We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Ranked #6 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had the best time at the Witt. Beautiful hotel, staff so helpful and ideal situation for exploring Istanbul. Loved the neighbourhood of Beyoglu - come out of the hotel and turn right and within 5-10 minutes lots of bars, cafes and restaurants. Enjoyed being away from the tourist area which is 15 minutes away by cab or tram.

Looking for a great restaurant - recommend Munferit - 5 minutes by cab, 10 minutes walking.

Galata Tower at the bottom of Istiklal Caddesi, 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Lots of small shops, cafes, restaurants.

Tunel 10 minutes walk - not that interesting - just lots of shops and a square.

Sultanahmet (tourist area) 15 minutes by cab or tram. Hagia Sophia - book in for a hamam at Ayasofya Spa - not cheap however a great experience. There is a spa beside the hotel however they have specific times for men and woman.

Just beside Hagia Sophia you'll find the Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar (bazaar only open on a Saturday).

10 minutes to the ferry across the bridge - take the ferry all the way to the Black Sea, have lunch, back on the ferry and back to Istanbul. This is a full day tour and worth it.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor, yet we got the 1st floor which was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

From the day of arrival we were made to feel welcome. Helpful staff.
Baklava treat in our room a delicious great touch.
Breakfast adequate.
The climb up the hill can be a challenge at times.
The crazy shower lots of fun.

Room Tip: Try to pay a little more for a scenic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

On arrival in istanbul, a city with a grand reputation, I was initially somewhat underwhelmed by a city that felt dirty and a little run down, with people who seemingly only had black and grey in their wardrobes.

But day by day, as you peel back the layers of this city with a rich history stretching back thousands of years, proudly carryng the signatures of leaders from many empires that have created its rich texture and called it "home" you come to appreciate why people fall in love with the cities rich heritage and want to return again and again.

Witt Suites turned out to be a slightly expensive but excellent choice. Perched on a ridge in Beyoglu, between the touristy Galata and the swish 5 star international hotels Its not in the centre of the tourist areas although it is being rapidly being discovered by the curious crowd and those wanting to get under the nails of the city, it is only 500metres from the now famous Thaksim Square, scene of the recent riots.

Witt Suites has only about 20 rooms, but they are large and immensely comfortable with furniture you'd love to take home. The bed was one of the most comofortable I have ever slept in, so there was no settling in period, straight to zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

The rooms are about 45 squ metres with a kitchenettes, (which would be rarely used due to the profusion of low priced restaurants in the area) and a lovely sitting area. I could not get a room with a view, but that should be tried for, especially if only staying a few days.

The staff are terrific, particularly Ali who will help you find whatever you need, or want in the quite complicated city. Breakfast was a treat and I could have stayed all day, but, there is so much to see.

Unless you are looking to stay super cheap, save up a little more and go to Witt!

Room Tip: Be very clear in your request if you "would like" or "require" a room with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudeskewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When you walk in and your wife says Wow did you know it was going to look like this, you can bet it is a great place to stay.
The Witt was a great home base for us on our first trip to Turkey. The room (king size) was really large with a wet bar and a sitting area. We would walk the city all day and then retreat to this nice haven for a few hours before dinner. The sitting area was nice although the couch was a little hard. There was also a nice side chair. Views from our room (42) were really nice. It is on a well-used street and there were a lot of street sounds (which we enjoyed) when we had the windows open. Once we closed them it was fairly quiet. We were never bothered by any of the muffled sounds that came through.
Service was impeccable. The staff worked so hard to be there when needed and to not be intrusive when you wanted to figure it out on your own. We asked for some help a couple of nights for dinner recommendations and Ali took the time to ask us about what we enjoyed and then gave us a couple of great recommendations. Then the rest of the week we used this knowledge to pick our own great spots.
That leads me to the neighborhood the Witt is in. For us this was a great choice as it was in a really hip (for use of a better word) neighborhood with lots of new restaurants and shops. If you are looking to just do the main historical sites around Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque then you might consider staying on that side of town. For us we wanted to see all those sites but we also wanted to experience as much as we could. We cannot be positive after only a week but we believe the restaurants on the Beyoglu side are much better and for sure not as touristy. How do I know they are less touristy, because you are not accosted by every owner as you walk by, like you are on the other side.
Since you are reading many reviews I am sure you have heard talk of the HILL. Yes there is a steep San Francisco style hill that the Witt sits on (this helped make our views from the room really good). You also have to realize if you are really going to see the city that it is full of hills like this. I am 60 years old and in OK shape, the hill was not an issue although it made life exciting because the road is narrow and you need to dodge some of the not so polite drivers. Also there are a lot of taxis on this street and although we never took one, they were constantly honking and offering a ride. To put the hill in perspective it takes about 5 minutes to walk up.
Oh forgot to mention the great bathroom. It is really large by European standards and even big by American standards. There is a Great shower with six shower heads (no bath) and great towels.
So maybe to long but as you can see we were very impressed and are planning our next trip back already and the Witt will play a central role.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fe111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We found the Witt through reading about it in a travel magazine and following up on their breezy and informative website. We are so happy we chose to stay at the Witt for our first visit to Istanbul. Our room was on the fourth floor with a view of the Galata Tower and Mosques in the distance, which at night are beautifully illuminated. As many reviewers have noted the staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. Loved the spaciousness of the room to spread out in especially at the end of a long sight seeing day. It is modern decor but warm and a nice juxtaposition to the ancient city. Water was always left in the fridge, and on the nightstands. Nice to make tea or coffee in the morning getting dressed or in the evening before dinner.Believe the comments about the steep hill!!!! It is not a great distance, perhaps a hundred yards. We are relatively healthy and active early 60 yr olds- we felt the burn but made it every day( makes for another bite of Baklava). There are several good little restaurants nearby offering everything from local cuisine to hamburgers, Italian, and Armenian food. The Tophane tram stop is at the foot of the hill making for easy travels into Sultanahmet. The tram does get really crowded at commuter hours so be prepared for a crushing ride. We found that the Istanbul transit card was really convienient as it can be used on the ferries, buses, funicular and trams. Thanks to all at the Witt Istanbul, we look forward to a return!!!

Room Tip: We were in rm 43 , a standard rm but still with a window that offered a partial but nice view espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimary63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is one of our favorites hotels ever.

We were lucky enough to stay in the Penthouse (Room 61) which comes with an enormous terrace that overlooks the Golden Horn. Having breakfast each morning on the terrace wad a luxury that will be hard to match.

The room itself is spacious and comfortable.

What really made our stay, however, was the staff. I can't say enough about Ali. He was just tremendous and we felt as though we were leaving a friend behind when we checked out. I sincerely wish him and his family well and thank him deeply for being there for us while we stayed at Witt Suites.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Istanbul -- and we will because it's a great place!

Two tips: The hill on which Witt Suites sits is extremely steep. Unless you're quite fit, it will be challenging to walk up it each day as you return to the hotel. I didn't realize just how hilly Istanbul actually is, so that was surprising. One way around this is to take the funicular from Kabatas (on the blue line tram) to Taksim and then walk down the hill. It adds about 10-15 minutes to your trip, but you also won't die of a heart attack. You could also take a taxi, but they are so shady in Istanbul that we just avoided them at all costs.

Second tip is that is you're not feeling up to going out for dinner, the front desk can order pizza for you from Miss Pizza and charge the cost to your hotel bill. Miss Pizza makes really great pizza, and it's super fast! Very convenient, especially on that first night when you arrive and just don't have the energy to get out.

One more tip: the first call to prayers is at 5:45am. Make sure you have some earplugs because there is a mosque about 100 meters down the hill and you WILL hear them. Jarring the first time, but you'll get used to it.

Room Tip: Splurge for the penthouse you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FClassFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I found the Witt Istanbul Suites through word of mouth, favorable comments, and a mention in the Luxe Istanbul guide. I am so glad I chose to stay there. I knew instantly my stay would be too short, and that I wanted to return before I left! After departing a cruise ship I teach on of which I was on board for a month, the Witt was the perfect remedy for instant down time. The folks who work at the hotel, the decor, spaciousness of the room, the amenities, and breakfast area all made up for a wonderful experience-- in a great location-- in an invigorating city.

I have all intentions of staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VOLOCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,138 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#12 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,507 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#52 of 1,163 in Istanbul
382 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £70 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing