We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't get enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mado

Mado
Ranked #5 of 272 Dessert in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Visitted this place 3 times during my 8-day visit to Turkey, twice in Marmaris and once in Istanbul. The dondurma is definitely original. However, the best part was the cheesy burma, I've never tasted something similar! Staff in Istiklal street was way more friendly and welcoming than in Marmaris though. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RazziiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    248
    72
    46
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“JUST GREAT ICE - CREAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The secret, they told me, is that they are made from goat milk.

You must have the Vanilla with pistachio on the top. They joke with you when they give it to you, and everybody have a great time.

They also have sweets and things... really, really one of the best places ever to have an ice cream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Turkish breakfast was various and big and the ice cream (dondurma) was delicious especially pistachio. A bit expensive as it is a famous food chain in Turkey but good quality!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenceLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore in india
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth baklava and the best ice creams ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our apartment was very close to the blue mosque and the mado outlet so every evening hubby and I would walk up to this place and enjoy different varieties of ice cream and baklava . The strawberry cheesecake was excellent and pistachio ice cream was to die for, slightly overpriced but what the heck you dont go to Istanbul often. Staff speaks very little English , had to make do with sign language . Definitely recommend this place on must eat while in Istanbul list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simplysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Since we arrived in Istanbul with my family, a daily ice cream is part of our routine (considering the relatively hot weather especially during day time).

The Ice cream is very delicious, and to be frank we were underestimating this chain thinking it is a "local" brand. However, it tastes much better than some international brands.

What we usually had Cone Ice cream and our bill is usually in the range of 10-12 TL (for 3 people).

I do recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Majed_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mado also viewed

 

Been to Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing