We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel in the centre of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eski Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eski Konak Hotel
Ranked #423 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel in the centre of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I had an excellent time at the hotel.

Hotel is ideally positioned 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque yet in a quiet street. The rooms with en suite bathrooms are clean and have everything necessary for a great stay. Breakfast is included and served on the to of the hotel with breathtaking views.

The owner and the staff are very friendly. I was pregnant at the time and they made sure I have the best room and not too many stairs to climb :)

I would and have recommended this hotel to everyone seeking peaceful friendly stay in the centre of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Just ask the owner as I did and she will make sure you have the best available room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almasarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskiKonakHotel, Genel Müdür at Eski Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above revieuw about our hotel.I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a verry good stay with us.
I have also informed my collegue with your nice comments.
We are looking forward to see you at our hotel on your next holdays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    76
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
38
86
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Veszprem, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The staff was very kind, they helped in everything. The room was clean, neat and quiet. The breakfast was good too, and it's view to the Marmara on the terrace during breakfast is georgeous. I can only recommend this Eski Konak Hotel. :) The restaurant under the hotel is great too, we ate fish there, the waiters are very kind the prices are affordable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelifromHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskiKonakHotel, Genel Müdür at Eski Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above revieuw about our hotel.I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a verry good stay with us.
I have also informed my collegue with your nice comments.
We are looking forward to see you at our hotel on your next holdays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.
The hotel is located close to lots of attractions: the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, so it offers a perfect starting point for sight-seeing.
It is wise to reserve a "standard room", since the "economy room" might get you into one very small room with a window showing dirty dishes from the nearby restaurant (so, no view from the only window in the room), but we were told this should be solved in the near future. But, this was arranged with no problem, as the next day we got another room, which was close to perfect. Still the economy room, but bigger, with two windows, street-side view, much more comfort, very clean and this really improved our impression of the hotel.
Staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful, especially Ms. Sophia has been very kind giving us all kind of advice during our stay. As for food, hotel only offers breakfast, but the selection of food is very good and fresh and since there are so many restaurants around the hotel, there is no problem for lunches, dinners ... Breakfast is served on the hotel terase, which offers perfect view over the Marmara Sea. If you wish for a coffe or a tea, you can also get that at the hotel at any time, served on the terase.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: As already mentioned, it is wise to reserve a "standard room", since the "economy roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskiKonakHotel, Genel Müdür at Eski Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above revieuw about our hotel.I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a verry good stay with us.
I have also informed my collegue with your nice comments.
We are looking forward to see you at our hotel on your next holdays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Best in all aspects... Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Room condition was good and clean. Bathroom condition was working very well (toilet, water heater & hair dryer). Foods for breakfast was good with great view of the marmara sea... Hotel location was very strategic which in walking distance at the magnificent tourist place of sultanahmet area (blue mosque, hagia sophia & topkapi palace). The location of tramp station was also very near which can easily take us to another place in just few minutes. We would definitely come here again if possible in the future...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Met_KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskiKonakHotel, Genel Müdür at Eski Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above revieuw about our hotel.I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a verry good stay with us.
I have also informed my collegue with your nice comments.
We are looking forward to see you at our hotel on your next holdays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

In a sea of hotels in the Sultanahmet area (I have stayed in others) the staff at Eski Konak are truly outstanding. They are warm, polite, and helpful. I was greeted by name each morning at breakfast (the breakfast is wonderful) and they are extremely helpful with tips on where to go and when in the area. English, Turkish and Dutch are all spoken (maybe other languages too). The view from the roof terrace, where breakfast is served each day, looks over the Maramara Sea and is very calming. The rooms are very clean. The hotel is a little tired in some places but well kept. There is no elevator if that is a problem for some climbing narrow stairs to the terrace. The rooms are different sizes so make sure you review them before selecting. I will be returning to this hotel again. There is a restaurant that adjoins on the street level that gives 10% off for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel, which avoids any street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TroutGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskiKonakHotel, General Manager at Eski Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above revieuw about our hotel.I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a verry good stay with us.
I have also informed my collegue with your nice comments.
We are looking forward to see you at our hotel on your next holdays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A great base for a short stay in Istanbul. Superbly situated just off Suleyman square on a quiet street of restaurants, yet very close to the tram and the wonders of the Blue Mosque, Aghia Sophia and Topkapi palace etc. Efficient, helpful welcome at reception from Sofia. We liked the friendly family atmosphere. Double room rather small but the triple just right - both very clean. What we loved most was enjoying the delicious and generous buffet breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Bosphorus - it was superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Double room at the back seemed very small and noisy next to the restaurant kitchen below- for an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskiKonakHotel, General Manager at Eski Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above revieuw about our hotel.I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a verry good stay with us.
I have also informed my collegue with your nice comments.
We are looking forward to see you at our hotel on your next holdays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very friendly and well located for all the major sites and the main tram route. Room was well presented and quiet. The thing that we loved most was the view from the roof top where we had our enormous breakfast.

Room Tip: standard rooms at back are quite small, triples also at back more roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskiKonakHotel, Manager at Eski Konak Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I would like to thank you for spending the time to write above revieuw about our hotel.I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a verry good stay with us.
I have also informed my collegue with your nice comments.
We are looking forward to see you at our hotel on your next holdays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#577 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#557 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#283 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#466 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#638 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#204 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eski Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eski Konak Hotel

Property: Eski Konak Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:52 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#235 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eski Konak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking the Marmara Sea in the heart of historical Sultanahmet, the Eski Konak Hotel is one of Istanbul's newest hotels. We are just a short walk from Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. Delight in the panoramic views of Asian Istanbul and the Princes Islands from our comfortable, open-air terrace as you enjoy your traditional Turkish breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eski Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eski Konak Boutique Hotel
Eski Konak Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing