We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a perfect location”
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great service and a perfect location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on a city break to Istanbul having booked based on Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is in a perfect location within easy walking distance of many of the major tourist sights and the tram stop for getting a wee bit further afield. Close to shops and nearby restaurants. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and breakfast in the panoramic restaurant was an added bonus. The only negative was the size of the room. We were in 301 which was tiny. That being said, it was clean and comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    339
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
358
491
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staying at the Adamar is worth it at almost any price - for the view from the rooftop or restaurant alone. The Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque are a but stonethrow away and so are the Topkapi Palace and the Gülhane park. We stayed a week, and enjoyed the stay tremendously in this pleasant hotel. The staff is very pleasant and helpful and everything is very clean. Very few downsides - but the room we had was so small that there was very little storage space for two persons' clothes. Oh well, as mentioned, the view alone is worth a tiny bit of bother!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CygnusBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, well located with excellent staff. The Panorama Restaurant serves really, really good food.
It is located within walking distance of Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Cistern, Topkapi Museum, Grand Bazaar (beware of the hassling shopkeepers in the bazaar - they are a pain!), etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Adamar is only one long block from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, and the Topkapi Palace. You can see all three from the restaurant and rooftop. They provide one transfer from the airport and the staff are warm and friendly. The food at the restaurant is good as well. You can walk almost anywhere in the old city where you might want to go, however the streets are confusing and don't hook up as one might expect in the US.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
310 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Choose this hotel if you are in Istanbul only for 3-4 days and want to conveniently see all the major attractions! Just a stone's throw away from Aya sofya and the blue mosque - the panoramic restaurant and breakfast area on top offers a spectacular view of the Bosporus - it is located in the centre of sultanahmet and very close to the tram station in case you want to cross over to beyoglu and taksim!

Just one downside - rooms are very small. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, one way transfer to the airport is free for people staying more than 3 nights.

Recommended for travelers who are looking to explore istanbuls top attractions in sultanahmet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Since I started travelling in 2008 to Turkey for proffesional reasons, I have been hosted in several classic hotels like Marmara Pera, Marmara Taksim, Richmond, or Sheraton.
In those years, during my visits I attended Adamar in three occasions to have lunch in its fantastic terrace.
In aprlir 2014 I planned a family trip with 21 people, including my father, brothers, sisters, and children.I have just arrived fro Istanbul
I started planning the trip in october, and ever since, the staff in Adamar helped me a lot answering quickly and efficiently to all my enquiries.
One month prior to my arrival they helped me choosing and making reservations for visits, guides, restaurans...

Once we arrived, staying has been magnificient. The rooms are pretty small, but very cozy, well furbished and always clean. The common areas, near the frontdesk, are also small, but confortable.
Breakfast in the upper terrace is more than correct. And the sights help you open your eyes and your heart
The restaurant in the upper floor is extraodinairy. A breathtalink sight of all Istanbul and the very close Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi. In good weather , the upper open terrace is just a dream. After our daily visits, drinking a gintonic inside this inmense peace of the night surrounded by the magic Istanbul was fantastic to relax and enjoy
The hotel is three minutes walking to everything in the old peninsula, but even so you feel in a quiet and confortable neighbourhood, plenty of life.
The attitude of all the staff is remarkable, always with a smile trying to help and make your stay confortable.
This is an extarardinay , little, comfortable hotel if you want to spend some days to discover this magic city. You won't fail.
I will come back to Istanbul , I will come back to Adamar

Room Tip: The higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noguereisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked the Adamar hotel because it has important criteria for us like location, price, transfers, good feedbacks, and good breakfasts.

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 9 days in April. Everything was perfect. We have got free transfers from/to Ataturk airport as we had so many days there. Just say time you need and they conduct the transfer! Check-in/ out were very fast. All our requirements were accepted, e.g. room color style.

The stuff is very polite and friendly. No one irritates you!
The room is really clean, quiet, warm, and comfy. There is a really big bed. A cleaner didn’t want to take tips that we put down on a bedside table each day.

The hotel has a restaurant on 6th stage and terrace. I guess there is one of the best view on the eastern part of Sultanahmed, especially: Aya Sofia, Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Galata tower, and Bosporus. By the way, there is pretty romantic atmosphere at diner, and big portions.

Grate breakfasts. I like having a hearty breakfast and I did. At the beginning, a waitress offers just cooked food such as fried eggs, an omelette with cheese or vegetables, and pancakes. Another advantage is that there were several hot dishes like roasted vegetables, fried potatoes, a smash omelette, fried onion rings, and sausages.

We were many days in Istanbul and paid attention on that variety of hotels as my wife is a travel manager. Thus, we come to the conclusion that the hotel LOCATION is the best in Istanbul for people who come travel there, go sightseeing, want to feel city flavour and get to know what is Istanbul. All objects is “round the corner”. A quiet place.

It is known that Istanbul accommodation is really expensive. Before our trip, we had browsed almost all hotels in the old city. At that time price for the hotel was the most advantageous for the 4* category. We reserved it, and then paid in the hotel. Also the hotel has several rooms with nice view. Of course, they are more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasyl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#75 of 1,141 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,141 in Istanbul
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#58 of 1,141 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#69 of 1,141 in Istanbul
864 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#56 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#51 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing