We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel”
Review of Meddusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meddusa Hotel
Ranked #489 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

My family wanted to stay in old town, very close to all tourist attractions. We also had our budget restrictions so Meddusa was perfect place for us. Rooms were neat and clean although little compact. Entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Mr Eser and hos colleague who made our istanbul stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dilipbhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    71
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
36
89
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I along with my mother travelled to Istanbul from 3 - 9 June 2013 and stayed at Meddusa Hotel. Right from booking the rooms to my stay Mr. Eser and his staff especially Mr Ulubek & Mr. Hussein extended their generous hospitality and support. The hotel is exactly the same as explained on its website, its location to Sultanhmet, Grand Bazaar and Tramp Station adds to its great accessibility. The entire staff in the hotel are very warm, cordial and extremely helpful. The entire staff is sensitive to women and old guests. The highlight of the hotel is its Teras Cafe, a roof top cafe with a spectacular view of the Sea and Istanbul. The buffet served is very refreshing and fulfilling , the rooms were well cleaned. I was spell bounded by the honesty, attentiveness and the spectacular view offered at Meddusa. True to its name! Truly Worth it!! Makes one visit Istanbul again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RADHIKARALHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a perfect location with limited budget hotel this hotel is exactly for you. It is very close to all main attractions and they have a very good open buffet breakfast in the mornings. It was perfectly fit my needs. I suggest everyone who is looking for a clean hotel, perfect location with limited budget.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prastf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Not suitable for men with handicaps
very poor bathroom
very good located in the old city of Istanbul!!!
very friendly staff!!
good restaurant nearby with the opportunity to taste real turkish food in a very good manner

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The hotel was near to Sultanahmet station, and it was very close to every other city's cultural centers as Blue Mosque,Aia Sopfia or Topkapi.The staff was very nice and gentle, and you can enjoy a wonderful view of the Bosphorus.You can find all that in very good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaltra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in Meddusa Hotel from 15 - 18 February 2013. We had really an enjoyable stay there. The location was ideal, less than 10 minutes from all main historical places like Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand bazar, Topkapi Palace, Eminonu harbor for bosphores cruises, etc. The staff was so helpful, friendly and polite persons. The rooms have a great service. clean and fixed every day. The sheets and the towels were like new every day,whiter and profumed. The bufet breakfast was so delicious, u have opportunities to choose what u want to eat. The air conditioning was good and 24 hours open.U can't find smoking areas inside the hallways , it's forbidden. It have safe boxes for precious objects.The terrace had a perfect amazing bosphorus view. The prices were so great. Definitely can't wait to be back again there...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonida_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We got this hotel by mistake for our last night returning from Athens in order to get out flight early in the morning. Fortunately we had to spend only a half of the night as we had to leave at 3:30.
This hotel is possibly the creepiest I've been. The hallways smell cigarettes, the room smells rotten food and the bathroom smells puke, so we had to go to the market nearby and buy an odor neutralizer. Oddly enough it had a good air conditioning unit that cools the room, even during the winter season. Even though the staff are not much prepared some of them are really helpful and polite.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel check the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanthuyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#556 of 1,156 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#483 of 1,156 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#426 of 1,156 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
All Day Istanbul Hotel
All Day Istanbul Hotel
#653 of 1,156 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#380 of 1,156 in Istanbul
207 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#370 of 1,156 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meddusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meddusa Hotel

Property: Meddusa Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mh. Nuru Osmaniye Cad. No: 5 | Cagaloglu, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Meddusa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Istanbul's historic district of Sultanahmet, a 5-minute walk from the Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar, this budget hotel features a terrace restaurant with panoramic views of Istanbul.Meddusa Hotel offers a range of warmly decorated rooms, all with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and satellite TV. Each room has a private bathroom with hairdryer.Guests of Meddusa Hotel can enjoy their breakfast, lunch and dinner at the rooftop terrace and admire the skyline views of old Istanbul and the Bosphorus. There is a small bar for drinks and reception is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Meddusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meddusa Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing