We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Helpful Staff, Great Rooms, Some Small Nits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Ranked #7 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was my first time staying at an independent boutique hotel in Istanbul (prior stays included both Four Seaons hotels, The Swissotel, the Ciragan Palace). The Witt Istanbul is definitely where I'll stay again- the location is ideal, in Cihangir, away from the blandness of Nistansi, away from the tourist quarter of Sultanahmet and without the traffic traps of major large five star hotels thanks to being walking distance from the tram (albeit with a steep climb uphill when walking from the Tram to the hotel, which is something we precisely sought out to burn all the calories we would be consuming in Istanbul's great restaurants).

The hotel is full of furniture designed by Autobahn (a mod Turkish design company), so don't expect Iznik tiles and kilims. The rooms are spacious, and the sea view corner rooms 4th floor and above have amazing views across the Golden Horn. The breakfast is reasonably well done (not overly generous, but then again they don't have a full kitchen). Besides, there are a number of cafe's down the street that seemed to be buzzing at all hours, with bohemian secular Turks.

The staff are very helpful, and try very hard- on occasion they get things wrong, but that's totally forgivable given their sincere attempts at being helpful. The crowd staying at the hotel at the time was not one that I would particularly associate with a mod hotel, and seemed to be comprised mostly of Americans, rather than my preconceived notion of style setters originating in cities like London, Tokyo and Milan. But unless you're offended by guests that cling to that frumpy JC Penny look, this is all neither here-nor-there.

The rooms are beautifully done, very clean, with nice touches all around. The extra seating was particularly appreciated. The showers were large, with a very nice and mod shower head. A few nits though- the shelving above the kitchenette island was poorly conceived from a design perspective- banged my head on it twice. A female friend of mine complained of the bathroom lighting in her room as not suited to females, as well as the corian sinks which splashed too much water (they were nice to look at though...). Beware re the bed size- it's described as a "king", which is true enough in the European lexicon- but a European king is equivalent to a queen size in North America (a king size bed by North American standards is often referred to in Europe as a "super-king").

The hotel is very convenient from a logistics standpoint- walking distance to Beyoglu, Circurcama, the Istanbul Modern, Pera, the Galata area and the ferries at Kabatas. The tram at the bottom of the hill whisks you to Sultanahmet across the Galata bridge in no time - beats sitting in Istanbul's increasingly bad traffic.

Overall, unless I am looking for a swimming pool to hang out by for part of the day, the Witt Istanbul is an absolute no-brainer- I would unequivocally recommend it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrekker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
There are newer reviews for Witt Istanbul Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

We travel often and we have visited a number of hotels around the world but we would easily pick this place as an absolute winner. Witt Istanbul will certainly be the hotel our future hotels will be compared to. We were in room 41, although city view, had lovely side views to the Sultanahmet, Galata Tower and the Bosphorus. Spacious, well decorated, spotless when it comes to cleaniness, our suite gave us the wow factor each time we entered the door and made us feel at home. Staff was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The location is perfect if you count the proximity of the Tophane tram station, although the uphill walk from the tram station to the hotel may require a bit of workout before your visit! All in all Istanbul was amazing and this hotel a true jewel! We will be back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms from 4th floor up
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I would highly recommend the Witt - the rooms are very spacious, showers AMAZING, service friendly, brekky yummy and it is located walking distance from all the hustle & bustle without being on top of it. Only downside is the hill getting up to it - can be exhausting in the summer heat but lively once inside.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emchaps00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have travelled a lot and I must say Witt Istanbul has been one of the best hotel experiences we have had so far....
Customer Service
- Everyone associated with the Hotel was superb in exercising their duty be it advice on Istanbul itineraries, fixing up a nice 'n cold Raki after a tiring day and climbing up the steep hill!, breakfast services, turndown services, cleaners of the room...EVERYONE!
- All the employees had a genuine smile on their face all the time and we were genuinely interested in helping the guests.
Room
- Room is quite spacious. Around 60 Sq m.
- We had a partial view of the Bosphorous/ Golden Horn and had views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Yeni Mosque of Eminonu and Galata Tower. The city looked beautiful at night.
- Spacious Bathroom with rainshowers..
- The only minor problem was with the flush which was a bit difficult to operate for a child...
- Free Wi-Fi.
- Free Breakfast (Egg Dishes, Dry Fruits, small pancakes, cheese platters, Breads, Turkish/English Teas, Turkish Coffee etc)
Location
- Located a nice place called Cihangir
- 10 minutes walk to Taksim Square, Istiklal Ave
- 5 minutes downhill Walk to Tophane tram station.. Coming up this hill is a challenge but there are many Taxis plying this hill to reach Taksim Square so you can hail one easily.
- Lot of shops where you can buy essentials.. liquor shops, ATM around a 100 meter walk towards Taksim square.
- 4-5 tram stops to the Old-Town. You need 1.75 TL to buy a token (Jeton) from the machine before boarding the train. The machines accepts notes of upto 20 TL... Children under 6 are free. My son is 8 and initially we bought tokens for him as well. However, one of the security guards just told me "Child Free" and he travelled Free on the Tram and the Funicular...

The City:
- Fabulous Fabulous place: The Old Town, Bosphorous cruise upto Anadolu Kavagi, Sitting on the shore near Kabatas with Turkish tea and overlooking the Bosphorous
- To top it all, it was Ramazan and city just lights up in the evening. Its like celebrating XMas in the Western World or Diwali in India...

Conclusion:
- Istanbul, a must visit destination and Witt Istanbul an absolute must if you are in Istanbul

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Witt for five nights whilst in Istanbul to attend a friend’s wedding. I totally echo the previous feedback for this hotel. The rooms are lovely and on the whole finished to a good quality, showers are amazing, there is ample space if you’re staying for more than a couple of nights and the space is laid out well, the breakfasts are lovely (try the scrambled egg on toast), small muffins left in the afternoon feel like a naughty little treat, the service is on the whole very good (especially from the tall gentleman on reception) with nothing too much effort and any problems (such as our last minute cancellation of a restaurant that was difficult to book for and accidentally leaving one bag behind when taking a taxi to the airport) dealt with very efficiently and graciously. The welcome drink and chat with recommendations is a good touch. The location isn’t in the middle of ‘tourist Istanbul’ however this is something that appealed to us and allowed us to experience a couple of different aspects to the city. The tram is only a few stops from the main attractions. The area felt safe and had some excellent cafes and restaurants, and a couple of mini marts. The Witt do deserve their high rating on Trip Advisor, but I’d urge them not to let it make them complacent or arrogant as this would lose them the advantage they currently have. If I had any constructive criticism it would be that they should ensure the service staff knock before entering the room (it happened once and they were very apologetic when they realised we were there during the day on that occasion), try not to look ever-so-slightly irritated when faced with an unusual accent that is more challenging to understand, ensure the reception is covered at all times during the night (we had to wait 10 minutes and make a (not cheap as it was a UK mobile) phone call to get access into the hotel when we returned from the wedding) and consider adding to the kitchen unit as currently the guest can use only the fridge and microwave. But overall this was a great hotel with wonderful staff and I’d have no hesitation in recommending them or, given the opportunity, staying with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taniwha_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We spent three nights here at the end of a two week trip to Turkey. The rooms are large and very well equipped with a kitchen and sitting area. The bathroom is large and very modern. The hotel is not close the Sultanahmet tourist area but is near the Tram line and is surrounded by some steep hills which could be difficult for those who like to walk. The front desk staff are all very helpful with local information. We enjoyed eating at the nearby Hayat Cafe which they recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivertrader46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Istanbul is full of hotels, both large & boutique, I read reviews on Trip Advisor before I booked online. Now whilst it certainly doesn't offer fabulous views of Istanbul, we were
so impressed with the high quality finishes and the size of the room, and as we were there
for a week we could spread our selves out & chill & relax in the afternoon. The 6 head shower, wow, what an added bonus at the end of the day. Our breakfast which was included was amazing and we could have in our room if we so desired. Sometimes an added bonus whilst checking emails etc. 1st the in the morning. We thought the location great, we actually lived like the locals, & there were an abundance of restaurants, cafes and mini supermarkets nearby. A good10 minute walk to Taksim Square, worth the uphill effort, for a well need coffee or wine. I have to say I could not fault a thing, the staff were
excellent & no task we asked for was a problem. I would recommend this hotel to anyone,
and we'll be back in the near future.
100 Stars from us. Loved it Jack & Barbi Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#12 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,020 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,992 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing