We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #65 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Istanbul”
Reviewed 28 January 2010

There isn't much more that I can add to the reviews already written except to say that this hotel has the sweetest staff I have come across. From reception to the cleaners & restaurant staff they were superb.

The location just up from the Basilica Cistern is perfect. Close to the tourist attractions & the trams.

Don't miss the view from the roof.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yantabulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    334
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
347
488
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I travelled to Istanbul with my son for the christmas holiday and the Adamar was perfect for our needs. The location is excellent for all the old town sites with everything in walking distance or a short tram ride away. The rooms were small but we were offered an upgrade on arrival. The views are stunning from the breakfast room and make it worth every penny. The hotel included a free transfer from the airport which made getting to the hotel very painless. The area around the hotel is clean and safe but not over touristy - however if that is what you want a 5 minute walk gets you to the tourist cafes and shops.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

The Adamar Hotel is an incredible hotel, from the comfortable rooms, to the splendorous breakfast, to the extremely helpful and friendly staff. We were amazed at the great location for such a reasonable price; it was only a 5 minute walk from the Hagia Sophie and the Blue Mosque.

Halil the concierge was always friendly and helpful, even though we often asked questions he was patient and would help us with everything, right down to phoning places for information for us. He booked appointments for us at the hamami and restaurants without questions asked.

The rooftop restaurant was incredible, I can't imagine better views. We always felt safe walking in the area even at nighttime.

We would recommend anyone to stay at the Adamar and will stay there again when we go back. They made our stay in Turkey a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsmeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

In an earlier review "No replies to emails", I said that I had not received a repy to two emails. The hotel have sent copies of emails that they sent. As it was not their faut that I did not receive them, this review seeks to redress what was, unwittingly, an unfair impression of the hotel's customer service. Apologies to the Adamar. Ratings made without a visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrowian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Booked because off Tripadvisor this hotel , central Located , Price very reasonable , staff friendly and Brekfast sufficient , rooms are on the smaller side , but most hotels in Istanbul are but if you see the View from the top or one below down from the Restaurant / Breakfast room you know this is the hotel ! Awesome , would book anytime again , clean and good neighbourhood , trams easy access and all walking distance too the Main sights .

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank westlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Adamar Hotel during for a week during April 2009. We completely fell in love with Istanbul and this hotel added substantially to the experience. The rooms are unfortunately extremely small. But the location and proximity to all the major sites and the tram make it rather worthwhile. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast adequate. The views of the Hagia Sophia at breakfast are amazing. Our only gripe was the lift which wasnt operational every so often.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooks786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We rented two rooms for 8 nights in December, 2009 - 3 adults and 2 teenagers. Service and location made this a great choice. Desk staff and restaurant staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The view from the restaurant at breakfast is everything they advertise and then some. You are 2 blocks from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and the starting point of any walking tours of Istanbul in a completely safe and enjoyable neighborhood. Here's the panoramic view: You can see the Golden Horn, the Bosphorus and the Sea of Marmara; you can see the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Galata Tower and the Toptaki Palace plus a dozen other sights once you learn to pick them out, all while drinking your morning coffee and listening to the call to prayer. Breakfast was very satisfactory and we were surprised how much we enjoyed our one dinner in the restaurant - plus we ended up there twice for dessert after a long day on the cobblestones.

Room (we had a triple) was very adequate with nice bath, but small. It's typical of mid- range European hotels, except probably fresher and cleaner. If you go to Istanbul to sit in a large American-style hotel room and watch tv, go elsewhere. If you want a very pleasant, clean and reasonably priced mid-range hotel from which to explore an exceptional city, this is a great selection. We'd definitely return to the Adamar. Finally, we were on a no-smoking floor and had no smoke odor there or anywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomerTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#66 of 1,129 in Istanbul
375 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,129 in Istanbul
272 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,129 in Istanbul
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
#72 of 1,129 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
#52 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#48 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing