We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for busy travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Ranked #4 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Witt Hotel was a lovely place to stay if you're planning on being out and about in Istanbul. It's a smaller boutique hotel so it doesn't have may of the amenities of large hotels (pool, restaurant, spa, etc.) but it's a great, clean place to stay.

Impressed
-Modern and clean
-Great A/C so awesome if you visit when it's hot outside
-Complementary bottled water in room that's refreshed daily
-Service - the front desk folks are absolutely fantastic
-Location is great if you're looking to stay near to the excitement - but not directly in it. Walking distance to Taksim and a 10 minute walk from the Tophane tram station that will take you right into the old city
-Breakfast is yummy - can eat in the lobby/dining area or have it delivered to your room
-On a key street leading to Taksim so there are constantly taxi's driving by the hotel - we never had to wait more than 1-2 minutes to flag one down

Less impressed
-There was a gigantic pillar in the middle of our room. It entirely separated the sitting area and the bed area. Couldn't see the TV from the bed and the sitting couch isn't particularly comfortable.
-The "bar" is a bit of a joke. They have a *very* limited selection. We had a drink one night and my husband who was trying to order a vodka tonic had to go behind the bar and show him what the vodka was and then confirm which was tonic water. All fine but then once the gentleman knew what he wanted he gave us a glass with no ice filled to the top with straight vodka and a splash of tonic. I ordered champagne and it was definitely past it's time. He served it to me in a gigantic, bulbous wine glass. They're trying but really missed the mark.

This hotel is absolutely fantastic if you need a clean, friendly place to stay but are planning on spending most of your time out visiting sites and touristing around. The service is fantastic and we were really pleased with everyone that helped us (minus maybe the bartender). We got up, ate breakfast there and then headed out for pretty much the rest of the day and we were really pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights towards the end of the summer, when the weather can be sticky and hot at times. The hotel was the excellent place for us to recharge and revel in our experience of wonderful Istanbul. We travel all around the world and always look for interesting hotels. This hotel is certainly on the list of our favorites. We will definitely come back and recommend this hotel to all our friends and family who might be visiting Istanbul.

Located in the more residential part of Cihangir, the Witt, with its comfortable suites, gives one the illusion of living in a fine residential building without the chores of day-to-day life. To us, that meant absolute relaxation and comfort. Just outside of the crazy but exciting ocean of humanity in Taksim and on Istiklal, the hotel is within a walking distance to these places and to a tram station that takes you directly to all of the historic sights. Very convenient.

In terms of their aesthetics, the attention to detail and use of materials in the rooms are pleasing to the eye. While the design is modern/contemporary (which we like), they have used excellent workmanship and high quality materials, which we certainly appreciated. We used the amenities provided in the suite extensively.

The Witt's breakfast is excellent. We preferred to have ours at the lobby, which gave a chance to get a feel for the staff and satiated our interest in knowing who else was in the hotel and in Istanbul at that time. The hotel staff are knowledgeable and will give you any type of restaurant recommendation you need. They will make all arrangements for you or even pick up food from your favorite places and deliver it to your room if you ask.

Room Tip: Upper level corner rooms or the 6th floor with views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Beautiful modern hotel in a great location. Very attentive staff. I would highly recommend requesting room #61, it has a private wraparound terrace and enormous windows with amazing views overlooking Istanbul. The room definitely added an amazing perspective to the city.

Room Tip: Room #61 a must. PH w/ wraparound terrace overlooking Istanbul. Beautiful design as well.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank stevdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

There are so many other positive reviews of the Witt, but what stood out for us was the high level of service they provided. We would tell the Witt employees the kinds of food we wanted to eat, or the kind of atmosphere we were looking for, and they always knew the exact perfect spots. They would take the time to draw these places onto a map, tell us how to get there, describe the various restaurants and their characteristics, and then check in with us afterwards to find out whether their recommendations were useful (they always were). In addition, since some of the places we wanted to eat required reservations, the Witt crew would call ahead (sometimes a couple days beforehand) and make those reservations for us.
Istanbul is a tourist-friendly city, and we’d learned some basic Turkish words and phrases before arriving, but Turkish is not the easiest language to pick up and there aren’t that many cognates. So having an English-speaking staff, who could smooth over potential language problems beforehand, made our vacation all the better. The staff often talked to us for 15-20 minutes at a time, and was always patient in explaining how to best use our time in their wonderful city. One Witt employee in particular, Volkan, was undoubtedly the most helpful staff person we’ve ever encountered at any place we’ve ever stayed. His recommendations had a personal touch, beyond just what the guidebooks say, and that invaluable advice made our visit extra special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100Chris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

First - some expectation setting. Witt Suites is a boutique hotel, so it does not have the extensive facilities of an international five star chain. It is, however, very stylish with beautifully designed, large rooms - far larger than I would expect for €200 per night in a major city. Situated in a trendy part of town (lots of bars and cafes down the way), Witt Istanbul is around 20 minutes walk/tram ride from the main Istanbul tourist attractions too. It is a peaceful oasis away from the (occasional) chaos of the city. It is hard to find fault within the parameters of the "boutique hotel" genre - the staff are charming and helpful. Breakfast is generous. Wifi is free and fast. Drinks from the bar are expensive - but so is alcohol generally in Istanbul.

My only gripe: I understand some rooms do have outside terraces - it would be great if management considered a roof terrace or similar space for all guests. I think that is the thing really missing here - fabulous interior spaces but nowhere to enjoy the Istanbul summer outdoors. Other than that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Excellent location, helpful staff and well equipped, very stylish rooms. The breakfast was excellent and was served at request to our own balcony without any extra cost.

Higly recommend booking a room with a balcony! The view is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is not the luxury its website describes and for 200 Euros a night, in Turkey no less, it really should be. We booked a room for our last night in Turkey because we wanted a very luxurious place to stay &rest before we look that 11 hour flight home. How dissappointing. The lobby is dark and nothing special. We got a welcome drink and went to our room on our own as there was no porter available.. We had requested a great view but got a room facing the apartments across the street, so no view except for what those people were doing in their homes. They charge you the same whether you get a great view or not which is not hotel industry standard. The bathroom was quite small and basic. The supposed rain shower was just a bunch of shower heads & one fell out and almost clobbered me. I have stayed in hotels with great rain showers and this was nothing like them. The bed was not very comfortable and the sheets were of low quality. We had to ask for bathrobes as they are not in the room and the guy sounded surprised when I asked. The mini bar items were crazy expensive and you cannot dial out directly on the phone (must call downstairs & then they make the cll & connect you). The room is set up so that you cannot see TV from the bed, which is a big minus in my book. The bathroom is much too DIRECTLY next to the bed. We ordered breakfast but that was pretty bad and much of the order was incorrect. I assume they get more in room breakfast orders than they can handle. This hotel has along way to go in order to be the luxury they claim to be. It was definitely a waste of money to stay here. The management from the Witt should go to Izmir and stay at the Key Hotel for some lessons in what a luxury hotel is like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not stare into other peoples windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank x-well-traveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#14 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,029 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing