eat and watch the ships on the Bosphorous, view the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi without leaving your seat.
We bought a boat/bus tour through reception. We chose this tour because the leaflet promoting the tour said the bus would tour both the Asian and European continents.
The boat tour used what appeared to be a nice modern boat. In reality it was very uncomfortable, not enough seating on the top deck for everyone, so the crew brought cubes of foam for passengers to sit on, these passengers we very uncomfortable. People were allowed to smoked, and those who did showed no consideration for other passengers.
On the lower deck the seating was similar with the addition of 4 old arm chairs which probably belonged to the original Ottomans.
After the boat tour we were taken to the coach. Only at this stage was it announced that the part of the tour to the Asian continent was cancelled due to problems with the road. This occurred 9 months ago. The tour guide blamed the hotel for handing out old leaflets.
The remaining part of the boat tour was a ride in a cable car and a drive around the byzantine walls, most of which you pass on the way from the airport to the hotel.
At the end of the tour we were abandoned some distance from out hotel and told to make our own way home.
The first opportunity to have lunch was 1530pm (we boarded the boat at 1130am) there was a small bar on the boat.
Despite these problems, 5 days later the hotel was still giving out the leaflets and selling this tour. I hate being ripped off. The tour company is called IBO (Istanbul Bospherous Organisation) and there are many bad reviews on TripAdviser.
I mention this in a hotel review because we bought it from reception and as such I feel they have a responsibility in ensuring the tour was as decribed in the leaflet they gave us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Were met at airport by driver (arranged by hotel) holding up our surname. After a long flight plus jet-lag, this was appreciated. Cost: about CDN $80. added to our hotel bill.

The location was excellent for visiting Istanbul sites.

Rooftop restaurant had an excellent view--menu very good too.
Morning breakfast (included) was also good.
Staff at front desk very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Our room was on floor 1, so had only a street view. Would have liked a room on upper stories. Prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryGaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was my fifth visit to this hotel and I would never consider staying anywhere else when in Istanbul. The staff are so friendly and welcomed me back like I was part of their family. The service and hospitality is such that you would find in a smalll boutique hotel. The hotel has five floors (with the restaurant on the sixth) and only five rooms on each floor. The rooms are small but clean and cozy. Each floor has a different color (red on first, blue on third, etc). Breakfast is included in the room rate. The restaurant is on the top floor of the hotel with spactacular views of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. They are so close that it feels like you can just reach out and touch them. If you book on the hotel's website and stay for more than 3 (or 4?) nights then a one-way airport shuttle is provided free of charge. I am returning to Istanbul in two months and have already booked my reservation at the Adamar. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request rooms ending in 3, 4 or 5 as they are on the quieter side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trakin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwalm, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

From the moment of booking (swift replies) to checking out (booking us a hasslefree taxiride) we've had a very satisfying and delightfull experience.
Because of our celebration of 30 years of partnership they booked us the best standard room, with splendid view, very clean and cosy. The room was big and airy and very nicely decorated.
Breakfast was very good, lots of variation and options (coffee was great, freshly made omelettes,...) and this while enjoying the topnotch view over the Istanbul highlights...

We've enjoyed a very good diner too... the view over Istanbul by nights is unforgettable...
Option for a typical Turkish lunch or diner are avaible nearby...try Ortoklar for a cheap and tastefull experience.

Room Tip: some standard rooms are bigger and have nice views over the Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diversGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia, based on TA reviews.

It is a really good choice - location is right in the old part of Isatnbul, overlooking the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Topkapi palace and the Bosphorous. So very convenient for sightseeing in the touristy areas. However, it is also close enough to Serkeci to walk (or catch the tram). Lots of good and very reasonable places to eat withing 3-5 minutes walk. It is far enough away from the main tourist drag.

Great breakfast choices, amazing views from the restaurant, and there is a rooftop area with stunning views across the whole city.

The staff are helpful and knowledgable (they give you a crash course in where to go and what to see while they check you in!).

The room was clean and suitable for us although it was one of the smaller rooms on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshPharmacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked to stay at the Adamar in September for 4 days. Our room was unavailable for the first night due to the illness of a hotel guest and the Adamar arranged a very pleasant alternative hotel for the first night and arranged for us to be moved on the second day. Halil arranged everything brilliantly so that there was virtually no disruption to our holiday. The test of hotels can be how they deal with difficulties and in this regard the Adamar and Halil were wonderful. We were looked after flawlessly and ended up in an upgraded room and with a free airport transfer. We would go back without hesitation. Great location. The airport transfer option is worth every cent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#73 of 1,148 in Istanbul
380 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,148 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#55 of 1,148 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#67 of 1,148 in Istanbul
868 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#52 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#66 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing