We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and fantastic, friendly & helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Ranked #6 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a wonderful, small boutique hotel. It’s centrally located and is around 7min walk from the main road (where the nearest tram stop is) however, do bear in mind it's a rather steep walk up the hill! If you are fit and healthy, then this is a great daily exercise after a hefty but delicious breakfast! The rooms are very spacious and equipped with everything you might need. It's very elegantly furnished and quiet. The best bit however, is the hotel staff. Every single person working at the hotel has gone out of their way to be polite to us, friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. I couldn’t praise them enough for making us feel so welcome. The view from the hotel rooftop is simply stunning!

This hotel fully deserves the praise and all the wonderful reviews. Thank you for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MIchelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel has received some amazing reviews, so I'm hoping to make this one a bit more balanced so people can make an educated decision.

Positives:
- the staff here are absolutely wonderful. I was a difficult guest for them, having changed rooms a couple of times over our stay, and Ali went out of his way to make us as comfortable as possible. Nothing was too much to ask. Other hotels should take a leaf out of their book in terms of how customer service at a boutique hotel should be.
- the penthouse suite (on the 6th floor) was absolutely incredible, as was the king panoramic suite on the 5th floor. The views of the Bosphorous/Golden Horn were magical (see comments on other rooms below).
- All rooms have modern, funky decor designed by Turkish designers Autoban, great rain showers, gorgeous kitchenette and very cool rocking chair.
- I loved the fact that we could have our breakfast in our room at no extra charge. My husband and I were celebrating our first anniversary and it was a lovely, romantic touch that we could just eat our breakfast in bed.

Negatives:
- The king room we were originally booked into (on the 3rd floor) had nice furniture/decor, but was terribly dark and had no views whatsoever. It looked straight out into the adjacent building, and offered zero views other than into someone else's bedroom (they could obviously also see into ours - so we had to keep our curtains shut the whole time, making our room even darker). I felt deceived given that the hotel's website says, "Since the hotel is a corner building, every single room has stunning views." It says that rooms on lower floors "offer views of Istanbul’s vibrant city life" (does this mean into other people's bedrooms?). I had read the assurance of "stunning views" from "every single room" when booking, and therefore decided to book a King Room rather than a King Panoramic (had I known I would have paid more for a higher category room). I brought this to the hotel's attention, and at first they did not agree, then when I showed them the link they changed their position and said that it would clarify it on their website. I have just checked and their website has not been changed. While Ali worked hard to move us into a different room, we were first met with strong resistance and this put a very bitter taste into our mouths.
- The location is just OK. It is a very, very steep walk from the tram and the main street, so I would not recommend it to old people, or anyone with a knee injury or similar. It is about 15 minutes walk from the Galata Tower and Taksim Square, but there are plenty of other hotels that are much closer. There is not too much going on in the neighbourhood near the hotel. Don't be under any illusion that it is in the middle of the hustle and bustle - it feels more like a small apartment building in the outskirts, with a couple of cafes and shops here and there.
- there is very little in the way of facilities here - no restaurant, pool, gym etc. Only a negative because other places of a comparable price will have all of these add ons.

I am still rating this place "good" rather than "average", because if you stay in a King Panoramic, Queen Terrace or Penthouse Suite, and don't mind the steep climb and a decent walk to all the sites, you will have an absolutely fantastic time. The staff do also try very hard to make you comfortable. However if you are only prepared to pay 225 euro a night, and therefore book into a Grand King room, you probably won't be wowed by this place.

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra money and book a King Panoramic, Queen Terrace or King Penthouse Room. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First I have to thank the wonderful staff of this hotel, especially Ali and Emrah. We landed on Friday and spent two days sightseeing with some great advice from both. By Saturday night my husband took ill. They helped me order food so I didn't need to leave, sent extra water up and made sure we were taken care of. When he wasn't any better by Sunday, they wrote out the symptoms In Turkish so there would be no translation problems. They found me a pharmacy that was open on Sunday and gave me directions to get there. Thankfully by Monday he was better and back on his feet. In the meantime these two guys cancelled and rescheduled everything we had booked which was quite a help.

The staff that runs the breakfast is great! Anything you need or want they will get. The breakfast is nice spread from granola to fruit to eggs to pastries and any kind of beverage you can imagine.

The rooms are very comfortable. There is a fridge, microwave and sink. The couch and sitting area is quite comfy and the bed was a delight after a long day of sightseeing. The bath amenities were awesome! Shampoo and conditioner, creams and scrubs. The rain shower shower head was amazing!

We stayed at this location for seven nights and loved it! Bring your walking shoes as it is at the top of the Italian Hill and it is a hill that you need to walk up from the tram. Convenient location to Taksim square which is about a ten minute walk. Lots of shops, restaurants and fun.

The tram is at the bottom of the hill and it costs 4 Turkish lire per ride. It drops you off at the blue mosque, the grand bazaar and the aya sofya.

There are no complaints with the hotel, the location, the food and especially the staff. A great stay and we will be sure to be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Curlyqmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

excellent location, fantastic suite style room with spacious accomodation, kitchenette and large bathroom. all well and tastefully furnished. Bed was excellent and hotel was quiet. The front desk staff set a new standard for service - absolutely incredible. Breakfast was excellent and set one for the day. I can't recommend this highly enough and look forward to my next visit there

Room Tip: the rooms on the east side have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flamingo832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very nice, luxurious boutique hotel which made our stay in Istanbul very comfortable. The staff was super friendly, the breakfast was awesome and the view from our room was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends...and would consider staying at this establishment again on our next visit to Istanbul!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank den_Adeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Words can simply not describe our experience of staying at the Witt in Istanbul...but I shall try.

Firstly the Witt staff were very helpful in arranging restaurant bookings, guides, cabs, recommendations prior to our group arriving, which made our short stay fullfilling. On arrival the car was waiting, a nice big Mercedes for 50Eur for 4 of us.
Front the outside the hotel does not look like much at all but once you enter you realise straight away the place is special. The reception area is very modern and well laid out, checkin was a breeze where they gave us details of all the various booking we had made. There are only 18 rooms and each one is the same except the 2 on the top floor (I beleive). However the room we had is exactly as you see it on the website. They are large rooms with big beds, kitchenette with a microwave, Nespresso machine and a few other extras. The lounge area includes a sofa and a chair, LED TV and blootooth radio allowing you play your own music. Bathroom was a good size with an impressive 5 head rain shower which was perfect after a long day sightseeing. There is free wifi which works in all areas of the hotel and it works well without interuption.
Not enough cannot be said about the staff. I encountered 4 on reception during my staff and all were equally helpful beyond expectation to extent they delayed our cab and moved our restaurant booking back without asking us as we were enjoying a drink in the bar as we were clearly running late for our booking. They also provide a small card with directions back to the hotel which you simply hand to the driver on the way back to save yourself explaining where you want to go. A simple but a nice touch that agin makes your stay easy.
Breakfast was basic but enough and you can take it in your room for no extra charge.
The local area includes many small cafes, restaurants and small supermarkets for picking up snacks and water. Taksim Square is about a 10 min walk up the hill otherwise all the other sight are a cab ride away.
The only downside and I am including this to make it a balanced view is that it is on quite a steep hill, so not an easy walk to get to if you are having to walk up the hill. However cabs are cheap so was no bother for us. A no brainer if you want to stay in Beyoglu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Witt Hotel, 6 nights during July 2014. It was the best decision during our 30 days trip. Our room was a Great King. Its almost an apartment. Tasteful decor in all the details, hi-tech equipment, spacious, a big kitchen with a nespresso machine. The bathroom has an incredible six showerheads shower enough for two.
The guys at the reception were very attentive and helpful.
The breakfast was delicious and they made an incredible effort to understand your needs.
We loved the neighborhood, a less-touristy but equally impressive alternative to the more popular venues in Sultanahmet. very popular in the expat community. You'll find countless cafes and boutiques. It's very close to the Bosphorus (Istanbul Strait) and the Golden Horn, you can reach the historical sites in a 5 minutes bus trip or take an inexpensive taxi. A beautiful place to come home to after a day of sightseeing in Sultanahmet and the best place to wake up. Also very close to Istiklal Street . We truly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,176 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#15 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,176 in Istanbul
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,176 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,176 in Istanbul
3,028 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £71 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing