We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #56 of 1,167 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“What a great hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days in a 6 bed dorms in Big Apple hostel, and liked every minute of it! Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and even though it was very cold in Istanbul, it was warm and cosy inside. Not to mention the great and generous FREE breakfast ont the scenic terrace, but most of all the kindness of all the staff members, Ilkaï and the others! Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Benlouisgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    63
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
45
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here over the summer with a few fellow travelers. We had a bunk bed, a seperate full sized bed, as well as a private bathroom. The hotel has a great location within walking distance of several restaurants, shops, etc. It is located right by Tokapi palace and the Blue Mosque. The rooftop terrace is great for some quite time or to chat with fellow travelers. If you're looking for a good value, definitely consider the Big Apple!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is the right place to stay in Istanbul, especially if you are first time in visit! Recepcionists are more than helpful, stuff also, little Sava? is making wonderful breakfast, Ilkay is great person, he will help you with everything you ask.. And it is near everything you need - Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Ayasofia, Kapali.. Everything. Can't wait to come back here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Katarinast
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Staff was amazing, Redone (sorry if i spelled that wrong) walked us to a restaurant that had some awesome turkish food and hung out with us and played cards. The location couldn't be any better and the rooms are all kept very clean. Also the storage lockers under the beds are a brilliant idea that every hostel should have. Also the breakfast on the roof was a great way to start each day. Thank you for a very rememberable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Good location in Sultanhamatthe. Breakfast was good, with nice variety, a toster would have been nice to have. I found a long hair in my bed (i swear i was sleeping alone. And im bold). There wasnt a remote control for the aircondition. When i asked for, they told me they will operate the central heating system. But they didn't. I had hard time connecting to thier wifi,but that is likley because of my devices. So they have 3 PCs at the lobby which is great. But, no matter what i did i couldn't get to the English Google and FB interface.

Room Tip: note that there isn't an elevator, and the stairway is steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_AR_J_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great location 10 minute easy walk to all the sights.
Great shopping and restaurants within seconds from hostel.
Clean and comfortable our room was simple yet a touch of elegance.
Staff is wonderful... There is a young man who works there not more than 16yrs he is very sweet.
Staff at desk 24 hrs and very very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I recently visited Turkey for 2 weeks and did not plan much for my trip ahead of time. I was torn between whether I wanted to stay in a hostel or hotel, due to the negative connotations sometime placed towards hostels. I eventually came to the conclusion that I would stay in a hostel as I would meet more people than if I had stayed in a hotel.
I searched around for hostels based on ratings and price and photos and eventually came across Big Apple Hostel. I initially only booked 4 nights, just in case I didn’t like the hostel or area or if I just wanted to move around. I ended up booking all two weeks at this hostel and I am so glad I found this place first.
The Hostel is located within walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Eqyptian Bazaar, and so many great restaurants. When I checked in the first day I was greeted with a warm smile and someone even helped bring my bags up to my room. I stayed in a room shared with 5 other individuals (only two other people ended up in the room most of the time). Under the bunk beds there was a large locker that fit my suitcase and two carry ons fully. I did not worry one bit about security or safety of my belongings or myself. On the floor I was staying there were two showers and two toilets. (3 rooms total one of them was only a shower). The water ran hot and water pressure was great. I was provided towels and a made bed every day.
All that is fine and dandy, but lets get to the Staff. I can honestly say I have made new friends with each of the staff members that will last a lifetime. Let me start with Savas(sh). This young man helped out in the upstairs area during breakfast and whenever someone wanted a drink or anything else upstairs. (Upstairs is where breakfast is served and alcohol at night, also has an amazing view of the sea). Savas(sh) quickly became a friend of mine as he was always smiling, laughing, making jokes and making everyone feel comfortable. He would remember everyone’s name and always make him or her smile. I would have to say that he became the best part about staying at the Big Apple Hostel.
All of the staff knew the area and could answer any questions you had about Turkey. I.e. where to go, what to do, what times to go etc. The staff at the Big Apple Hostel really does go above and beyond to help you in any way they can. “The customer is always right” attitude is exemplified by the staff here. On Friday we had a pub crawl and we went to the clubs and karaoke bars near Taksim Square and it was a blast.
There is so much more I could write, but I will leave it at that. If you go to Istanbul and you are looking for a place to stay, you would be doing yourself a disservice if you did not consider staying at the Big Apple Hostel. I would personally recommend it to anyone staying in Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryant V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#312 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,167 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#98 of 1,167 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#9 of 1,167 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#13 of 1,167 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bahaus Guesthouse
Bahaus Guesthouse
#37 of 1,167 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Property: Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,167 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing