We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, best staff, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome views, best staff, clean rooms”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here while looking for longer term places to stay...the staff was great and the views from their rooftop were great. The staff was really helpful, gave us great advice on Istanbul, lugged beers up multiple flights of stairs for my husband even though they had other things to do, and were the most genuine and sincere people we met in Istanbul.

Our room was clean and well priced. The bathrooms were clean and all areas were well kept.

The staff prepared us a great and filling breakfast even though they were busy with repairs and renovations. Istanbul can get tiresome because beyond the history of it, it can be a tourist trap. Again, the price was right and the service was genuine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathytravl8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    67
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
45
118
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days in a 6 bed dorms in Big Apple hostel, and liked every minute of it! Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and even though it was very cold in Istanbul, it was warm and cosy inside. Not to mention the great and generous FREE breakfast ont the scenic terrace, but most of all the kindness of all the staff members, Ilkaï and the others! Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Benlouisgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here over the summer with a few fellow travelers. We had a bunk bed, a seperate full sized bed, as well as a private bathroom. The hotel has a great location within walking distance of several restaurants, shops, etc. It is located right by Tokapi palace and the Blue Mosque. The rooftop terrace is great for some quite time or to chat with fellow travelers. If you're looking for a good value, definitely consider the Big Apple!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is the right place to stay in Istanbul, especially if you are first time in visit! Recepcionists are more than helpful, stuff also, little Sava? is making wonderful breakfast, Ilkay is great person, he will help you with everything you ask.. And it is near everything you need - Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Ayasofia, Kapali.. Everything. Can't wait to come back here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Katarinast
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Staff was amazing, Redone (sorry if i spelled that wrong) walked us to a restaurant that had some awesome turkish food and hung out with us and played cards. The location couldn't be any better and the rooms are all kept very clean. Also the storage lockers under the beds are a brilliant idea that every hostel should have. Also the breakfast on the roof was a great way to start each day. Thank you for a very rememberable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Good location in Sultanhamatthe. Breakfast was good, with nice variety, a toster would have been nice to have. I found a long hair in my bed (i swear i was sleeping alone. And im bold). There wasnt a remote control for the aircondition. When i asked for, they told me they will operate the central heating system. But they didn't. I had hard time connecting to thier wifi,but that is likley because of my devices. So they have 3 PCs at the lobby which is great. But, no matter what i did i couldn't get to the English Google and FB interface.

Room Tip: note that there isn't an elevator, and the stairway is steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_AR_J_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great location 10 minute easy walk to all the sights.
Great shopping and restaurants within seconds from hostel.
Clean and comfortable our room was simple yet a touch of elegance.
Staff is wonderful... There is a young man who works there not more than 16yrs he is very sweet.
Staff at desk 24 hrs and very very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#338 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bahaus Guesthouse
Bahaus Guesthouse
#38 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#13 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#75 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Property: Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing